We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff, and Great Food”
Review of The Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pier Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at The Pier Hotel from May 16, 2013 until May 27, 2013 and we enjoyed it so much. The food was so good, the staff always so very friendly and helpful, and the bar staff( especially Mad Bad Al) was always friendly. Also, we ran into Tony on the night shift which we had met him a couple of years back at another hotel and he is so very friendly and helpful. Staying at this hotel made for a very enjoyable visit and we plan to stay again next year when we come over to visit. We come over every year to visit with my husband's Mother.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peachytub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 375 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is in my opinion by far the nicest and friendliest hotel in this area. Rooms are well equiped with really nice views. Staff are both friendly and polite.
Food was simply excellant. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
This was my first stay there but it wont be my last.

Room Tip: Many rooms have been re-furbished. Simply ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

just returned from the pier hotel after a weekend break , lovely hotel cleanliness was absolutely spot on, food was great and the staff are brilliant nothing is too much trouble for them, such a friendly hotel we,ll certainly be going back , thankyou to all staff at the pier hotel for making our stay enjoyable.

janette & joe from south yorkshire

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I am new to the area living on cliff hill so looking for somewhere to make a local.food wasnt great and the staff seemed incompetent and quite rude.wont be coming back.the location is good and ideal.i was served by a very rude lady on the bar.she was a little older than the other staff which I thought would mean she would be more able to meet my needs as an older lady myself

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diane_kemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed in this hotel once and never again, the room was very dirty, not sure if it was cleaned, also bad smell of beer. This is not a hotel its a pub with rooms. Very bad. Do not know how people are rating this place as nice!

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andya695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food was to a high standard as well with the service, the restaurant is clean and well laid out,
no problems for a good evening. The employees are friendly and give you a perfect meal. I had four other people with me which all commented how nice the food was and how well presented. I recommend it for anyone looking for an excellent dinner out or just a relazing getaway as it is a hotel. I did not stay at the Pier hotel but I'm sure it is good same as the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesliemicthell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A lovely hotel situated right on the pier of Gorleston.. The views even on a winters day are beautiful. A lovely place when you work 6 days a week just to go to chill out . The meal we had in the evening was very nice but in my opinion smaller portions would be better. We went to bed and could hardly move.. But all was lovely.. The hotel receptionist took us to there excutive suite which we have stayed in before it was all modernised.. It is lovely.. A place to stay for a week if the English weather was kind to you.. All in all a lovely place and sister to The Pub on the Prom in Great Yarmouth..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAUGHLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,103 reviews
2.0 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
522 reviews
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
428 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel

Address: South Pier, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range: $91 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably one of the most beautifully situated coastal hotels in England. Now a three star establishment; the relaxed surroundings of the Pier Hotel combined with quality home cooked food, great wines and friendly service make up the perfect ingredients for a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Gorleston On Sea
The Pier Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing