We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you with great memories Andon Ryokan”
Review of Andon Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andon Ryokan
Ranked #9 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thank you with great memories Andon Ryokan”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a lovely stay in Andon Ryokan. The staff was kind, courteous, and professional, and they were very helpful to us in exploring Tokyo. The room was small but always clean and intimate, and the facilities were all attractive and modern. The breakfast was a congenial experience with good food and conversation with other travelers. The Japanese jacuzzi was also a pleasure.
We send a thank you and greetings to the entire staff. We miss you all. Carmo and Phil

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We all miss you too!
We always try to find interesting spots and nice places to eat in Tokyo. Hope we can give you more atrractive information when you come back next time,,!
Thank you very much once again.
Ryoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    90
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
29
177
36
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Andon was a great place to stay. The room were well kept and the facilities were always clean. They have a large private bath that could be booked which was great to soak in after coming back from a day around Tokyo. The staff are knowledgeable and can point you to some of the best sights around Tokyo as well as local places to see and restaurants to eat at in close proximity to Andon. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarethTeatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Private jacuzzi is one of the attractions of Andon Ryokan. It's a perfect way to relax after lots of walking in Tokyo!
We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our recommendations for sightseen spots.
Hope to see you again in the future. Thank you very much once again.
Ryoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I had a good experience at Andon Ryokan. I was only in Tokyo for a few days but wanted to see as much of the city as possible. The staff were able to help me get to the places I wanted to visit. They offer very good quality bicycles for rent and the Skytree, Asakusa and Ueno are all accessible this way. I stayed in the single room ground level and found it very clean and compact with very comfortable futon and bedding. You must take advantage of the Jacuzzi on the top floor. Make a reservation and it is all yours for an hour. A great way to end a long day of sightseeing. Also, you can wear a fukata as they are free to borrow and fun. In all, the owners have done a good job of making this place very charming. Modern architecture with traditional Japanese style. I would stay here again. Just be sure to write down the address and maybe print a map for directions. I had a little trouble finding it because I did not do this.

Room Tip: If you are solo, just stay on the ground floor single room to save a little money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, Andrew!
We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

We offer 4 rental bicycles because it is one of the best way to travel around Old Tokyo area such as Ueno, Asakusa, Tokyo Skytree, and so forth.

We were also very happy to hear that you made yourself at home in Andon as you enjoyed Jacuzzi and wore yukata! We also enjoyed talking with you during your stay : )

We all Andon staff hope to see you again in the future!
Thank you once again for your stay and wonderful comment!
Ryoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I've stayed at a lot of traditional Ryokan's before so I wan't sure how a modern one would actually be. When we arrived, a kind employee who spoke English very well offered us coffee. Our room was compact but never felt confining. Everything in the rooms and the bathrooms had been placed in a thoughtful way to conserve space. It was quite impressive. I will say the bathrooms are shared with your floor, but I never found myself having to wait to use the bathroom. I do wish the all female bathroom had a mirror in it though. The room was great, the service excellent, the breakfast was delicious and worth the extra few dollars. Although you cannot order a Japanese style breakfast, the Western one was quite good. Another highlight was also the jacuzzi you can reserve for free for you and your guests. Also, the location is quite good. It's near Ueno station on the northeast side of Tokyo, so your very close to all the major subway lines; and the place itself was not difficult to find. Overall, it is wonderfully run Ryokan and I will definitely stay there again in the future!

Room Tip: We actually stayed in the cheapest of the room options and thought it was excellent. So I'm sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to write this lovely comments!
We very appreciate it and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Andon.
At first, I appreciate your advice of having mirrors in laddies bathrooms.
We will install mirrors as soon as possible.

All of Andon stuff speak English and we are willing to make your stay in Japan wonderful with usufull informations!!

Although our rooms are rather small, we always hope our guests to enjoy the experience to stay in small cozy Japanese rooms with comfortable futon on the tatami floor mat.
We cook and serve breakfasts in front of our guests. We cook after we receive orders so all breakfasts are warm and flesh. We can also provide information of the places where you can try Japanese breakfast around Andon area.

Jacuzzi is one of the attractions in our ryokan. You can relax in a hot -tub and recover from the fatigue of your traveling and shopping for all day long.

Thank you very much once again for staying with us.
We are very looking forward to your stay again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

It was a unique experience for me to stay here for sure...I have never stayed at a ryokan this tiny, so that was kind of fun. The location was good too as it was close to Minowa station, which was very close to Ueno (Ueno Park is lovely and that's where the National Museum is although it was closed when we were there for the holidays), and you can also take the Ginza line from Ueno. The hotel was also close to Senso-ji temple, the most visited temple in Tokyo. We just hopped on the bus and there we were.

But the rooms were a bit too small for us and the walls slightly too thin. We are both small people, but after we put our luggage and put our tatami mats down, there was no more room at all. We also could hear everything, which was hard for us as we had just gotten in from the States that night, so we couldn't really sleep after 5 a.m. and in an effort not to wake anyone up, we ended up leaving to go get breakfast at Tsukiji, which ended up being fantastic, so that's ok, but it wasn't the most comfortable night. Don't get me wrong: I have stayed in other ryokans in Japan, so it's not that I do not know what ryokans are like. It was just a bit too small for us.

So it was fun for one night, but I think it might have been difficult for me to stay there longer than that....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnBKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you very much for giving us your comments. We appreciate it.

At first, We apologize for the size and noise that cause you uncomfortable stay in our ryokan.
Our ryokan style is unique and one of a kind; mix of modern guest house and Japanese traditional ryokan.Concept of our ryokan is to provide guests an experience to stay in Japanese style rooms for the reasonable price.
Our rooms are rather small, we only have a room to sleep after lay out a futon.
Our ryokan is suits for the guests who want to enjoy sight seeing out side and come back to sleep. Because of our small room size compare to other Ryokan, our ryokan is not for guests who want to stay to rest in large and quiet room. Since we have small rooms and have to share public spaces with other guests, we encourage our guests to interact with Andon staffs and other guests.

We installed high quality sound proof systes on the both side of the wall. However, we have to admit that we still receive noises from room doors. Especially the day you stayed was in the very busy season and rooms were fully booked. We are very sorry for making you feel uncomfortable and let you leave very early in the morning.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed a breakfast at Tsukiji but still feel very sorry for let you think kindly about others and you had to sacrifice your self to leave the room.

Thank you for staying at Andon ryokan and I am really sorry that our ryokan style was not right choice for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed at Andon Ryokan in Dec 2013 for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. Rooms are small but comfortable and there's enough space for 2 plus bags. Shower was great, the hostel is very clean, Wi-Fi is fast and there's a relaxing hot-tub on the roof. Breakfast was tasty and there's a selection of free teas and coffee all day!
it's little further out from the centre of Tokyo, so it's nice and quiet...a great place to stay if you're not too bothered about partying, or to rest your head after a hectic day sightseeing.
The staff at Andon were extremely welcoming and helpful. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to write this lovely comments!
We very appreciate it and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Andon.

We try to give our guests useful information to make their stay in Japan wonderful !!
So that questions are always welcome!!

Although our rooms are rather small, we always hope our guests to enjoy the experience to stay in small cozy Japanese rooms with comfortable futon on the tatami floor mat.
We have free Wi-Fi and also two lap tops for our guests to self reserch their trip plans.
We just renewed our PC so it's new and fast.
Jacuzzi is one of the attractions in our ryokan. You can relax in a hot -tub and recover from the fatigue of your traveling and shopping for all day long.

We are located in the very quiet and safe area.
Even though, we are far away from the central Tokyo, we have good train access to it!!
You can also take a walk our neighbours to enjoy old traditional district of Tokyo.

Thank you very much once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Excellent modern ryokan experience, friendly staff, well designed rooms, small, but enough shelves to put everything. Highlight was the super tasty bacon & egg sandwich for breakfast! The perfect fuel for a big day walking through tokyo.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyles43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and we are very happy to have your comment.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Andon.
Although our rooms are rather small, we always hope our guests to enjoy the experience to stay in small cozy Japanese rooms.We try to provide enough shelves and clothes hangers in a room.

I am glad that you enjoyed our bacon and egg sandwich.
We have various choices on breakfast menu but bacon and egg sandwivh is our best recomendation.

Thank you very much again for taking time for kind comment, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
#14 of 74 in Chiyoda
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
#10 of 120 in Taito
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andon Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andon Ryokan

Property: Andon Ryokan
Address: 2-34-10 Nihonzutsumi, Taito 111-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andon Ryokan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Rakuten and Priceline so you can book your Andon Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andon Ryokan Hotel Taito
Andon Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing