We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$38
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
Booking.com
$50
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/28/21
Trip.com
$34
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
Hotels.com$38
Priceline$40
eDreams$50
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveler rating
225
241
45
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
225
241
45
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ameyoko market excellent location minute walk family room necessary amenities japanese breakfast cleaning staff spent nights definitely stay here again jr station train tokyo elevator lines narita zoo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 514 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2019

The location is excellent which the hotel is just a few minutes walk to JR, Subway, Skyliner Ueno Station. Staff are nice and helpful, which we had a great experience for the honeymoon. Room is clean and tidy, although the room is around 12 square meters which is normal for most of the 3-star hotel in Japan. You can find the convenience stores like Lawson and 7-Eleven just 1 - 2 min walk. There are also several good Japanese restaurants nearby :)

Room tip: Strongly recommend to book a few months in advance as they are quite full all the time.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richardtsang0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Dear our valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review on Ueno Touganeya Hotel. We are very glad to read that we were able to accommodate you for your special life event. We are so sorry our rooms are so small. We wish we could have given you a better room but we are still very happy to know that you had a great experience with us. We truly hope that you had the best honeymoon in Japan. We hope we can meet you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is reasonably priced for Tokyo, and the location is excellent. We took the Keisei-Ueno skyliner and as another reviewer said, the station it stops at is not JR Ueno, which is really close by. Still, we didn't find it too hard to reach the hotel, even with luggage, once we exited to the streets. Google Map helps with orientation. Note that the escalators for going up/down the overpasses stops working at 22:00, so you'll have to use the stairs, which means more work with luggages. The hotel room is really compact, so movement is more restricted. However, it had everything we needed- hair dryer, great little kettle, good amenities like shampoo, soap & conditioner, and toothbrushes. It also had a strong air conditioner, with an adjustable temperature setting. We put a Do Not Disturb sign on, so they wouldn't have to clean our room, and they left a bag of fresh towels at our door anyway...thoughtful. Sound proofing was good. Reception was very good- they allow free use of their umbrellas. A 711 was just around the corner, which is super convenient.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank woozie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

Dear our valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review of our hotel Ueno Touganeya Hotel.
We are very happy to read your review that we always wish to know how our guests feel during their stay with us.
We are sorry to read that our hotel room was very compact so the movement was restricted but still happy to know that our room had everything that was needed for your stay. Since we can not change the room size, we will continue to keep up our service and amenities in the room.
We hope that should you have the opportunity to visit Tokyo again, we may have the chance to welcome you back at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

We stayed two nights at the Tougane as a family of five. We wanted one room to accommodate all five of us which they did. It was very cosy however, it was all about getting out for the day exploring Tokyo so didn't spend much time in the room. The room was clean, simple and the location was very close to train/subway/bullet train. Slept well, no issues with noise. Extremely handy location. There was a food market very close too, which was fantastic. Lots of food options. Great price and handy location. The staff were happy to help us with maps and directions.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Dear our valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing us a great review. We have 4 family rooms at our hotel. Each room can accommodate up to 5 people. As you have mentioned, our hotel is very close to all of Ueno stations. Also, you can go to Ameyoko street and Ueno park by walk. Out of all, we are very glad to read that you slept well and had no issues with noise. Sleep is very important in a trip. We hope you enjoyed your time in Tokyo and Japan this time. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

Ueno Touganeya is a smaller hotel two minutes from Ueno station. I was really happy with the hotel and the location - being on a side street so close to the station was perfect. My room was comfortable and so quiet, the best sleep that I had on this trip. Would definitely stay here again & recommend it to others.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Dear our valued guests,

Thank you very much for your great review! We are very glad to read that you were happy with our hotel. Also, we are very happy that out of all the sleeps you had in this trip, you had the best sleep at our hotel! We will continue to try our best. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2019

Hotel is centrally located, a short walk to Ueno station and nearby shopping street. We enjoy our stay here as its so convenience, room is clean and soundproof is not bad as we couldn't hear any disturbance noise from nearby rooms.
There are a few restaurants and a 7-11 convenience shop nearby. We would stop by the convenience shop for some take-away sandwiches for an early excursion trip too.
Reception staffs are courteous and friendly, always willing to help if you have any queries.
For laundry,coin operated washing m/c and dryers are provided at the ground floor of the hotel. Overall we had a great stay at the hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2019

Dear our valued guest,

Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. This is the best message we can ever get from our guests. The only thing we want is our guests' smile and satisfaction. As you have mentioned our room have soundproof walls. Our hotel is located around many restuarants and convenience store nearby. Our staffs try to be friendly and always willing to help our guests. We thank you again for your great review and we hope we can meet you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews