We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful friendly hotel”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castle Cary
Cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful friendly hotel”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I recently stayed at the George hotel with my family. Can I just say what a great alround place. Lovely food, attentive staff and comfy rooms. Great ale too

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wobblyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    61
    37
    27
    10
See reviews for
42
45
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I attended a family wedding in May 2012 and accomodation in the area was at a premium, six of us stayed at the George and we all agreed, quaint olde worlde charm is one thing, but this establishment is trading in an indutry which is on a downturn, and is doing nothing to help itself. The hotel is not even clean, beds which I'm convinced were straw mattresses, lumpy and uncomfortable, tea and coffee in the room as stated but no kettle or crockery,wallpaper hanging off walls, mould in bathrooms, windows which do not open at all (fire authority take note), the wardrobe was so musty we couldnt hang our wedding clothes in it, extremely overpriced for what it offers, and whats more is the attitude of the staff/owners, which suggests they are doing you a favour by letting you stay there! We were all experienced travellers and all have stayed in various styles and genre of hotels/inns, but this is the first time any of us have ever been moved to write an advisory/warning to any prospective client of this hotel, seek out somewhere else, this is a disgrace to the service industry.On the plus side the visit to the Somerset area was all it promised, a beautiful part of the world and the family wedding was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have taken over the hotel, and the rooms needed refurbishment, which we are in the process of doing. We apologise for the lack of standards that you received during your stay, this is not a usual occurrence. However, during your stay we would of appreciated the chance to put things right, had you come to us at the time. We take every review seriously and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Castle Cary hotels

somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

i find it hard to beleive that people can waste so much time on computers wrighting negative and nasty comments about hotels and be very rude about staff, do they ever stop and think it might be there attitude that causes the problems in the first place, if you wish to stay in an old hotel you cannot expect gleaming shiney rooms as it would spoil the character of the hotel,perhaps they should take a look at there own manners before being so judgemental of others ,and pay the price for a four star hotel which seems to be what they expect.

Room Tip: dont beleive all you read
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank katherine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have been regular visitors to the George, for Sunday lunch; we actually live in Bristol and we always thought the 28 mile drive was worth it for the lovely food on offer. We were very disappointed this Sunday (24 June 2012). We took a visitor for dinner and we noticed the Sunday roast had been increased to £9.95 (£1 more than previous - about a month ago). We all ordered beef. The lunch came - there were 2 slices of meat and a good portion of fat on my lunch and that of my partner. The vegetables came in a metal "bucket" as always! The sprouting stalks were so hard we couldn't eat it. The yorkshire was heavy and all in all it was very disappointing. Needless to say, we will not be returning. Once prices go up and standards go down we never give another chance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catrose2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
We are sorry that you did not enjoy lunch experience with us. We are always working with our chefs to improve our standards, however it seems on this occasion we didn't get it quite right. We appreciate your comments and take all comments seriously. We would like to offer you a 50% discount on your next meal, if you wish to give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed i this 'hotel' as one of a number of guests who were attending a wedding in the area. All I can say is that if you can stay somewhere else then do so even if it means that you are not in the area. The rooms were grubby and obviously not cleaned properly. We stayed in a room at the back of the hotel and it was dark, musty and the wardrobe was full of clutter. The bathroom had not been cleaned properly and Kim and Agie would have been horrified at the state of the toilet.

The other guests who stayed with us faired no better in the main building. Again the complaint was about the cleanliness or lack of it. Dirty, unkempt rooms which are in need of updating. If you want to revisit the 70's then you will be in for a treat if you stay here.

Previous reviews have suggested that this is the only hotel in the area so they have a captive audience. The clearly do not care about the reviews on this website which is supported by their lack of interaction or replies to their customers.

If you are not fussy and do not mind sharing your room or bathroom with the previous 20 occupants dirt then stay here by all means.

Would I stay again? Never!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelly_lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the George hotel and we will not be staying a third time.
The hotel is trying to run with hardly any staff and, quite frankly, it shows.
The room were given was the same as our previous visit but when we stayed before (over 3 years ago) we had a problem in the room where there was a water leak through the ceiling. We reported the leak to the management at the time but we were amazed when we got to the room this time to find that, although the pipework had been repaired, the ceiling plaster had still not been replaced and the pipework was still visible though a 2ft by 8 inch section of missing plaster. It seems amazing that a repair could be left for such a long period without being completed properly.
The room smelt musty and damp and we had to leave the window open to try to get rid of the smell. When we went into the bathroom we found the bath panel hanging off. All in all it was an extremely disappointing experience.
We had booked a table on the first night so we wend into the bar and were told to go through to the restaurant. We then spent the next twenty minutes waiting to be served and ended up going back to the bar to place an order as there was nobody around to take out order.
The food wasn't too bad, a little light on sauce but certainly better than the shoddy service although I did think it a little overpriced for what we got.
We will most certainly not be returning!.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duffer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Parking on the street down the road from the pub, we wondered down to find the pub was incredibly busy on arrival and the poor staff working tirelessly. After a bad start with every staff member zooming past us as they were so busy we caught a waiters attention who directed us to our table. The restaurant was fairly quiet but there was a large jubilee function happening across the road and the pub appeared to be serving food and drinks to that party. The menu had been reduced due to the sheer volume of people being served but still offered a good range of quality dishes. The food itself was excellent and good value for money, it was well presented and certainly used quality local ingredients. The waiter serving the restaurant was bombarded with complaints from two couples in the restaurant moaning about speed of service, we appreciated how busy it was and the food was worth the wait. Overall out of the jubilee weekend i am sure this would be a great place to dine in with family and friends.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the Pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Cary
3.9 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
10.2 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
13.1 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Pilgrims at Lovington
The Pilgrims at Lovington
#1 of 8 in Castle Cary
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: Market Place, Castle Cary BA7 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Castle Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castle Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — George Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a friendly, family run, thatched 15th century Country Town Hotel, situated in the centre of the historic town of Castle Cary, nestling in the beautiful undulating hills of South Somerset. The George Hotel offers all-round hospitality any time of the day and is an ideal base for the many local attractions.The Knight's Restaurant has recently undergone a complete menu overhaul offering modern British food as well as hosting one off events such as a 7 course taster menu. We still offer a traditional full english breakfast within the price of the accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Somerset
George Hotel Castle Cary, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing