We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful ryokan, terrific owner/family/staff, ideal location”
Review of Ryokan Kamogawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ryokan Kamogawa
Ranked #26 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, CANADA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A delightful ryokan, terrific owner/family/staff, ideal location”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Have stayed with Ryokan Kamogawa each time visiting awesome Tokyo .. always very special, both Ryokan Kamogawa & Tokyo. Welcoming, impeccable Japanese hospitality & warm, friendly, gracious, helpful service offered by owner/family/staff to her guests, English spoken. Was fortunate to have been upgraded to a palatial apartment-sized room (from a single room) for a portion of my stay ~ loved it, arigatou gozaimasu! Oh so very comfortable futon & pillows; gorgeous tatami mats; terrific bathrooms ~ well-appointed a/c rooms throughout, including green tea service; complimentary laptop/internet for use at welcoming, relaxing tea room. The Asakusa location is ideal ~ this quiet ryokan steps away from Nakamise-dori St., various temples, small amusement park etc. & very easily reached from Narita Airport via rail to Ueno Stn., then Ginza Subway LIne to Asakusa #19 stop. And thank you for the lovely 2014 calendar, which I treasure :-) Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If booking a single room, request one where the window doesn't face a brick wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjali2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying !
It's our presure you like our ryokan.
We hope we can welcome you again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    73
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
63
51
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, Greater Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was a lovely place to stay and I am really glad I chose this hotel to stay in on my first visit to Japan. The staff are all really friendly and welcoming and there's always someone around who speaks English. My room was full of character and I loved the Zen garden on the landing outside it. The Japanese Breakfast was great - I had it every day, and I really enjoyed how the cook varied the breakfast from day to day - I've never seen such beautifully presented fruit salad in my life. The wi-fi in my room was fast and reliable. I was really sorry to leave.

If I could give one suggestion to owners it would be to update the website to make it clearer that if you are arriving from Narita, you'll probably be arriving at the Toei station so should leave the station by exit A4.

Room Tip: There's lift access to all floors, so no need to worry about carrying bags up stairs,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leigh_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your stay.
I am looking forward to your next resevation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked this inn because of the hot spring bath and to experience some traditional japanese stay while in Tokyo.
And this was so so good - do not underestimate what the hot spring does to your body after a busy day of sightseeing. It was so so unbelievable good!!!
That alone was worth booking it.
The owners do speak little english but enough to be understood/to understand you. The welcome was warm and friendly. They were smiling every time. This is such a lovely feature of the japanese - most western countries should adopt this.
Do I really need to say anything about the cleanliness? It was top standard!
It's situated in the middle of Asakusa, short walk to the Asakusa shrine and temple. Perfect for sightseeing.
Of all the places we stayed in Tokyo, I liked this best. I surely will return one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelOfIslington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying.
I’m looking forward to your next reservation !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My Family & I visited Japan for the first time. The stay @ the Ryokan Kamogawa was awesome.We enjoyed every day we were there. The family that run the Ryokan are very lovely people. They showed us much love. The Japanese breakfast every morning was great. The futons are very comfy. Slept well every night. Very quiet @ night.This is a great place to stay. The air condition in the room was great. I like it cold, so it was just right for us. Free wi-fi in room, love it. I do recommend this place. Would go back if I am ever in Asakusa again. Hey Wong, Thanks for taking the time to take the picture with my family. We miss your smile @ breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skidoo32822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, オーナー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying !
It's our presure you like our ryokan.
We hope we can welcome you again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Asakusa was a place where visitors are brought back to the Edo era (ancient Tokyo), with the very rustic and traditional Japanese atmosphere. Coming here and staying in a hotel would be quite odd, and looking for a good ryokan to stay in would be a wise choice.

For us, this was the first experience in a ryokan and Ryokan Kamogawa was a good choice. Located within minutes' walk from the Sensō-Ji Temple, main shopping arcades, and within a train station away from Tokyo Skytree, it should be considered for anyone who wants a pleasant experience in a traditional Japanese inn.

Do note though that expectations need to be managed. This is a Japanese inn, and not a modern hotel. With that, I was already satisfied with the amenities provided, and having modern facilities, such as a lift, water-heaters in rooms, would already be considered as bonuses.

In all, this inn is definitely highly recommended..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellisbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thak you very much for your staying.
I'm looking forward to your next reservation !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was my first time in Tokyo and my first experience in a ryokan and I will surely repeat it.
The Kamogawa Ryokan is located in the central part of Asakusa, in one of the small streets behind Nakamise street, literally 2 minutes walking from the Sensō-ji temple ( wonderful at night ), and the main shopping arcades.
We chose the TYPE B room which was very spacious; divided into 2 rooms ( night area and sitting room area ) it has all the amenities and the comfort you need. After a day of visiting, it is nice to come back, put on a kimono and have a green tea. The staff speak very good English; it is very friendly and helpful. The ryokan also has a public bath, a bar and a restaurant, although we did not try it; we always ate outside, there is a vast selection of restaurants.
It was a wonderful experience. The district of Asakusa brings you back to Edo, ancient Tokyo, and its magical atmosphere! I highly recommend this place and this neighbourhood, perfect for a holiday / visit / stay in this amazing city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolly19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your staying.
We are very happy to read your good review.
In Asakusa, there are many seasonal events throughout the year.
We hope we can welcome you again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is an update from my review year. Giving 5 stars for excellent service because I had left an item of clothing at the hotel and they mailed it to me without hesitation and did not charge me. As I had mentioned in my previous review, staff went out of the way to help. It is a solid choice with excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluehornet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying.
I'm looking forward to your next reservation !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Shigetsu
Asakusa Shigetsu
#35 of 122 in Taito
244 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#4 of 122 in Taito
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#9 of 122 in Taito
342 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
#21 of 122 in Taito
223 reviews
Ryokan & Spa Sizku
#2 of 4 in Adachi
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Kamogawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Kamogawa

Property: Ryokan Kamogawa
Address: 1-30-10 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryokan Kamogawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Rakuten, HostelWorld, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ryokan Kamogawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Kamogawa Asakusa Hotel Taito
Family Hotel Taito
Ryokan Kamogawa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing