We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveler rating
285
218
49
23
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
218
49
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminami senju stationtrain stationplace to staytatami roomfree breakfastrooms are smalltokyo skytreeraoulshoweryenhosteljapantoiletscerealbudgetjrshoes
Filter
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 597 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Stayed here a total of 8 days. Room was small and clean with TV and AC. Bathrooms, shower, laundry all were well maintained. Staff and fellow travelers were all nice folks. Map is good but Google Street view was very helpful in finding the place. Neighborhood not the best but felt safe. Just a few minutes walk to train station.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoganMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Stayed there for a week; first time really traveling without family so all the decisions/planning was up to myself. Must say, I'm quite happy with my decision.

Great helpful/friendly staff that speaks English. Room was a bit small but was expected in Tokyo; important thing was it was very clean.

The showers were also very clean with them providing things like shampoo/body wash and also shaving foam/hair products which I found quite helpful - otherwise, find a 100 Yen shop.

There's not a lot to do nearby but there are 2 supermarkets fairly close by for supplies.

Wanted to book a few more days on the return trip but was booked out. Staff had no hesitations pointing out a few others of similar price/location.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mightyhawks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room (double mat, traditional Japanese style) was the size of a shoebox. We had to fold our beds away just to be able to open our suitcases. The bathroom facilities are shared and there is a coin operated shower.
I understand Japan is an expensive place but surely you must be able to get better value for money ($100 AUD per night).
The location was quite far out but near to a train station. There are a few homeless people wandering around but never had any problems with safety.
Staff are great here however, there is free internet, tea/coffee and the communal area downstairs is very welcoming and warm.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RTWin90days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

great location clean helpful calm amazing. woudl higly recommend. great value for money but woudl have paid double. enjoy!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frejacayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

I came here after having moved rooms in another inn where the new room was mouldy, dank,old and scruffy and I decided I just couldnt stay there. What a pleasant surprise! For less money than we were paying in Asakusa, we got our own room, big window with a blind, airconditioner, small flat screen tv, mini foldaway table and two futons.

Toilets and showers are all separate with plenty of space. Spotlessly clean. Even if you are scared of hostels because of shared bathrooms, you will enjoy this place. Id say it cant be beaten for the price. Recommend checking their website -its accurate. *sorry -cant do punctuation on this keyboard!

They also charge less per night, the longer you stay.

Pay for cooker, laundry, shower.

Free internet, sweets/candy, Japan Times

The area is the only downside. Its a low class area, which seems to have a disproportionately large number of men, many of whom start drinking in the morning and are paralytic by the afternoon, by which time they take a nap on the pavement. Perhaps not the best if youre a lone female and want to come home at night, but its fine if you do everything during the day or have company.

Many people who stay here are French.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank leilei2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews