We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful surprise!”

Mother's Little Vintage Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: (PLEASE NOTE THE TEA ROOM IS CLOSING DOWN - LAST DAY SATURDAY 8 AUGUST 2015. Thank you to all our customers!) Finalist, Somerset Life Food & Drinks Award 2014. A small, specialist traditional 1930s tea shop offering old favourites as well as modern food and drink choices. We serve and sell fine everyday tea, as well as rare and limited edition teas, arabica bean fresh espresso and french press coffee. Also premium hot chocolate made with real, melted Belgium chocolate. Also find cloudy lemonade, Australian ginger beer and other delights according to the season. Brunch, light lunches (vegetarian options) and Cream Teas served all day (gluten and dairy free scones available). Please call to pre-book special Afternoon'Ritz-style' Teas. Open 10.30Am - 5pm, Wednesday to Saturday (last orders 4.30Pm). Table booking recommended to avoid disappointment.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delightful surprise!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I visited this delightful place on a trip out with 2 friends. I had not visited the town before and this gem of a tearoom was just delightful. I had the soup which was homemade and excellent and the selection of teas available was superb. The authenticity of the décor and all the accompanying furnishings truly does make you feel that you are taken back to the 1930's. The service was excellent and we we're not hurried out as often can happen in these places. Authentic newspapers and magazines are available to browse through. The attention to detail from the china to the tablecloths is delightful. I will certainly return and take friends to experience this unusual but delightful place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“what a find”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Terrific place. It is like stepping back in time. The food is lovely, cakes delicious all served to perfection. A place not to be missed. I take visitors there everytime and they are not disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborahjones2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

A super little tea room with about 20 different tea rooms to choose from. Everything is 1930's/1940's even the wallpaper. Lots of real magazines and papers from the era, real embroidered table cloths, old fashioned cups and saucers with a huge pot of tea. Scones were OK but the ham sarnie was to die for with decent amount of ham. Theres all sorts of crockery and stuff to buy if you want, but do go and have a pot of tea and piece of victoria sponge or a tea cake. Really, really nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
1 review
“Quaint”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Booked a table and a month ago and was asked if it were for a special occasion - yes its my birthday sez I. So we turn up today two friends and I to find we have a table in the window and a birthday balloon tied to my chair. Lovely little touch, the food was glorious, my ovaltine came in a pretty China tea cup and saucer that was inscribed happy birthday. And then one of the waitresses came out with a chocolate Brownie with a candle in and everyone in the tea room sang to me. All of it totally unexpected but very much appreciated, will most definitely be going again and would heartily recommend it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hambles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally Perfect”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Quite simply the very best tea room around. The service and attention to detail was superb. Organic cakes, loose leaf tea and beautiful china served by charming waitresses - what 's not to like? Many thanks for a fabulous hour and half

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TriffSkep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Little Vintage Tea Room also viewed

Castle Cary, Somerset
Castle Cary, Somerset
 
Castle Cary, Somerset
 
Castle Cary, Somerset
Castle Cary, Somerset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing