We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice for a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sakura Hostel Asakusa
Ranked #17 of 69 Specialty lodging in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed there Sept 2011. It was really clean, good atmosphere. They have a dvd player and video games, free internet. All around the hostel you can find good places to eat for not much. I stayed in a dorm, but they also have nice private rooms, I made a friend who showed me their room. The placement is really good and it allows eazsy access to all of the Asakusa neighborhood.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miltonkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 282 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

Our family of 5 headed to Japan recently and stayed at Sakura Hostel in Asakusa, Tokyo. We have 6 bed room which was heated, warm thick bedding and a shared bathroom. It was a safe and friendly base for us to launch into our days of sightseeing. It was close to tourist spots and had access to a number of underground subway stations. The staff were supportive and eager to handle all our question (which I am sure they have heard so many time before). Breakfast was simple - toast and tea, but it was filling and fresh to go.

Room Tip: This is just a good place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcdoolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We would not rave about this hotel. The family who own the hotel are very nice and extremely helpful - even driving us to Ueno station but the reception area is quite messy, the rooms are very ordinary and the bathroom is quite small. Also, it is not in a great location - near a busy intersection. My advice would be only to stay here if you cannot find somewhere else in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTMSydneyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed here nearly a week in the summer of 2010, re-upping our stay each morning. Loved it. Good breakfast, lovely and very helpful staff, clean linens, clean bathroom. They stored our luggage when we arrived early as well. Lockable lockers in the rooms. Great location!! Hard to find the first time around though.

Would stay here again, even though my boyfriend and I have grown past hostel accommodations.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gowest03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Visited in Apr 2011. A bit old hostel but clean and PERFECT location. We love the way from metro station to the hostel passing Asakusa temple, it gives us the real atmostphere of old Tokyo.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lien_Ta1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I booked on line I was looking to good priced cleaned and close public transport all i find at this hostel
Easy access from train to this place from airport
Walk able from Asakusa temple and subway, close many restaurant, nice and clean standing shower bathroom, share kitchen if like cook and save money of dining out staff is very polite , perfect place for single p[person to explore Tokyo

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank idealfitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Sakura is a modern busy hostel with good rooms. The hostel is adequately equipped and the residents are maily on the young side.
The best part is its location. Straight underground run into the city, loads of things to see, eat and do nearby. Asakuse is probably the best area in Tokyo

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGY-Eaglescliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
#22 of 123 in Taito
280 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 69 in Taito
222 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Juyoh Hotel
Juyoh Hotel
#15 of 69 in Taito
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan World Asakusa Ryokan & Hostel
Ueno, Asakusa
Oak Hostel Zen
Oak Hostel Zen
#3 of 69 in Taito
223 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
#8 of 69 in Taito
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Hostel Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Hostel Asakusa

Address: 2-24-2 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 Specialty lodging in Taito
Price Range: $23 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sakura Hostel Asakusa 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open an inexpensive priceed guest house with beautiful views of Hida Takayama and the Northern Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sakura Hostel Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakura Hostel Asakusa Hotel Taito
Sakura Hostel Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing