We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ranked #10 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good location hotel”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

just 2 mins work from Ueno station which is just few stops from Tokyo station, loads of restaurants, bars surrounding which is inexpensive compare to other places in Tokyo.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aiwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    214
    43
    2
    1
See reviews for
100
207
44
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This hotel is all about its location, only a 5 minute walk to the Ueno train sation and then you are straight on the loop to nearly everywhere in Tokyo. The hotel itself is comfortable but don't expect modern or luxury, it looks slightly out dated but has everything you would need. We stayed in a twin room (so much extra room than a double and hardly cost more money) which features 2 single beds, a lounge/coffee table, fridge and plenty of room. The other thing to remember when booking is that this hotel is far cheaper than most accomodation in Tokyo, plus the twin room was huge compared to most rooms in Tokyo. So if you are looking for an amazing location and great value for money.. book here!!

We visited the Zoo at Ueno and I would highly recommend it, It is on beautiful grounds and all the animals looks very well looked after in nice encolsures. The price was very very cheap as well. Plenty of food outlets nearby but it's so easy to get around on the train that you can go to dinner in any suburb and get home not long after. If you are catching the bullet train then Ueno is only a few stations (max 10 mintues) from Tokyo station and it's very easy to change trains there.

Stayed in October 2011 for 3 nights.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowsong777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I have stayed in the Touganeya Hotel on five separate trips to Tokyo, and have stayed in any number of hotels (three, four and five star, beds and breakfasts, etcetera). Perhaps it's the location -- in a quiet but connected part of the city (by Ueno park), perhaps it's the extremely helpful staff (who are getting to know me quite well), perhaps it's the attention to detail. But I always feel welcome, comfortable, and at-home in the Touganaya. If you do not expect five-star service from Touganaya, but are a gracious guest looking to be made comfortable in a humble inn, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dio1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UenoTouganeyaHotel, Front Office Manager at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your kind review.
It is so pleasing to read that you found our hotel comfortable and humble.
Comments such as yours motivate our personnel so much.
We will try our best to offer a comfortable and at-home like place to stay but also will try to offer more of professional service too.
We wish you all the best and would be so delighted to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Excellent location close to Ueno station, which makes it easy to reach all parts of the city. Close to a big market with ample eating and shopping places. Clean and compact rooms, friendly service but not a lot of English spoken. Wifi in the lobby, wired in the rooms. Didnt try the breakfast, but plenty of cafes and restaurants at Ueno station with a breakfast English style for 500 yen. Rooms at the front can be a bit noisy- deliveries from 5am and a major road nearby. Helpful staff checked us in at 11am instead of 4pm after a night flight from London, which was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller123159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The hotel is located at a very convenient place, right next to the JR Ueno Station which makes transportation around Tokyo and to other places in Japan very easy. The map provided on the hotel's website makes it very easy to find.
The front desk staff is very nice and speaks English. They also keep luggage when you check-in early or need to leave later after check-out, and stay open 24/7.
We stayed in a double room. It was quite small, but we could open both our luggage (and they were quite big) in the little passage after the door and still were able to walk from the door to the bed (Anyway, we didn't go to Japan to stay in the room all day). The bathroom is equiped with a japanese toilet and a small bathtub. Soap and Shampoo are provided, as well as towels. The bed is comfortable, I loved the comforter! Also, Yukatas are at your disposal, which is a nice touch. There is also air conditioning in the room, a big TV (only Japanese channels), and an internet connexion (only with ethernet cable).
We stayed there 1 night after our arrival before visiting other parts of Japan and came back afterwards for a 6-night stay. If we come back to Tokyo, we would certainly go back to Touganeya Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Endareyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

one of the most reasonably priced hotels near Ueno Station. not the easiest to find as i was on a small street but the map on their website helped. easier to find if you are standing on the huge pedestrian elevated walkway outside Ueno station, with the unusual sculpture. Look for the Mistsui Garden which is big and the hotel is not far. very welcoming front of staff- Tasuya ( i think his name was). eager to chat and make you welcome. free internet in the lobby and LAN in the room. no wi fi though. room smallish but ok for Japan standards. not much room for luggage which sits on the floor. small japanese plastic toilet/bath- which again is standard, but very clean and functional. nice bed and pillow. great location with access to many of the train lines, department stores, cheap food places, parks. will definitely stay here again if i want to go budget.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyFNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel is located in a side street near Ueno station. We got really lost and went to a completely opposite direction because we couldn't figure our way around. So make sure you know how to find it (e.g. Google Earth) before heading there because there's too many exits. The hotel is very reasonably priced and in a wonderful location. We had dinner in Ameyoko several times during the stay and walking distance to Akihabara or Asakusa as well (about 20 minutes walk, not bad at all). We had a double room and it's extremely tiny, as expected. The room is very clean and we sleep like a baby every night. We put out the "no cleaning" sign during our entire stay, but the cleaning lady put a bag of supplies (e.g. new towels, yukata,...) every day in front of our door. Really nice touch!. The front desk staff are really friendly and helpful. I have stayed in several different hotels in Tokyo over the years and I will probably stick with this place in the future. Enough say.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckuo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#17 of 122 in Taito
307 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#28 of 122 in Taito
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#37 of 122 in Taito
65 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Keisei Ueno Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ueno Touganeya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ueno Touganeya Hotel

Property: Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Address: 3-17-5 Higashi-Ueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Taito
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ueno Touganeya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Rakuten, HostelWorld, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ueno Touganeya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touganeya Hotel Taito
Ueno Touganeya Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing