We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent hostel, but hurt after 5 days of sitting on the floor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
Ranked #22 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty decent hostel, but hurt after 5 days of sitting on the floor!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Pretty decent hostel . . . **note that there are TWO DIFFERENT SECTIONS of this hostel: one side has a shared common room with a few shared 4-6 person rooms and a couple twin rooms, and the other section (not as nice) has double bed rooms. The latter was not as clean or nice…

Overall, the beds were comfortable and clean, but we had no place to sit in the room, as the bunks were pushed back around the corner (so you really couldn’t sit on them to write or go on your computer), and there were no chairs or anything else in the room to sit on.

Main area was nice to mingle, there was a TV, but was painful to always have to sit on the hard floor (there were no chairs.) We paid to “rent” towels, and they were SOOOO SMALL and smelled moldy, ick! Kitchen was VERY small, but there were a few dishes, utensils, and a microwave.

Bathrooms and showers were VERY clean, had towels, and nice clean furry bathmats as well. Location was OK . . . close to the temple in Asakusa, and close to the Ginza line, but a 20 minute walk from the Ueno line (and not too close to any main club/bar area.) Staff was nice and helpful and spoke decent English.

It all evened out for negatives and positives, but would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    95
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
14
87
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked this hotel by the main reason it comfort and cheap. We booked by agoda in advance 1-2 months but before our flight not 24 hours. The hotel cancelled our booking we very upset.Hotel offer change to the other room day by day. We booked for 3 nights with double room and non smoking. At first night need us stay in twin room second night offer us stay in mixed-dormitory and the last let us move to twin again it not professional by the way we cancelled whole period and try to find new hotel. So if you book this hotel just consider might be hotel will cancel your booking immediatly before your flight not 24 hours.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Supanida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
浅草旅館東海荘, マネージャー at Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are truly sorry for our mistake and for the inconvenience it caused you.
As you have written, we offered you another option to replace 1 Double room from the 2 Double rooms that you originally booked but we also understood and we are aware that the rooms we offered were not your original request and transferring from one room to another is troublesome on your part. But we would like to clarify that we did not cancel your reservation, it was your party that cancelled it.
Nevertheless, we apologize for the incovenience caused, and we hope to have another opportunity to have you here at the hostel in the future.

Please accept our apology again and we will do our best not to commit the same mistake again in the future.

Warm regards,

Asakusa Ryokan Toukaisou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights. I was looking for a not expensive place but comfortable enough, and I found the right place. Nice, clean, simple. There are many rooms (maybe it's more a hostel than a ryokan) but it wasn't noisy. The bed was comfortable. Maybe the bathroom was a little small: shower room perfect, basin and wc room too small.

The location is great: I enjoyed walking at night time around the Senso-ji. The temple is beautiful at night time. There are also many small restaurants with good food, bars and jazz clubs.

You can access your room only after 3pm, keep this in mind, but they can store your luggage until then. They give me slightly incorrect info on the timetable for the Narita express, check them yourself!!

So: nice place, great location, value for your money. I enjoyed staying there but I cannot compare it with other places.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

5 nights in Tokyo, before our flight from Thailand, we thought it must be a lot of money for accom.
Finally, we found Toukaiso; Good location, great price, nice staff and warm room. Transport from Tokyo station was very easy. We had all things around the hotel; food, temple, subway and sushi for sure. Next time in Tokyo, we don't hesitate to book here!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luckanavong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This ryokan is very good. The staff is very attentive.
The location is the best part: near tsukuba Express (2 stations akihabara!) And metro. Near the complex Roxy (has market, games, Daiso, Uniqlo and cloth stores for a good price), near several restaurants and convenience stores, near Asakusa, you can go on foot!
The neighborhood is very nice, you feel a "resident" of Tokyo. ;)
The rooms have enough space (I was with my sister), just not very well ventilated.
The bathroom is enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmalagoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed as a couple in Ryokan Toukaiso for our first 4 nights in Tokyo.
The main reason we picked this place was that it was so cheap we decided we could spend the savings on nice restaurants.
For our purpose, this place worked well for us.
I probably would not return though!

Positives:
Cheap. About 84 AUD per room per night- for the japanese style room that sleeps two people. I couldn't find anywhere else in Tokyo for this price!
Futon was fairly comfortable.
Western style toilet.
Local area map with suggestions of things to see and do.
Clean room.
Wi-Fi works well inside the rooms.
A few minutes walk to the best prawn tempura I've ever eaten! "Daikokuya". The Trip advisor "Asakusa walking tour" gave us this tip and it was a good one!!

Negatives:
Staff were not as friendly as I had expected given the reviews.. they were fine, but they were hardly around.. not really there to give tips on good restaurants in the area, or transport advice etc. Made me realise helpful staff are invaluable.
Our room had one window, but as it was close to the neighbouring building we never got sunlight. I think some of the other rooms had better light, it's probably worth asking.
Location- Asakusa does not lie on a JR line. If you have a JR pass, (like us), it's worth staying in a suburb that has a JR line station, so you can use your pass to get around the city. In Asakusa you need to use the subway to get to Ueno or Ginza to change to the JR line (minimum 160 yen per ticket). Not really a negative for the hotel, but if you're picking between two different locations this might help.
Bathroom- To clean my teeth, I had to sit on top of the toilet in front of the basin and twist my head sideways to reach the sink. Got annoying after 4 days!
Had to remove our own rubbish.
Towels were very thin.

Overall, it was worth the money we paid for it, but make no mistake this is not a Ryokan experience. It's more of a hostel, with tatami mat rooms. Cheap and clean, it depends what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Ask for one with some sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I spent 4 nights at the ryokan and found the premise and my single room clean, quiet, and well equipped. The staff was courteous and helpful. I particularly appreciate its location in Asakusa and its proximity to the metro line. Probably the best value for a good accommodation in Tokyo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidalexanderc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Stayto
Stayto
#27 of 120 in Taito
604 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
#43 of 74 in Chiyoda
227 reviews
Akabane / Itabashi
Hotel Tetora Akabane
Hotel Tetora Akabane
#2 of 14 in Kita
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Graphy Nezu
Hotel Graphy Nezu
#8 of 120 in Taito
449 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#9 of 120 in Taito
336 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Kamogawa
Ryokan Kamogawa
#28 of 120 in Taito
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso

Property: Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
Address: 2-16-12 Nishiasakusa, Taito 111-0035, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hostel offers affordable and accessible accommodation in Asakusa Tokyo. In the heart of Tokyo you will enjoy an inexpensive, cozy, and convenient stay at the Toukaisou Ryokan. We are located in Asakusa, the heart of the old downtown (Shitamachi) Tokyo, an area reminiscent of traditional Japan, which is quite rare in modern-day Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso Hotel Taito
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing