We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
CheapTickets
$23
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/01/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com$39
Priceline$35
eDreams$39
View all 14 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveler rating
144
128
37
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
144
128
37
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews booked nights large kitchen strategic location asakusa station ramen facilities bed shower manga tokyo toilets laundry luggage dormitory english metro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 326 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2016

World Khaosan is a great place to stay in Asakusa, Tokyo if you looking for Japanese Backpacker Ryokan style accommodation. The hostel itself is awesome and very cleaning with full kitchen with large tables where you can meet peoples from all over the world and make friend. There also have bar with many good options of drinks and cocktail for have a relax time after explore Tokyo at day time. Staff is very friendly and try to help you to find the best way to explore Tokyo area and for my surprise they have many tips about all over of Japan to make your Japanese Venture more enjoyable and comfortable. I strong recommend to my friends to stay and enjoy this unique hostel in Tokyo.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016

Very odd place. Still decorated from when it was a love hotel. Rooms have air conditioning and ensuites. Storage lockers for small items in bunk. Great common space with large kitchen and bar. The only real issue was the rooms have motion sensors for the lights so if anyone gets up in the middle of the night or early in the morning it wakes everyone up.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 977rachelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016

We stayed as a group of six in a room, which was surprisingly big and very comfortable (bed sheets & pillows were also very clean and nice.)
The room was
-air conditioned
-well sound-proofed
-smoke smell free

Staff are friendly and some are Room & Board.

Also, following things/facilities provided
-In common area: book/computer/vending machinge/kitchen/seasoning/fridge
-Free Slippers
-Washing machine (cost 100 or 200 yen, can't remember but quite a fair price.)
-Free washing powder (from counter)
-Free secret room with comic books and full body massage chair

Room tip: private and shared bathroom are the same, all clean and nice.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank TinaW3073
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

I loved this hostel in Tokyo.

I visisted here in July with my friend

Hostel itself is a 15 minute walk from metro stations

There are lots of restaurants and supermarkets really close by

The hostel has excellent cooking facilities. Dormitories and bathrooms are clean

I only have one complaint and it is that the bar should stay open later than midnight!

This is an excellent place to meet like minded travellera

Highly recommended!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Adventurer2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

We have just left Khaosan World Asakusa after 4 nights in Tokyo.

The staff at the front desk were very friendly and extremely helpful. They also have leaflets of information for lots of different areas of Tokyo which was great for getting around and finding good sights to see.

The hostel was clean and beds were comfy. Air con could have been better but we are from Scotland and not used to the heat in Japan yet!
The showers were really good, powerful and hot/cold whichever you prefer.

There's a kitchen/lounge area and a bar which is great for socialising although our experience in the hostel room was that people tended to keep themselves to themselves.

There's loads to do near by (Senso-Ji, Kappanbashi knife/kitchen ware area and lots of restaurants). 5mins away from subway station and if you buy a 600yen all day ticket you can get most places in Tokyo.

All in all, a great base for seeing Tokyo!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elayne93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews