We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ryokan, steps away from everything.”
Review of Ryokan Kamogawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ryokan Kamogawa
Ranked #24 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

If it is your first trip to Japan, this is a good Ryokan to stay. It is reasonably priced and is literally steps away from one of the most famous locations all the tours will take you -- Asakusa. The rooms are actually on the larger side of what other ryokans will offer. It is very comfortable and staff are very helpful. There is a little cafe that also belongs to the Ryokan so it's convenient. As you step out of the ryokan, you walk into the middle of the Nakamise shopping district which leads you to the very famous Sensoji Temple. No tour would be successful without a stop in this location -- and you're right there! You can also see the recently opened SkyTree (that surpassed the Tokyo Tower in height)... a beautiful view at night. We walked outside very early morning where stores were closed and the area is safe at night/dawn.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your staying.
I'm looking forward to your next reservation !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 177 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great location right in the heart of old Tokyo, surrounded by small restaurants, izakaya and many temples. The rooms are very large and bathrooms are a good size at a very reasonable price given the amenities. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds were ready for us when we arrived which we discovered is not necessarily the norm in Japan. I would definitely recommend this ryokan.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessapau t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your staying.
This march, new Japanese hot spring opened.
I'm looking forward to your next reservation !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Me and my family (7 people in total) stayed in this ryokan (japanese style hotel) for 7 nights and all was ok and confortable...

Rooms was clean, staff was really helpful and kind...

The area around for us is one of best area you can stay in Tokyo...you can have all together:

1) Skytree tower + complex stores
2) Asakusa Shirine and Kaminarimon (sooo beautiful !)
3) a lot of small souvenir store for tourist
4) many many different small japanese restaurant and others (italian, french, korean, barbecue...)
4) Ginza line metro very usefull for going around tourist spot (Ginza, Omotesando, Shibuya, Ueno...)
5) and much much more !!!

All in the same area (except for Skytree but only 3 min / 1 stop of metro!)...nice walking around ^_^

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wasabi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your staying.
This march, new japanese hot spring opened.
I'm looking forward to your next reservation !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Travelling with young children, we really appreciated the fact that this place is in a great spot, just a few minutes walk from the subway. We stayed 6 nights, and for 3 of them we were lucky enough to be in one of the larger rooms that face the street which was really great. The other 3 nights were spent in a really small room and we struggled to understand how it could be feasibly considered big enough for more than one person. The staff were lovely and the free wifi and breakfasts were great. Would recommend to anyone if you could make sure you get the bigger rooms!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feznez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, フロント担当者 at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you for choosing us and writing a good review.
We need to agree with our guests that our small room is really small size that the maximum for this room is 2 adults.
So if your group has many people, we strongly recommend the larger room.
We hope to welcome you again someday.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great little place. It is just a block away from the shopping area that leads up to the Sensoji Temple. There are also many other shopping areas in the surrounding blocks as well as many cheap places to eat. The subway is just a few blocks away right outside the temple gates. The staff is very helpful but not all speak English, so be prepared. This is a traditional but modern ryokan, everything inside is nice and new. You do have to turn in your key when you leave and there is a curfew but they will give you a code to the back door if you plan to be out late. We had a few late flight home and they let us leave our luggage with them for the day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aprilp2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for your staying and good review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This small ryokan is pleasant and ideally located into Asakusa district. The facilities are clean and location is peaceful even though the ryokan is located near the main Asakusa shrine. You can easily access to all part of the city by using one of the main underground line situated at less than 5 minutes by walk.

Peoples are welcoming and I recommend you to try a japanese breakfast and the japanese bathroom at least one time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pti_pingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your staying.
This march, new japanese hot spring opened.
I'm looking forward to your next reservation !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Good location within Asakusa. Very close to Senso-ji temples. Kids got a kick out of getting their fortunes at the temple. Lots of restaurants and souvenir shops around the temple.

The interior appears recently renovated. Everything is in excellent condition. I had the image that this and other ryokans would have an older look with darker stained wood. Not the case here. Pleasant decor and light natural wood accents made this place feel brighter.

Rooms was more spacious than expected. Appreciated the japanese style bath at the bottom floor which families could enjoy and can also be private (door locks).

Service was good. Also, when we left, I was really impressed that a woman from the hotel personally walked us all the way to the asakusa toie line tomake sure we would find our way there correctly.

The only negative was that our room had a pickled vegetable smell. Otherwise I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluehornet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your staying.
This march, new japanese hot spring opened.
I'm looking forward to your next reservation !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Dormy Inn Express Asakusa
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Shigetsu
Asakusa Shigetsu
#46 of 123 in Taito
246 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#5 of 123 in Taito
307 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Mikawaya Honten
Mikawaya Honten
#75 of 123 in Taito
31 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
#23 of 123 in Taito
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Kamogawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Kamogawa

Address: 1-30-10 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range: $127 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryokan Kamogawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Ryokan Kamogawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Kamogawa Asakusa Hotel Taito
Family Hotel Taito
Ryokan Kamogawa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing