We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming country pub with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay Tree

The Bay Tree
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Castle Cary
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Warm and welcoming country pub with great food”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Bay Tree is a lovely warm and welcoming country pub, selling really reasonably priced meals and bar snacks (garlic bread with stilton is fab!). Sunday lunch is great, but gets booked up early it's so popular. The beer garden out back is beautiful, covered in flowers and in winter there are 2 roaring fires to keep you warm. The staff always offer a friendly welcome. It's dog friendly, so it's great to go for a long walk and finish with a pint. All round fantastic pub.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank opticaltrigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
somerset uk
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We regularly call in to the Bay Tree and have never had a bad meal, we have also phoned to book a table and they have been fully booked on many an occasion, the atmosphere is warm and welcoming and has a local charm about it.The food is excellent and freshly cooked and is certainly value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank secretagent00trow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Why would anyone want to eat in a place that has a parrot in the restaurant!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This pub which serves food has recently reopened and having heard positive comments about the food, we decided to meet friends there to try it out. Not only does the restaurant have a parrot in there, this parrot is outside the cage! It also boasts a cat on a seat in the bar and a dog that runs around the place. We didn't eat there, however the menu looks fine and the food served to people in the bar looked good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieG681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Friendly local”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We'd noticed this pub seemed to look newly opened last year so finally got round to popping in. It's deceptive as it looks so small from the front. In the small and cosy front bar, we were unaware how big it was round the corner until I popped to the loo. We only had time for a snack and the landlord's daughter behind the bar made sure we were looked after. Perfectly tasty - nothing special but very good value. As it was late lunchtime and quiet but everything food and drink wise was on offer and the bar lady was very welcoming.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldrectorycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Called in today for lunch, landlady was very friendly. My prawn mayo sandwich was deeply filled and utterly delicious and the chips piping hot and equally yummy. The specials board looked very imticing so hope to go back for a full meal very soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Tree also viewed

Castle Cary, Somerset
Castle Cary, Somerset
 
Castle Cary, Somerset
 
Castle Cary, Somerset
Wincanton, Somerset
 

Been to The Bay Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing