We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Erinn Liebhard
Saint Paul, Minnesota

Beautiful, Homey and Comfortable

Review of Andon Ryokan
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 7, 2019
Andon Ryokan is beautiful, the staff are very helpful and friendly and it's an excellent value for your money. The private bath at the top of the property and rooftop patio were excellent extras! We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast they offered each morning, and enjoyed communicating with the staff, who were sweet in all ways, including being more than willing to let us try our broken Japanese with them :) We'd definitely stay again.
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review
Responded Jul 11, 2019
Dear ekliebs

Thank you for your rating and kind comments!
We are very happy that you enjoyed it.

We are particular about breakfast.
We are always ready to serve you, so we can cope with allergies, vegans and vegetarians.

Please come and stay again at the Andon ryokan if you have a next chance.
Thank you for staying.

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
ホテル正面
$162
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $184
  • Priceline
    $151
  • Hotels.com
    $184
0.9 miles from Andon Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$55
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
  • Agoda.com
    $39
  • Expedia.com
    $55
1.3 miles from Andon Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
■Panda Room(パンダルーム TWIN)    広さ:25.0㎡                     ベッドサイズ:1,200×1,960mm 2台
$157
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $176
  • Agoda.com
    $121
  • japanican.com
    $147
1.5 miles from Andon Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$79
Fully refundable
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
    $62
  • Hotels.com
1.7 miles from Andon Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$125
Fully refundable
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
    $55
  • Expedia.com
    $61
1.7 miles from Andon Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Entrance at the Apa Hotel Asakusa-Kuramae
$47
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $48
  • Agoda.com
    $38
  • Vio.com
    $41
1.6 miles from Andon Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$65
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $74
  • Vio.com
    $56
  • Hotels.com
    $74
1.2 miles from Andon Ryokan
Free Wifi
浅草線浅草駅A1出口直ぐ目の前!
$54
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $55
  • Vio.com
    $46
  • japanican.com
    $59
1.4 miles from Andon Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
JR上野駅(広小路口)から徒歩約3分。
$70
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $81
  • Vio.com
    $55
  • Hotels.com
    $81
1.6 miles from Andon Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Taito
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveler rating
271
108
26
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
271
108
26
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small nice feature hot tub subway station japanese style japanese bath ueno park futon floor tokyo english neighborhood tatami akihabara
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 417 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2019

This place is very clean, a good value, a nice location, and very English friendly. It is a ryokan which means the room is a sleeping space; there are no bathrooms or shower in the guest rooms. There are two bathrooms and one shower per floor. Our only bad experience was when a group of Aussies arrived and loudly explored the floor exclaiming that there was just one shower. Come on, people! Be a bit more educated. It was 10pm and they were loud and rude. If you book to enjoy a more authentic Japanese experience, you will not be disappointed. The decor and style is wonderful! Highly recommend.

Room tip: I had a corner room for two nights and it was slightly larger. However, that room was nearer the shower which had more traffic/noise.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TakedaShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Dear TakedaShaw

Thank you very much for your high rating and comments.
I`m very happy that you like our ryokan.

I was should have explained more to the Australian group customers in advance...
I'm sorry.

Renovation work is planned in June.
A cafe bar will be created on the ground floor to provide a better space.
I think you will like this place more and more.

if you have next time, please come back agin our ryokan!
Thank you very much for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

I stayed at Andon Ryokan for 2 nights. The staff was really friendly with us and the facilities were very tidy. The breakfast options are good and you can get a japanese breakfast option for an extra 100Yen (if you have breakfast included in your reservarion). Enjoy Tokyo!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank antoniocapezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2019

Dear antoniocapezza

Thank you for your kind comments and high marks!
I`m very happy that you like our ryokan.

Thank you for eating Japanese food.
Recently the menu has been updated and the menu of Japanese food has also increased.
Japanese food breakfast is special, and the process of making it is often difficult.
We would be glad if various customers could enjoy Japanese food.

We are planning renovations in June.
we open the bar after renovation.
The bar offers Japanese home dinner and IZAKAYA bar food.
You will like this dish.

If you have next time, please come back here again!
Thank you very much for your stayed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

Had a great 3-night stay at Andon Ryokan. Would love to come back and stay again!

The location is a short walk away from Minowa station which gives you access to the hibiya subway line (do note, that the subway exit of the station closest to Andon Ryokan does not have elevators).

Had a warm welcome and introduction to the place and it's amenities. It's very compact but pretty much every little detail has been well thought-through, from the house rules to the availability of bathrooms/toilets, toiletries, slippers. The space is used very efficiently.

As a solo traveller I had plenty of space to accommodate me and my copious amounts of shopping (Andon Ryokan was my last stop after 2 weeks in japan before flying out) :D

The breakfast included in my rate was brilliant, and much needed to set one up for sightseeing around Tokyo. Really enjoyed taking the time to eat a proper breakfast each morning.

The staff were wonderful and so friendly.

Room tip: Corner rooms (e.g. room 21 or 31) are slightly larger due to having an angled wall.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank x_rei
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2019

Dear x_rei

Thank you for your kind comments!

I`m honored to be able to help you on your journey.
We are family run and have live in this city for a long time.
So we have a lot of information and we have the information to help our customers.

We are planning a renovation in June.
We are thinking of a lot of ideas to provide a better space.
The rooms are simple and have minimal facilities, but there is a Jacuzzi and a terrace.
There is a big bar after renovation.

When you visit this city again, we will strive to make you want to visit again.

If you have any time, please come back again here.
Please enjoy shopping again at that time!

Thank you very much for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

What a gorgeous place to stay! The jacuzzi is absolutely fabulous, we had a Hot Tub each day (just book in a time at reception) Breakfast in the loungeroom/reception/kitchen is lovely. Not far to walk from the subway. Everything about Andon Ryokan has a nice family feeling - it’s got a sense of old Tokyo not surrounded by neons and skyscrapers!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Dear heathercV9821SC

Thank you for your kind comments!!
I`m very happy that you like this place.

The Jacuzzi is popular with customers.
It`s a great way to heal your tired body from sightseeing in Tokyo.

Recently, the breakfast menu has also been renewed, and the variation of Japanese and Western dishes has increased.
It is still planned now, but it will be refurbished in June and will have a bar.
You can also eat dinner here.

If you have a next time, please come back again!

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2019 via mobile

The room is very small however if you know how to manage space, it’s actually quite alright with two people. The bathroom is clean, the shower can be locked (very important for me). The place has a welcoming/homely feel to it, as there is a small lobby with different activities. It’s overall very clean with lots of soul and effort put in it. A good budget hotel.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank PavoCristatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2019

Dear PavoCristatus

Thank you very much for your kind comments!!
I`m very happy that you like it.
Our inn is family work, and it is open in a homely atmosphere.
We are working thinking about various ideas.
As you say, our room may feel narrow, but I think that it is right to sleep.
We always try to keep it clean and do not miss the cleaning every morning.

if you have next chace, please come back again here.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews