We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good place to stay because”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Asakusa Shigetsu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Asakusa Shigetsu
Ranked #32 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
monkton,md.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“really good place to stay because”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

the design, comfort,cleanliness of the rooms, friendliness of staff, good breakfasts and quiet location in a very busy and interesting area. i especially appreciated the japanese soaking room/tub on the roof after a day of walking..the price was right for the tatami room and feel lucky to have chosen this ryokan sight unseen.

Room Tip: only in tatami and was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pineycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    107
    20
    14
    6
See reviews for
43
88
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Thought I'd try something authentic Japanese and this Inn delivered just that. Pretty quiet, very functional and clean rooms, right in the heart of the local markets and temples. Easy walk to Tokyo Sky Tree, and plenty of other local attractions. So many restaurants to choose from.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was one of the most enjoyable stays I have ever had visiting a foreign country. I wanted to stay in a traditional Ryokan or Japanese Inn but with modern conveniences and Ryokan Shigetsu was perfect. As land is expensive, the Japanese have learned to be very creative with their small spaces. Where we have a different room for each activity, like dining room or bedroom, they have different activities for each room. My room was made up as a seating area with table for either eating or writing like a desk. Then at night it was transformed into a bedroom with a large fluffy futon rolled out onto the tatami mat floor. In the morning the futon was folded up and placed in the closet and the room was back to living space. Each tatami mat is approximately 3' x 6' and rooms are measured by tatami mats. I was in a single which was 6 tatami mats or 9' x 12' and plenty of space. In addition I had a closet and a private bath and a spacious storage area hidden behind shoji screens which gave you privacy but still let the light in. I would open it for the view as I could see the 5 story Pagoda a couple of blocks away from my room. Breakfast was included and you could get either traditional Japanese breakfast including fruit, rice and fish or English breakfast of eggs and salad. (I have never had salad for breakfast but that is beside the point!) The upper floor had a Japanese style bath but I was content with my own shower. There was Internet available from the small lobby and breakfast was served in the dining room just off the lobby. I was able to walk all around Asakusa, the old district of Tokyo. Be sure to ask where to find this great little second story jazz club called Darling which was only a few blocks walk and very safe even alone at night. This room was booked for me by Samurai Travel out of Colorado. Their multi-city tour was fabulous and I don't think I could have found this charming spot by myself.

Room Tip: Ask for private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Best deal ever in Tokyo. MODERN BUILDING WITH CLASSIC LOOKS. Close to restaurants, Senso ji, Sky Tree, subway, far away from busy and noisy Tokyo center. Fantastic in house sento and... Cheap. 7800 yen for a single. Great place. Take care... Closed for cleaning between 10 am and 3 pm. You cant stay in your room.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for a traditional stay after friends had recommended it. The hotel staff were lovely and very welcoming and our room was very small but comfortable. The bathroom was even smaller (I could touch wall-to-wall and ceiling-to-floor with the span of my arms!) but functional and clean.

The ryokan was in a beautiful traditional area, close to Asakusa temple and surrounding markets. It was a struggle to get to the centre of Tokyo (two trains, about half an hour in total) but the surrounding area somewhat made up for that.

The staff were very helpful and welcoming. There is a house rule that rooms must be vacated between 11am - 3pm. Unfortunately I had a bout of gastro whilst staying there so they were kind enough to waive that rule for me.

Overall a comfortable, though expensive option for those looking for a more traditional stay in Tokyo. I wouldn't stay again, simply because I'd prefer to stay closer to the city, but staying in a ryokan is an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snapwhoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were checked into a room without a bath or shower and told to use communal facilities where there is no lock, only open at limited times and the facilities are shared with others (you wash in front of others and get into the bath with them). Our room needed updating, bathroom floor crumbling away, panels held up with sellotape and a nasty stain on the wall. We complained and got a better room with bath ans shower. We were not allowed to occupy our room between 10.30 am and 3.00 pm and the maid would knock on our door before this time to get us out. This can be hard when suffering jet lag. Our breakfast was good at 1,300 yen. We were alarmed when we found they had charged us 25,200 yen for 12 breakfasts (2,100 yen per breakfast). We have written to them to explain this but they have ignored our inquiry.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a bath and shower en suite. We did originally request this but they chose to ignor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBBraithwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

On our first night we found one bedbug on the wall. After examining the sheets and thinking that maybe we were mistaken, we stayed here for two more nights. On our last night, we again found a bedbug and upon further examination, more dead bugs.

Upon finding that the phone in our room did not work, we tried to get the manager at the front desk to call a taxi reservation service for us and reserve a taxi for the early morning. When we tried to get him to adjust the reservation, he complained to us that he would lose face with the taxi company for calling so many times in a short span of time. Upon much pleading he belligerently called the taxi company, changed the reservation, but told them not to call the hotel at the time (4:30am), that we had to be downstairs by ourselves. He was extremely rude to us throughout this whole process.

DO NOT stay here. The manager is terrible and there are bedbugs. This was a terrible mistake.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Kamogawa
Ryokan Kamogawa
#27 of 121 in Taito
163 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#2 of 121 in Taito
284 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Hotel Hatago
Asakusa Hotel Hatago
#14 of 121 in Taito
147 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Mikawaya Honten
Mikawaya Honten
#65 of 121 in Taito
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asakusa Shigetsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asakusa Shigetsu

Property: Asakusa Shigetsu
Address: 1-31-11 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Asakusa Shigetsu 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are by the Nakamise avenue, and a short walk from Asakusa Station, If you are planning to visit Ueno, Ginza, and Nikko, you can reach directly. We have Japanese style baths on 6th floor. There are two rooms separated for male and female. Please enjoy your bath time with the sight of five-storied pagoda. Traditional Japanese cuisine, "WASHOKU" was placed as a UNESCO's intangible cultural heritage in 2013. Traditional "WASHOKU" breakfast is composed of TAMAGO-YAKI (Japanese-style omelet), YAKI-ZAKANA (grilled fish of the season), NI-MONO (seasonal boiled dishes), SHIRU-MONO (soup dishes) and GOHAN (boiled rice). The quintessence of "WASHOKU" is to take the full advantage of seasonal ingredients. Menu varies with the seasons. Beside its tastes, "WASHOKU" breakfast is served with special attention to its appearance and nutrient balance. Please enjoy the authentic "WASHOKU" breakfast in Ryokan Shigetsu. Asakusa is one of the most well known and popular towns in Tokyo. The roads leading to the famous shrine there provide an abundance of cultural curiosities ,from sweets to yukatas to good luck charms. Ryokan Shigetsu is located right around the corner of the main street "Nakamise-dori." You can relax in the Japanese style room and bath just as comfortable and convenient as using an ordinary hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asakusa Shigetsu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asakusa Shigetsu Hotel Taito
Asakusa Shigetsu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing