We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good traditional hotel”
Review of Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cliff Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good traditional hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had two nights here and found it to be a very pleasant traditional seaside hotel.Unfortunately our satnav brought us through the town, so our first impression of its location was not inspiring. We were also slightly disappointed that the 'sea view' from our room (103) was only over rooftops, looking across to the harbour, rather than the fabulous beach which we did not discover until the next day. Also, we arrived on a busy Bank Holiday Monday evening when the pleasant terrace restaurant was full with families and young people, and we were surprised to see bouncers in the bar. However, it was good to see a garden play area for the children, and thankfully there was no loud music! The quieter area at the end of the terrace is a good idea, and we had an excellent meal at the hands of our friendly and efficient young waiter. All the staff (reception, dining room, house staff) were very friendly and helpful, and our room and bathroom were stylishly modern, and very clean and comfortable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and this hotel is obviously working hard to please its clients - and succeeding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fannyfanackapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    379
    125
    37
    23
See reviews for
217
491
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was worried that our room would be noisy because this hotel has a lot of functions, but it was fine and we weren't disturbed despite the hotel being very full with a lot going on.
The quality of the evening meal was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 503Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear 503liz

thank you for your kind comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay, I was wondering why you marked the rooms so low? we have refurbished all of our rooms quite recently , and are constantly snagging to ensure we are on providing the best possible offer. If you could drop an email to the hotel or myself at daryn@thecliffhotel.co.uk I would appreciate it , just for the chance to ensure that your next stay is " five star" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Welcoming and well-prepared staff. Room (Double Deluxe) was perfect for my short stay, with Wi-Fi working perfectly. I checked-in during the evening so missed a full view of the surroundings, but in the morning at breakfast I was able to see the wonderful setting of the hotel. The decking area was a great spot for breakfast and afforded a nice view of the bay.
Overall, this is a good business hotel which could only improve if they tidied up the front-face and secured some better parking. If these two things were fixed - this would jump up a notch in ratings terms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Johnathon B

Thank you for your kind comments, I am glad you are pleased with the service of the hotel and I am glad to say that the frontage of the hotel is earmarked for a facelift in Oct (it is a bit quieter then! but not much!!) which we are quite excited about as this will bring the outside of the hotel up to the great standard inside!

we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Last year the new owners of this hotel made a large investment in creating a new Terrace and bar, cantilevered over the cliff side, overlooking the nearby beach and sea. Unfortunately the menus and service did not equal the position at that time. However, this year, obviously it requires time, there are huge improvements to everything. The menus and crockery etc., are more in keeping with a good quality hotel and there are numerous staff to keep things moving, especially with the weather experienced over the past few weeks, for the al fresco diners, which is proving very popular. A new addition this year is for special grills and pizzas, which is a small extension close to the Terrace so the cooking may be seen if desired. Another new facility is a small exclusive area at the end of the Terrace, where the tables have cloths and there is waiter service. There is a small charge for this, but I fail to understand why ! Overall, The Cliff is now a huge improvement for the people of Gorleston on Sea and a very welcome addition to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinDNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Myself and friends met for lunch in the garden terrace last Thursday. Food was ordered but was not served in a timely manner. After chasing, I was told that there had been a technical error with the order and it will now be prepared. We were offered complimentary drinks for the delay. Very good.
When the meals arrived, we were one short and the waiter went off for the fourth meal. This also took longer than it should have and as I got up to complain again, the waiter arrived with the last meal. As I was about to voice my strongest complaint the waiter started by apologising and that the delays we experienced were unacceptable and that as a consequence there would be no charge for any of the meals. Will I be returning to the Cliff - ABSOLUTELY.
This response shows that they are serious about meeting their standards. Too many establishments give shoddy service and do not care about their customers and have a take it or leave it attitude.
Things go wrong in any business but the trick is in keeping the customer happy.
Qudos to the head waiter and we will all be back for sure. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 105davidd105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

To begin with we received a very welcoming and friendly approach from the receptionist. We were immediately given our room key and asked if we needed help with our luggage. Our room number was 102 and this room had a view (over some roof tops) of the sea, sand and harbour entrance. The room was impeccably clean and had a fairly big balcony. It would have been good to have a couple of chairs and a table on the balcony. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but we did have breakfast which was superbly cooked. I had a small English breakfast and my husband had a kipper which he said was excellent. All the staff were courteous and friendly and the general atmosphere was informal and informal is what we like. We would point out that if taxi is required during a visit it would be a good idea to inform reception early in the stay as we had to wait 40 minutes for one. This was unusual and the receptionist was very helpful in phoning where we had booked dinner to explain we would be a little late. Altogether, this was a very good experience and we have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walker90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here Saturday for one night in August , car park was busy as wedding on but found a space.
We were greeted at check in and congratulated on our anniversary which was a nice touch that they noted it.
We were allocated a sea view room 110, the room was very modern spotless and faultless . Plenty of pillows , towels and a lovely comfortable bed, a big plasma tv. We had some drinks on the terrace which had been designed brilliantly so it can be used whatever the weather. We ate in the resaurant and the food was again very good with a good selection. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
I'm not sure if management read reviews but a few minor things..
Croissants would be a nice touch at breakfast and labels on the juices jugs? Maybe 930pm is a bit early for restaurant closing for residents on a Saturday? And also please a sign on the entrance to the restaurant saying please wait to be seated?? It was very uncomfortable waiting for 5 mins or so with other residents watching you, not knowing whether to seat yourself or wait?? Minor things tho a great place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
340 reviews
2.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
406 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
321 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Hotel

Property: Cliff Hotel
Address: Cliff Hill, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing