We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castle Cary
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed i this 'hotel' as one of a number of guests who were attending a wedding in the area. All I can say is that if you can stay somewhere else then do so even if it means that you are not in the area. The rooms were grubby and obviously not cleaned properly. We stayed in a room at the back of the hotel and it was dark, musty and the wardrobe was full of clutter. The bathroom had not been cleaned properly and Kim and Agie would have been horrified at the state of the toilet.

The other guests who stayed with us faired no better in the main building. Again the complaint was about the cleanliness or lack of it. Dirty, unkempt rooms which are in need of updating. If you want to revisit the 70's then you will be in for a treat if you stay here.

Previous reviews have suggested that this is the only hotel in the area so they have a captive audience. The clearly do not care about the reviews on this website which is supported by their lack of interaction or replies to their customers.

If you are not fussy and do not mind sharing your room or bathroom with the previous 20 occupants dirt then stay here by all means.

Would I stay again? Never!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelly_lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    60
    34
    26
    10
See reviews for
40
43
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the George hotel and we will not be staying a third time.
The hotel is trying to run with hardly any staff and, quite frankly, it shows.
The room were given was the same as our previous visit but when we stayed before (over 3 years ago) we had a problem in the room where there was a water leak through the ceiling. We reported the leak to the management at the time but we were amazed when we got to the room this time to find that, although the pipework had been repaired, the ceiling plaster had still not been replaced and the pipework was still visible though a 2ft by 8 inch section of missing plaster. It seems amazing that a repair could be left for such a long period without being completed properly.
The room smelt musty and damp and we had to leave the window open to try to get rid of the smell. When we went into the bathroom we found the bath panel hanging off. All in all it was an extremely disappointing experience.
We had booked a table on the first night so we wend into the bar and were told to go through to the restaurant. We then spent the next twenty minutes waiting to be served and ended up going back to the bar to place an order as there was nobody around to take out order.
The food wasn't too bad, a little light on sauce but certainly better than the shoddy service although I did think it a little overpriced for what we got.
We will most certainly not be returning!.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duffer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Castle Cary hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Parking on the street down the road from the pub, we wondered down to find the pub was incredibly busy on arrival and the poor staff working tirelessly. After a bad start with every staff member zooming past us as they were so busy we caught a waiters attention who directed us to our table. The restaurant was fairly quiet but there was a large jubilee function happening across the road and the pub appeared to be serving food and drinks to that party. The menu had been reduced due to the sheer volume of people being served but still offered a good range of quality dishes. The food itself was excellent and good value for money, it was well presented and certainly used quality local ingredients. The waiter serving the restaurant was bombarded with complaints from two couples in the restaurant moaning about speed of service, we appreciated how busy it was and the food was worth the wait. Overall out of the jubilee weekend i am sure this would be a great place to dine in with family and friends.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the Pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

My fourth stay here, this time I booked for my group of 20. We had great food, well above expectations and we love the cosy bar with friendly locals. Dan has made real progress with improvements since taking over a few years back and service is good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed at the hotel during a festival. Staff were very accommodating considering we had arrived a little early. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and a cracking breakfast. My 2 14 teenage sons who were with me were happy so that will do for me. Enjoyed it so much we have booked again this year

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siggy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed at the George for a night at the beginning of March following a good price offered by Booking.com. First of all the car park is very small we initially parked in the town car park then later in the day after the parking restrictions lifted parked on the street. It was a little unclear when we walked in where the reception was or what we ought to do until some locals in the lounge said he will be down in a minute. I booked a twin room but they had it down as a double and automatically changed it to a twin for us. I point this out as it may explain the cobwebes on the lamp, light fittings and window. There seemed to be a tremendous amount of furniture in rooms, hallways and common areas and I personally feel by reducing it a little they would have induced a more spacious feel into the place. There was also a mix match of styles in the rooms from modern chrome, iron and brass lighting to shabby chic and more modern. I like fusion but feel again less would be more. The bare floorboards were lovely and some aspects I really liked. A little extra effort on dusting the tops of headboards, lights and skirting boards - finding someone elses sock under the bed not ideal. In fairness we did not advise management of this and give them the chance to rectify it. When I mentioned we had not got a kettle one was immediately produced. There was a quirkiness which I liked and the staff made up for any shortcomings. We started by having a drink in the bar and once we looked at the menu decided to stay where we were. Dinner was lovely and well presented and breakfast the following morning matched. I would have preferred a slightly later check out than 10am on a Sunday but appreciate this was to allow them to prepare for Sunday Lunch. All being said for the price paid I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The building has a certain period charm but the rooms are basic. The property is rated two star by the AA, and there are certainly no grounds for a higher rating. The service is friendly and helpful, but not polished. The food in the restaurant is adequate; the wine list is a tad pricey.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Cary
6.8 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
10.2 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Pilgrims at Lovington
The Pilgrims at Lovington
#1 of 8 in Castle Cary
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.6 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#1 of 3 in Ditcheat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: Market Place, Castle Cary BA7 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Castle Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castle Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — George Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a friendly, family run, thatched 15th century Country Town Hotel, situated in the centre of the historic town of Castle Cary, nestling in the beautiful undulating hills of South Somerset. The George Hotel offers all-round hospitality any time of the day and is an ideal base for the many local attractions.The Knight's Restaurant has recently undergone a complete menu overhaul offering modern British food as well as hosting one off events such as a 7 course taster menu. We still offer a traditional full english breakfast within the price of the accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Somerset
George Hotel Castle Cary, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing