We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Stayto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stayto
Ranked #28 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed May 2, 2014

In Tokyo, you should be near the JR Yamanote Line. It goes to all the major places and your JR Pass will work.

This hotel is about 10mins walk (safe streets) from JR Ueno, and 10mins walk from the historic area of Asakusa. Its away from the frantic areas of Shinjuku and Shibuya too.

Nice place, VERY good value for money as Tokyo is so expensive sometimes!

Room Tip: We had a twin and a double. The Twin was nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alphiealphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 607 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I was so surprised that the staff of the hotel can speak english fluently. They are also very helpful. At the hotel lobby,u can get many info such as restaurant,places to visit and map. Its only takes about 10mins walk from Ueno Station to this hotel. Many convenient stores such as 7 Eleven are also available around the hotel area. I did rent a bicycle that available at the hotel,that only cost JPY500 per day. Besides that,the hotel room is clean. It is well recommended to stay at Oak Hotel. Super nice service, nice and helpful staff that able to communicate in English, and near to the Ueno Station.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Nadyasaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The staffs are very friendly, and their english is excellent. They are very helpful, giving us tips and directions to our destinations. A bike rental and free wifi are available here. It is very near to a metro station and Ueno, which is a big junction with restaurants, shopping streets and train station. I had a good stay here for almost 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peace p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a week at the end of a 6 month stay in Japan and we can highly recommend The Oak Hotel.

The staff were super helpful in all aspects of our stay, helping us with bookings, directions and their information on restaurants and activities is great! They also helped shift rooms around, as we arrived at a very busy time in Tokyo and had gaps with no accommodation, but they came through and we ended up only having to swap rooms once...amazing!

The rooms are compact, but exceptionally clean and whilst you lose some space with the ensuite, it's also great to have it. TV with CNN (haven't seen TV for months) fantastic WiFi throughout, kitchen, PCs, vending machine with 100yen coffee all add to make it a comfortable place to explore Tokyo.

The hotel is in a very good location close to Ueno JR station and the even closer Inaricho is approx 300m away. Walking to Asakusa, Ueno park or Akihabara are fairly easy and you can find almost everything you need close by.

We will definitely come back, thanks guys!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Oak hotel has a very good location, very near to a metro line and a big junction at Ueno. The staffs are very friendly and professional and their English is superb. Basic amenities are adequate and free wifi is available. I love their laundry service with free detergent and kitchen with cooking oil and all seasonings available for you to cook simple dishes. A Microwave, a small toaster an electrical stove, cooking utensils and crockery are available Overall I have a good stay here and very satisfactory. I would recommend OaK Hotel for your visit to Japan..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yanling-saowala... Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Like most japan hotels, room and bathroom is pretty small ; however all the basic amenities are adequate. Free wifi is available throughout the hotel, thats definitely a plus point! Location wise is nicely located near Ueno. You might want to get off at Suehirocho station instead since its so much nearer and faster. If you are on a budget, and don't mind a small room/bathroom and near Uneo area, this is definitely a good choice! Oh, and the staffs there speak pretty good english too! That's really handy if you need help!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Got this hotel on last minute booking and was quite satisfied with it. Convenient location,very close to public transport. Quiet area. The room was quite small but very clean which was good for sleeping and keeping our baggages since we were out the whole day.Friendly and helpful staff. Very reasonable room-rate.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel 3000 Asakusa Honten
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#26 of 123 in Taito
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#36 of 123 in Taito
68 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Yanagibashi
Hotel Yanagibashi
#40 of 123 in Taito
214 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
#47 of 75 in Chiyoda
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayto

Address: 6-1-2 Higashi Ueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Oak Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#9 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range: $25 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayto 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Stayto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Taito
Stayto Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing