We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filled with nostalgia”

Mother's Little Vintage Tea Room
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Reservations, Seating
Description: (PLEASE NOTE THE TEA ROOM IS CLOSING DOWN - LAST DAY SATURDAY 8 AUGUST 2015. Thank you to all our customers!) Finalist, Somerset Life Food & Drinks Award 2014. A small, specialist traditional 1930s tea shop offering old favourites as well as modern food and drink choices. We serve and sell fine everyday tea, as well as rare and limited edition teas, arabica bean fresh espresso and french press coffee. Also premium hot chocolate made with real, melted Belgium chocolate. Also find cloudy lemonade, Australian ginger beer and other delights according to the season. Brunch, light lunches (vegetarian options) and Cream Teas served all day (gluten and dairy free scones available). Please call to pre-book special Afternoon'Ritz-style' Teas. Open 10.30Am - 5pm, Wednesday to Saturday (last orders 4.30Pm). Table booking recommended to avoid disappointment.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Filled with nostalgia”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Another visit to this lovely tea room. We were lucky enough to meet the nice lady owner who collects old table cloths etc and after any required repair puts then in her tea shop. this keeps up the authenticity of her place. I know my parents had some old OXO tins somewhere, I must look them out. Anyway, another step back in time with lovely food and polite attendance, and a very nice talk with the lady owner. See you again soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank d_shute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset U.K.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A STEP BACK IN TIME”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

What a lovely Tearoom to evoke memories from the past. Second visit for us, and just as memorable. Welcoming staff, excellent range of teas, coffee's hot chocolates and cakes. Most of all so much on view to remind one of tearooms now all but gone. Newspapers from the 30's carefully protected. China that one remembers when visiting Aunts an Uncle's, (And being told not to sit still and upright.) Even bakelite light switches. A step back in time, thank you for so many memories.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bevilj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A splendid 1940s time machine.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely little place. Impeccable service, tasty simple food, lovely choices to the menu. I was only passing through but if I do again I would make a b-line. This is how things used to be and how things should be done but rarely are. Lovely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Businessbenbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Very Decadent Second Breakfast...”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stopped here with a friend en route to the Welsh borders for a long weekend: it was mid-morning, and breakfast had been sketchy (me) or non-existent (her), so we felt justified in being self-indulgent, and ordered mocha together with (I think: I've done a lot of travelling since then) some kind of cake. Delicious! and beautifully served in vintage china cups ( see photo). The old-fashioned atmosphere is charming, and prompted discussion of our grandparents' houses and of 1930s novels. I'm looking forward to returning, and to introducing other friends to this delightful tea-room...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steventon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exquisite little dip into past times”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stumbled across this tea room on a day trip to Castle Cary. The cream tea was delicious with generous portions, the cakes were lovely and the actual venue is sublime. We were served by an lovely 'in character' waitress to the accompaniment of 1930's music and our tea came in beautiful matching china.
This place is a perfect tiny little hidden gem and I can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Little Vintage Tea Room also viewed

Castle Cary, Somerset
Castle Cary, Somerset
 
Castle Cary, Somerset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing