We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touganeya Hotel (Ueno)(Taito-ko)(Tokyo)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ranked #11 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our (my wife and myself) recent trip to Japan was abruptly cut short upon news of the death of my mother-in-law. The need to catch the first flight home was inevitable. Naturally, our anxiety and impatience ran rather high. However, the management and staff at this hotel was extremely helpful and kind. Their conscientious attitude and mannerism was impeccable. Prior to the sad news, they had already indulged our numerous inquiries (as to directions, fine dining etc.) and had even upgraded our room. So, what was destined to be a bitter end became a bit of a bitter sweet memory for us. We intend to have another trip to Tokyo & Hokkaido and will definitely be staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob130366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouganeyaHotel, Front Office Manager at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

We remember that it was very difficult situation for you.
We sincerely appreciate your saying to stay again our hotel.
Our staff welcomes you back and we would like to support your trip as best.
Thank you so much for your consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 463 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Japan is such a friendly country to visit, the scenery beautiful & it's people very efficient. We were through immigration, collected our bags and through customs, plus purchased our skytrain tickets and arrived in Ueno within an hour of landing in Tokyo. Ueno is a 41 minute train ride from Narita airport. Touganeya hotel is easily found if you follow the underground exit past JR station & come up on the underground elevator, approx 10 minute walk. The hotel is about 70 meters from here athrough the alley beside the elevator. Touganeya hotel is very clean, in a quiet location, the staff very helpful & friendly. The room was quite small but very functional. They provide travellers with toothbrush, soaps, slippers & clean kimono daily. We thoroughly recommend the hotels Japanese breakfasts. The hotel is very handy to all rail services & Ueno park.

Room Tip: Go for non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouganeyaHotel, Front Office Manager at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and writing such a detailed review.
We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay.
We will continue to provide the most comfortable rooms we can.
Our staff is glad that you would recommend our Japanese breakfast to others.
Our restaurant prepare grilled fish ,which is supplied from Tsukiji market.
We welcome you back and wish you all the best.

P.S. we introduced the 24 hours BBC news channel in June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The room was very small (OK for one person, for two it might be a bit tight) but very clean and with all the comfort that you would expect. Staff at the front-desk speak reasonable English and are happy to help planning your stay in Tokyo.

The hotel is located very close Ueno train station from where you can easily access most of Tokyo and many Japanese cities. (Japanese) breakfast is tasty and reasonably priced, dinner at the hotel restaurant is at normal Tokyo price levels.

Overall I enjoyed my stay and would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Paul Moritz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouganeyaHotel, Front Office Manager at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay in our hotel.
Thank you for inquiry during your stay and we are happy to help you in any way possible.
Our staff is glad you enjoyed breakfast and dinner at the Japanese restaurant.
The Ueno Touganeya member appreciates you considering staying at our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Overall experience could not have been better. We traveled in January, so I'm a bit late with this. Location is perfect for a Tokyo central base stay. Train station and Keisei super close. Wife and I knew nothing of Japan - but this hotel made everything come together and work. Staff was super friendly, spoke English, and did everything they could to make us comfortable - they even gave us umbrellas, which we brought home as souvenirs. Here's two tips I don't think i saw on TA when we booked our rooms: 1. With a little searching, you can find turn-by-turn walking directions from Keisei station to the hotel, which is great when you're tired and the street system is so different. 2. Their is a Lawson right around the corner, just in case you want a small pastry instead of fish for breakfast. Definitely going back to Tokyo, and definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bernard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Touganeya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are glad that we could provide information about Japan for your first trip and you felt comfortable during your stay.
We are pleased that you cherish those umbrellas even now.
Thank you so much for saying for staying at our hotel again.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We endorse what other reviewers have said. The location of this hotel couldn't be better as far as access to the train station and therefore other areas of the city. We also enjoyed the local area especially Yanaka Ginza and cemetery - perhaps Akasuka was like this once upon a time before it became a bit too touristy. The hotel staff were very helpful with maps and directions and were also able to forward our luggage on to Takayama so we could travel there via Hakone sans big cases.
I recommend the twin rooms as this hotel which were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Double rooms worth the extra cost if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Touganeya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel from among many other hotels.
We are pleased that you enjoyed historic Buddhist temples and places with old town atmospheres.
The delivery service is popular with guests and we are glad that it was helpful for your trip to Hakone.
We will always try to improve to offer better service.
Thank you again for taking time to write your review and good evaluation.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Location - excellent. Price - very good. Service - excellent. We had no issues booking the hotel (through HostelWorld), communicating with the hotel management (requesting non-smoking room), and staying at the hotel. They let us store our luggage (because we were coming back to this hotel after visiting other cities) and no issue there. The only minor problem we had was our last night (the night we returned from other cities), we were put in the room by the fire escape route on the fifth floor and the bathroom smelled like urine. However, we were only there for one night, so we didn't mention it. Keep in mind, hotels in Japan generally are smaller than what you would expect in Canada. We still had sufficient space to put suitcase and duffel bag.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room 409, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Touganeya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We are delighted to hear that you will consider staying in our hotel again.
Thank you for inquiring by email before your arrival.
It helped us serve you better.
We welcome any questions.
We are disappointed to hear about your last night stay.
We have take note of your comments and will try harder to improve the bathrooms cleanliness.
Please feel free to mention us if you have any troubles next time.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ueno Touganeya Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is located in an extremely handy location, staffed by friendly, happy people. All emails were promptly answered, nothing was too much trouble.
Very reasonable rates- really pays to get the largest room as the regular rooms were too small. Our room-611- was the end large room and measured around 3x4m with 2 single beds very close together, and a small sitting area (excluding the bathroom).
Although it was in a busy location, our room was really quite and we slept very well. Windows can be opened.
We were very happy with this clean, comfortable hotel, and would recommend it for couples.

Room Tip: Room 611 was great! There were bunks in some of the other rooms we saw, so be advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FammyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Touganeya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you so much for staying at Ueno Touganeya Hotel.
We are glad that you had a comfortable stay in our hotel.
It is good to hear that you slept very well.
Our hotel is located on a side street ,which is far enough away from the main street .
Therefore ,we have a good reputation as a quiet hotel.
Thank you very much for saying that you would recommend our hotel to others.
We will keep rooms clean and comfortable rooms.
Thank you again for taking the time to write us some feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#18 of 124 in Taito
318 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#26 of 124 in Taito
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#31 of 124 in Taito
74 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Dormy Inn Ueno Okachimachi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ueno Touganeya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ueno Touganeya Hotel

Address: 3-17-5 Higashi-Ueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Taito
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range: $76 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ueno Touganeya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Rakuten, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ueno Touganeya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touganeya Hotel Taito
Ueno Touganeya Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing