We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Receive attention that warrents you”
Review of Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cliff Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Receive attention that warrents you”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Excellent attention to everybody involved from front of house to the food. This place is managed by Darryn and what a job he is doing. The food from breakfast to just a bar snack in thge fabulous Main Bar is fantastic.Please make sure you exprience the Terrace and the spectacular view of the North Sea and down the coast into Suffolk.

Room Tip: No tip required just stay and enjoy- the excellent staff will do the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    379
    125
    37
    23
See reviews for
217
489
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went for a steak over the christmas period and it was cooked to perfection, in all honesty it was like cutting butter. Staff are friendly, professional and prompt. Very nice atmosphere, clean and tasteful. All in all a good experience, well worth a recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tonyharvey1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brundall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

On arrival we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel staff were all very nice people and looked after us very well throughout our stay. The food was just excellent and we could not fault this at all. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would not hesitate in returning again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebraAnn1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Cliff Hotel in December after a Christmas party night with some friends. We had a wonderful evening with fantastic service and great food at the Christmas party held in the hotels function room. After dancing the night away we retired to the cosy lounge for a night cap before heading upstairs to our amazing room. We has chosen the bath suite which overlooks the stunning terrace and of course had those all important sea views!
In the morning, after a lovely breakfast, we took a stroll along the cliffs before heading home. This is a highly recommended hotel and we both can't wait to go back! I have already been dropping strong hints about Valentine's!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sallyandhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

On arrival at the Cliff Hotel we noticed that there was renovation in progress, we hadn't been advised of this previously but in the event it didn't really effect us, but it should have been advised. The room we were allocated was very pleasant and had a lovely sea view. The staff were very friendly and helpful when asked for assistance. The afternoon tea, evening meal and breakfasts were really good, but the expected high point, New Years Eve buffet and Disco was a dreadful let down. The room for the event was set out similar to a canteen without the expected pleasantries i.e. party poppers, crackers etc. however what really was unaceptable was the space, or rather the lack of space allocated per person, this meant that it was almost impossible to eat the food, which was quite average anyway, unlike the expected fayre provided at this special time of year. I think that profitability was the criteria rather than the guests comfort, but squashing too many people into such a small space for such an important event put a damper on the whole experience. So management team unless you think long a hard for next years New Year party you could be catering for rather fewer revellers!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Richard

thankyou for your review and i am grateful that you took the time to list the positives as well as the negatives to your stay!
Apologies for the lack of notification on the ongoing refurbishment , you are right you should have been notified , although that said we have time tabled our program to cause as little inconvenience as possible to the guests- we relish happy customers!!
We are striving to create the premium offer in the area and i am glad you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including our food and accomodation offer. With regards to New Years Eve apologies for the lack of poppers etc an unacceptable oversight and next year the tables will be full of these items!! It is a difficult balance to acheive between comfort and atmosphere for any party night - too many and you are overcrowded too few and you can watch the tumble weeds rolling by........ we are reviewing our approach to this type of event and a consideration is taking place to serve the food from a different area of the hotel - we decided not to do take this approach this year so the customers did not have too far to walk for their Gala buffet, but it may be that we try a different approach next year which will create more space in our function room. Thankyou for your custom and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went for a steak over the christmas period and it was cooked to perfection, in all honesty it was like cutting butter. Staff are friendly, professional and prompt. Very nice atmosphere, clean and tasteful. All in all a good experience, well worth a recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just returned from the Cliff Hotel in Gorleston, arrived on 30th December, this was our second visit to this hotel, our 1st visit was in December 2007, On arrival we were shown to a very nice room with a sea view, we were then treated to afternoon tea of scones, cream and jam, in the evening we had a delicious 3 course meal. On New years eve we started the day with a good breakfast, and lunch of soup and sandwiches, up to now we were very happy and talking about booking again for next year, On arrival at the New years eve party we saw long tables with about 20 seats at each, these were so close together it was more like sitting on a plane, with no room to eat properly, there were no crackers or party poppers it looked more like a canteen than a party, with no atmosphere, we then had to queue for the buffet, this was ok but nothing special, the DJ was ok but the singer was not very good, to say the least we were very disappointed, we will not, after all be booking again for a new year package, but overall the hotel itself is very good, just a shame the disappointment of said party.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and also thankyou for the positives you have included in the review!
i am sorry that you did not enjoy the New years eve party and you raise some very valid points , the fact that we missed out on the poppers / streamers etc is inexcusable and rest assured that next year the tables will be laden with these items!
with regards to the singer again we agree , he was recommended to us and we agree that he may not have been the right artist for this event...he was due to perform a second set which we requested he did not........
We are reviewing the set up of the room for next year to create more space and a more comfort (we may even re-locate the buffet to another area) we always strive to provide the best in customer service and apologise that on this occasion we did not meet the expected standard! do visit us next year(or before -summer is a treat on the terrace!) we are confident that any issues that marred your stay will have been addressed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
339 reviews
2.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
405 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
321 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Hotel

Property: Cliff Hotel
Address: Cliff Hill, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing