We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family with older kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sakura Hostel Asakusa
Ranked #12 of 59 Specialty lodging in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
1 review
“Family with older kids”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed in a 4 bed(bunks) private room. Shared bathroom on our floor was clean , showers had good water pressure. We arrived before check in time but could store our bags ( great!) Checking was easy and information sheet about hostel and area was handy. Close to subway and temples .
Lounge has Internet TV , movies etc. could also wash cloths in washing machine for 100 yen.
Good experience for our teenage kids very safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eukylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サクラホステル浅草, at Sakura Hostel Asakusa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
From now on our guests are able to use internet in the rooms too. Thank you for staying at Sakura Hostel Asakusa. We hope to be able to serve you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    124
    44
    8
    5
See reviews for
29
20
100
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I spent five weeks in Japan, staying the first day and the last week at Sakura Hostel in Tokyo. We plan to stay there again next time we get to Tokyo; I've recommend it to my friends who don't need business travel amenities since 2007..
We stayed in a quiet two-bed room overlooking the amusement park and shared the lav/showers down the hall. The view was beautiful. The beds were comfortable, size large enough for westerners. We used the kitchen for meals (market near Ueno Park has better selections but the nearby convenience store is more than adequate.) Internet access was straight-forward; television was available but we didn't watch it.
Staff is one of the best we've encountered. They were friendly and competent, aware of local events, no matter the time of day. They explained how to use the transit system (Asakusa Line, a short walk distant, connects more or less easily with the other subway lines and with the rail lines but some of the transfer points are harder to use than others), and to NOT take shortcuts (street numbering is different from system used in the US.) One of our hosts shipped our luggage from Kamakura to await our arrival in Tokyo to the Sakura HOTEL; reception staff found it for us and had it brought to Asakusa -- a rescue most welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eithnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サクラホステル浅草, at Sakura Hostel Asakusa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice and hepful review.
We are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and of course the view over Asakusa.
You may be happy to hear that we installed Wifi for the whole building recently, so you will be able to use it in your room on your next stay with us.
Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I felt like I was treated like a 5 star hotel guests...big smiles and yes we can spirit from the receptionists. Soup in morning was yummy. Cons: It was a hot in the room on a hot August day...so try to get bed under aircon or bottom floor. Top dorm bedbunk can get hot when not facing aircon. Pros: The service was great, coffee was strong, living room to hang out and meet each other, hot showers, kitchen to cook. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and I prefer to stay at this place because of the service with a smile and communal areas. Bravo Sakura!

Room Tip: Have an bed facing air con--if you get hot easily. If you are always cold...then you will probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starhawk029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サクラホステル浅草, at Sakura Hostel Asakusa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are incredibly happy to hear that you liked your stay here!
Our staff is always trying to serve our guests as well as possible.
If it is too hot in the room next time, just call the front desk and we will change the setting for the air conditioner.
Thank you again for staying with us and we really hope to be able to welcome you again sometime in our hostel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nfo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here with a friend in 2009 and really enjoyed it.
Rooms are clean (bunked in a co-ed dorm) but were kinda loud, even for a hostel (maybe I just came at the wrong time?)
Showers/bathroom were great - spacious and clean!
Close to the subway station and a few cool temples. The lounge is equipped with internet and was a great place to meet fellow travellers.
Tip: Sneak onto the roof at night for an awesome view of Tokyo!

The only disadvantage: No lock boxes in the room itself (someone ended up lifting my only camera battery while it charged). But not the fault of the hostel itself, just my own stupidity.

Overall, great place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サクラホステル浅草, Receptionist at Sakura Hostel Asakusa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
First of all, we are very sorry to hear that something got stolen from you. We actually got lockers in the room, but one needs a padlock to lock them. But of course it is hard to lock it in while it's charging. We are pleased to here that you liked it here. You will be happy to hear that we installed Wifi for all rooms now too!
Thank you so much for staying here and we hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night in the coed dorm. All we needed was a safe place to sleep, and you can't beat the price. As an added bonus, the staff are friendly and helpful and will gladly help you navigate Tokyo. We also paid $3 for breakfast: toast, tea and tomato/cabbage soup which was perfect for us. We even kept our bags in the open storage area in the basement while we walked around the Sensoji Temple, and they were right where we left them when we came back. If I'm lucky enough to find myself in Tokyo again, I'll definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxcat1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サクラホステル浅草, at Sakura Hostel Asakusa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our storage area is not locked but secured by cameras, so it is still safe. It is nice that you made use of that.
We really hope that you will be lucky enough to come to Tokyo again and we will be happy to welcome you again in our hostel.
Thank you again very much for staying with us and for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for two times two weeks and had the best time ever. Friendly staff with smiles on their faces every day! The hostel is very clean and the kitchen is fully equipped to prepared home-made food. You can even borrow knives if you need:)

The hostel also have many events worth attending, because you then get to see more of what Japan can offer, such as kimono-tryout, temaki sushi-making, sumo tours and so on... Very close to Sumida River and the great Sensou-ji temple makes the surrounding scenery stunning and perfect for daily walks.

Thank you very much for such wonderful hosting - I will definitely come back, even if just visiting the nice people who work here:)

Pia

Room Tip: Try the dorms:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pia1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サクラホステル浅草, Receptionist at Sakura Hostel Asakusa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words!
There is nothing nicer for us than to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us like you did. We are always trying to create a friendly and warm atmosphere and we are very happy to hear that we are succeeding.
Thank you very much for staying with us all the time and we really hope to be able to welcome you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I came to the place on a short notice, mainly because I did not find something better, but I liked it and warmly recommend it. I stayed one night in a 6-8 beds room, functional for a night sleep, as I asked, but not much to tell about. So are the showers and toilets (common to each floor), but should be mentioned as very clean. Breakfast is a very basic free-buffet of tea, bread and some spreads, nothing special or interesting, but it is a good morning fill-up and cheap, so worthy. The staff I spoke with were kind and helpful (printed some map for me and explained me directions). The nicest feature of this place, in my opinion, is the atmosphere in the main lobby, specially in evenings, where you can serf the internet for free and get to know many people of the guests. Well, if you look for quiet and privacy, you may not enjoy it as I did, but I think that coming to a hostel goes together with meeting and talking to people, so Sakura hostel does it very well. The place is in a nice environment, close to some shrines, gardens and the market of Asakusa, though not so very close to the railway station. The price is reasonable, and I found it a very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UPtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サクラホステル浅草, at Sakura Hostel Asakusa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review.
We totally agree with you. A hostel is a place to meet various people and we always enjoy seeing our guests having fun in our lobby. We are pleased to hear that you liked your stay with us and we hope you will visit us again sometime.
Thank you very much for staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 59 in Taito
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Juyoh Hotel
Juyoh Hotel
#14 of 59 in Taito
149 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Oak Hostel Zen
Oak Hostel Zen
#2 of 59 in Taito
208 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
#3 of 59 in Taito
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Hostel Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Hostel Asakusa

Property: Sakura Hostel Asakusa
Address: 2-24-2 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032 , Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 59 Specialty lodging in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sakura Hostel Asakusa 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open an inexpensive priceed guest house with beautiful views of Hida Takayama and the Northern Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sakura Hostel Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakura Hostel Asakusa Hotel Taito
Sakura Hostel Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing