We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
Ranked #22 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a nice mix of a ryokan with a hostel price. The staff were helpful and allowed everyone to drop bags before check-in time. It was located in a quiet part of town less than a 10 minute walk from the train station. The staff also speak English.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alannatess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 224 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

I like this hostel a lot. It was cheap and it was close to Asakusa and Tawaramachi metro stations. Sensoji Temple is within walking distance. You can also walk to Sumida River which offers a very good view of the Tokyo Sky Tree. There's a lot of shops and places to eat around the area as well. You can do your laundry, free wifi is available, a microwave and a fridge is also available. The room is a bit small for 2 people but it is clean. Staff are friendly and very helpful. This hostel is highly recommended for budget travelers like me. I would stay at this place again when I go back to Japan

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friday17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hostel is definitely in a good location, only 5 minutes walk from the Tawaramachi subway stop and 10 minutes walk from the Asakusa temples. 2 blocks away from the hostel there's a big shopping center with a 100yen shop and a 24 hours supermarket. All very handy!

The hostel is cheap and I think that's what you need to keep in mind. My boyfriend and I stayed 5 nights in a twin room, which wasn't much bigger than a shoe box and felt like a bunker. Once the mattresses are rolled out, there's no space in the room: but again, this is Tokyo, and it's what you should expect. The toilet is very small and dated. Both the toilet and the shower room weren't particularly clean. In the 5 days stay the room was cleaned only once. But the staff is friendly and helpful, there's free wifi, plus the free use of a computer. A fridge, microwave are available free of charge, and on the rooftop there's also a coin-operated washing machine for ¥200, a dryer for ¥100 (for 30 minutes), and washing powder for ¥50/pack.

Overall it has been a good experience, and if you're on a tight budget, I'd definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: The walls are very thin, so if you have a light sleep, bring some hearplugs! Rooms on the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudietta_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have been staying at Toukaiso since 2006, so obviously I am very happy there. The staff are friendly and helpful, and it is also very cheap for Tokyo! You can email them or call them on the phone in English.

The rooms are small but cosy and comfortable, and all have en-suite with air conditioning and free wifi for internet access. Asakusa is a good location to stay in. There is a temple complex near by and it only takes about 20 minutes to get to the Sky Tree. The Tsukuba Express line is 3 minutes walk from the hotel and from there it is only two stops to Akihabara (Electric Town) where you can buy anything electronic, anime/manga, doll, computer and hobby related item. In the other direction you can visit the massive LaLa Port shopping centre or Tsukuba itself.

Toukaisou is also only 6 or 7 minutes walk to the Ginza Metro (subway) line, which is a couple of stops to Ueno and Ginza itself. You can also go all the way to Shibuya on it easily. From Ueno you also have easy access to Kawasaki and Yokohama. Basically you can get pretty much anywhere easy from Asakusa. If you are coming from Narita airport with a lot of baggage you can get a taxi from Ueno to Toukaisou for about 1,500 yen if you don't want to take the train.

Asakusa itself has a lot of restaurants and shops, including a 24 hour supermarket that is only a few minutes walk from Toukaisou. There is also a bath (onsen) nearby, very handy when your legs are tired from sight-seeing.

I really couldn't be happier with Toukaisou, which is why I go back there every year for two or three weeks at a time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mojo-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Pretty decent hostel . . . **note that there are TWO DIFFERENT SECTIONS of this hostel: one side has a shared common room with a few shared 4-6 person rooms and a couple twin rooms, and the other section (not as nice) has double bed rooms. The latter was not as clean or nice…

Overall, the beds were comfortable and clean, but we had no place to sit in the room, as the bunks were pushed back around the corner (so you really couldn’t sit on them to write or go on your computer), and there were no chairs or anything else in the room to sit on.

Main area was nice to mingle, there was a TV, but was painful to always have to sit on the hard floor (there were no chairs.) We paid to “rent” towels, and they were SOOOO SMALL and smelled moldy, ick! Kitchen was VERY small, but there were a few dishes, utensils, and a microwave.

Bathrooms and showers were VERY clean, had towels, and nice clean furry bathmats as well. Location was OK . . . close to the temple in Asakusa, and close to the Ginza line, but a 20 minute walk from the Ueno line (and not too close to any main club/bar area.) Staff was nice and helpful and spoke decent English.

It all evened out for negatives and positives, but would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked this hotel by the main reason it comfort and cheap. We booked by agoda in advance 1-2 months but before our flight not 24 hours. The hotel cancelled our booking we very upset.Hotel offer change to the other room day by day. We booked for 3 nights with double room and non smoking. At first night need us stay in twin room second night offer us stay in mixed-dormitory and the last let us move to twin again it not professional by the way we cancelled whole period and try to find new hotel. So if you book this hotel just consider might be hotel will cancel your booking immediatly before your flight not 24 hours.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Supanida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
浅草旅館東海荘, マネージャー at Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We are truly sorry for our mistake and for the inconvenience it caused you.
As you have written, we offered you another option to replace 1 Double room from the 2 Double rooms that you originally booked but we also understood and we are aware that the rooms we offered were not your original request and transferring from one room to another is troublesome on your part. But we would like to clarify that we did not cancel your reservation, it was your party that cancelled it.
Nevertheless, we apologize for the incovenience caused, and we hope to have another opportunity to have you here at the hostel in the future.

Please accept our apology again and we will do our best not to commit the same mistake again in the future.

Warm regards,

Asakusa Ryokan Toukaisou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights. I was looking for a not expensive place but comfortable enough, and I found the right place. Nice, clean, simple. There are many rooms (maybe it's more a hostel than a ryokan) but it wasn't noisy. The bed was comfortable. Maybe the bathroom was a little small: shower room perfect, basin and wc room too small.

The location is great: I enjoyed walking at night time around the Senso-ji. The temple is beautiful at night time. There are also many small restaurants with good food, bars and jazz clubs.

You can access your room only after 3pm, keep this in mind, but they can store your luggage until then. They give me slightly incorrect info on the timetable for the Narita express, check them yourself!!

So: nice place, great location, value for your money. I enjoyed staying there but I cannot compare it with other places.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Stayto
Stayto
#27 of 123 in Taito
607 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Yanagibashi
Hotel Yanagibashi
#42 of 123 in Taito
214 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel 3000 Asakusa Honten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#9 of 123 in Taito
345 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Kamogawa
Ryokan Kamogawa
#25 of 123 in Taito
177 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Shigetsu
Asakusa Shigetsu
#46 of 123 in Taito
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso

Address: 2-16-12 Nishiasakusa, Taito 111-0035, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range: $37 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hostel offers affordable and accessible accommodation in Asakusa Tokyo. In the heart of Tokyo you will enjoy an inexpensive, cozy, and convenient stay at the Toukaisou Ryokan. We are located in Asakusa, the heart of the old downtown (Shitamachi) Tokyo, an area reminiscent of traditional Japan, which is quite rare in modern-day Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Rakuten, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso Hotel Taito
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing