We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super helpful staff!”
Review of Aizuya Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aizuya Inn
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty lodging in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Super helpful staff!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Had a great time at Aizuya! They were fully booked but somehow managed to make some space for me in a neighbouring building! The staff were extremely helpful and great at emailing me back several times before the trip, in both English & German. A basic breakfast was included in my rate, heaps of guidebooks and computers to use free of charge all added to the lovely stay I had!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carolinscho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    207
    49
    21
    21
See reviews for
37
135
189
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Clean, quiet, centrally-located, all the amenities of home, at a price you can't beat! Raoul and his staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. For hostel accommodations in Tokyo, you can't beat Aizuya Inn. Highly recommended...and I've stayed in a lot of hostels and 'affordable' hotels in Tokyo over the past 40 years!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Minimalist, (in a good way), aesthetically pleasing, well thought-out, friendly quiet hotel that is a nice blend of hostel and Japanese Inn at a very reasonable price (for Japan)

+ super friendly, helpful manager Raoul checked me in quickly without incident
+ good quality facilities (internet, air con, showers, toilet, etc)
+ tasteful Japanese traditional and pop style decorations throughout
+ quiet and clean
+ although 100 yen per 5 minutes, the shower was a joy to warm up to each morning during my march 2014 stay and well worth it


- the shared sink and toilet areas could have been a little more spacious

other

perhaps add your location to Google maps and upgrade the map with a few more recent landmarks. I couldn't find it immediately on a rainy cold Tokyo late afternoon

the main minami senju station exit has a ton of reasonably priced restaurants and convenience stores, including mcdonalds, burger king, a chinese restaurant, an izakaya on top of the convenience store, and many others in a high rise building adjacent to the chinese restaurant

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Business-hippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

During our two night stay, we stayed at Aizuya and it worked out great for us. When we arrived, I tried to pay via credit card but the guy typed in too many numbers and ended up charging around $1400 instead of $140. However, by the next morning they had it fixed and under control.

Remember to bring a towel and, if you have the budget, get a room with the bunk beds. The rooms with just mats are less than comfortable. The coin showers didn't both us at all. We made it work and it got the job done, but I was definitely doing some serious stretching trying to work out the kinks every morning.

It's a short walk from the train, which was awesome, and there were many restaurants in the area. If you're lucky enough, you'll also get the pleasure of hearing some drunk old men singing karaoke at the bar on the corner of the street that the inn is on! (Hilarious) It's a little bit of a ride to everything, but that was no issue for us.

Room Tip: Get a room with bunks, bring a towel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kassie_Layne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Hotels.com would like you to think that this is a hotel but it is a hostel. You do get a private room with a small mat and blankets. The heater in the room did not work and it snowed the night we were there. It was very cold. You pay extra for towels and anything else you can think of. If you arrive after 10 pm you are charged 500¥ for each 1/2 hour you are late. So we had to pay 2500¥ extra because getting to this place from Narita or Haneda is at least two hours by train, subway, and taxi. If ANY other real hotel is available, for God's sake stay at a real hotel.

Room Tip: Book a real hotel room, not this hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Aizuya inn is a great spot if your used to the suburb life.
20 min train ride to the cbd and close to many other attractions around the tokyo area.
Staff are very helpful and do as much as possible to help you out.
Room is great for a hostel and i highly recommend this place if you want a chilled out stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bonezy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very nice accommodation in a quiet street. It´s clean and pretty. Small room but enought Space for sleep and your bag. Free wifi. Laundry. And you can find a lot of information about what to do around .Good staff !

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Oak Hostel Zen
Oak Hostel Zen
#3 of 62 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Juyoh Hotel
Juyoh Hotel
#14 of 62 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 62 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
#2 of 62 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aizuya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aizuya Inn

Property: Aizuya Inn
Address: 2-17-2 Kiyokawa, Taito 111-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty lodging in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aizuya Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aizuya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aizuya Hotel Taito
Aizuya Inn Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing