We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view from balcony”

Mitchell's Restaurant
Price range: $13 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sample the dishes of our award winning chef , using the best locally sourced top produce , in a fine ambient surroundings with great service. Perfect for business, romantic special occasion dining
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely view from balcony”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Sat out on the balcony overlooking the beach which was nice in the sun. Great spot!!

Food was very good and there plenty of it - good value. Service was good.

Would recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bighonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“50/50”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

After a walk along the beach we decided to climb the stairs up the cliff to the hotel for tea lovely outside area with a great view it was quite busy and the food looked great we decided to have Haddock and chips we looked for somewhere to sit but every where people were smoking quite heavily we asked at the bar if there is any non smoking areas outside and were told ' what would we want non smoking areas for?' by the barman so we sat inside I asked for a pint of ale only to be told 'we don't ave any ales' that said when the meal came it was not to bad nice and hot and tasty.
We won't be going there again as a non smoker I don't like being treated as a weirdo and strange for not smoking while I am eating what a shame it looks such a fantastic place and the food was not bad Ok if you are a lager drinking smoker.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbax58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at Mitchell's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Pbax

thank you for your review and thank you for taking the time to mention the positives of your visit as well,

to address your points :-

I do not understand the comment with the ales- we have three real ales and john smiths on draught - all situated in the middle of our bar- for a hotel bar in gorleston this is with out doubt a very wide range !

We are investigating the possibility of a non smoking area outside as we speak , we obviously are a very busy venue so we have to ensure we get this right the first time! legally there is no obligation for a designated outside area for non smokers but we do endeavour to keep our customers as happy as possible so this is under careful consideration

I hope you try the cliff again , as you said it is a beautiful setting and the food obviously speaks for itself so we do look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lovely atmosphere in this hotel restaurant its busy and it adds to the feeling, it's well located and parking is a doddle
The bar is a good size so although it gets busy you nearly always will find a space

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RonLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Decent position despite wailing brat.
Went to test for forthcoming special occasion, ordered whitebait with tartare sauce,granary bread,mixed leaf salad. Got whitebait tartare sauce and 2 sprigs of watercress (no dressing).
Bread took ten minutes to arrive when the absence was pointed out by which time food was cold.
Apology accompanied its delivery but really not acceptable
Will not be going back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pwd456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fab breakfast”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel so breakfast was included. The main room it was served in was beautiful although very busy. We had to wait a while for a table. A menu is available for you to choose your hot food which had a few choices including a full English, smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, and smoked kippers. Also, there were plenty of cereal, fruit, variety of teas and croissants available.

Would recommend

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chotipagli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Restaurant also viewed

Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 

Been to Mitchell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing