We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent design and customer care”
Review of Andon Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andon Ryokan
Ranked #9 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent design and customer care”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Andon Ryokan is a little to the north of central Tokyo - about 5 minutes walk from Minowa metro. This is not so good if you want to be close to nightlife areas, but great if you want to get a feel for what a local Tokyo neighbourhood is like. The hostel itself is beautifully designed, well-maintained and kept very clean. The staff speak very good English and amazingly helpful - in my experience you can ask them to help with anything; they were even happy to help me trace an iPod which I left in Kyoto station. I can't speak highly enough of the place. A word of advice: if you plan to stay out late you need to make sure you keep your entry card safe as the reception and front door close at 10pm.

Room Tip: I had a room on the ground floor - I was up early so the early morning stirrings in the hostel didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoolsYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it .
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Andon.
We try to give our guests useful information to make their stay in Japan wonderful all the time. Howevwe, at same time we also learn a lot from our guests!!
Thank you very much once again for staying with us and sharing wonderful time together .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    90
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
29
177
36
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Last summer was our first time in Japan and our trip started at Andon Ryokan. We felt very much at home, everything was need and the staff very friendly. Rooms are tiny but very clean, we took the package witch included public bath tickets. If you like a true Japanese experience, visit a public bath house. Andon ryokan organizes workshops and tastings. We tried the sake tour and the Sushi workshop. We really enjoyed it! Breakfast was basic but good and very affordable.

Andon is located in a very quite neighborhood close to the subway station Minowa.
At the end of our trip we went back to Tokyo, so we head back to Andon again because we liked it so much! We just love Andon, definitely we will be there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLSLMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We also enjoyed your stay and sharing time with sushi workshop and sake tour.
And thank you for comming back to stay with us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wow. Sleek lines, über-cool mod cons and a warm, welcoming vibe. Somehow, this place has just really nailed it. The first thing to understand about Andon is the location - you are embedded deep in the real Tokyo of the old northern suburbs. As the locals will tell you - and so many in these parts are friendly and helpful - this part is the "real Tokyo" that has remained largely unchanged for decades and where you can feel a sense of old Tokyo life. If you lose your way, locals will gladly help you find your way here. Andon itself is modern ryokan heaven - you are in an uber-cool world here where every detail is carefully considered, every little bit and piece is tastefully crafted, space is carefully measured. Everything you touch feels stylishly thought through and crafted. The owner herself is all class, laid-back and yet totally efficient, polite and yet comfortably at ease. If you are after a modern ryokan experience, you are in good hands here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate your time in writing this review.

Yes, we are in an old suburb and local people live just next door so our guests will see their lifes. We hope that our guests will enjoy to see nomal life here.

Also Andon is originally designed, small but japanese tatami room and jacuzzi(reservation needed), the terrace on the roof top with nice view etc. And we will help you if you need some information for your trip. We will to to make our guests comfortable.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We loved our one night stay here. The staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming and the entire property is so charming. The hotel was about a 10-15 minute, very safe, walk to the Minowa transit station. The hot spa on the top floor was a HUGE bonus and we were able to reserve it without any problem. The rooms are very small, but tastefully arranged and we loved the minimal aesthetic. The self-serve coffee and tea in the front lobby was a wonderful touch. There is a (24/7?) convenience store nearby that sells awesome food. Also, there are many signs posted reminding guests to be quiet, which was greatly appreciated. It’s a wonderful gem hidden in a quieter part of Tokyo. We can’t wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Although our rooms are rather small, we always hope our guests enjoy the experience to stay in small cozy Japanese rooms with comfortable tatami mat and futon.
We are happy to hear that you very liked our Jacuzzi!

I was very impressed your expression of our location. “It’s a wonderful gem hidden in a quieter part of Tokyo.” Yes, indeed!
Thank you very much once again for staying with us. We can’t wait to see you again,too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lent, the Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Andon Ryokan was our first experience with a "ryokan" a traditional Japanse Inn.

Location:
Andon is located in a lovely residential neighbourhood in the north-east of Tokyo.
An easy 5 minute walk from the closest metro station Minowa (passing a convenience store, a McDonalds and several traditional eateries) will get you to Andon's doorstep.
The location allows you to sample normal day to day life in one of the world's largest cities while still being minutes away from the centres attractions by public transport.

Property:
Andon is a traditional japanse style inn, but with modern styling. The building is modelled after a lantern, all frosted glass and metal on the outside. On the inside, glass and metal structures are in perfect harmony with antiques and traditional objects displayed throughout the property.
A delightful room for breakfast with small outdoor terrace and a rooftop terrace complete the picture.

Rooms:
All of Andon's guest rooms are traditional. Rooms are small but comfortable and even my almost 2m long boyfriend slept very comfortably. Tatami mats line the floor and comfortable futon matrasses and bedding fill up most of the room. A closet unit that will easily store your suitcase/backpacks and clothes with integrated TV makes up the wall next to the door. A large window lets in ample daylight. Rooms come with complementary slippers and (on request) traditional japanese robes.

Facilities:
All rooms at Andon share showers and toilets located in the hallway on each floor. Showers are generously sized, toiletries are supplied, water pressure is plenty and facilities are immaculately clean. During our stay the ryokan was fully booked but there was never a wait for the showers.
There is a jacuzzi available for private rental (free) on the top floor that is absolutely divine!
Coin operated laundry facilities are also available.

Breakfast:
We opted for a breakfast included stay at Andon and were very happy with our choice.
Breakfast was very reasonably prized, delicious and cooked to order each morning.
Weather allowed us to enjoy it in the outside terrace on one occasion.

Personel:
Last, and certainly not least, are the lovely people working at Andon Ryokan. The owner put so much love into decorating the building with pieces she loved and that shows. Everyone at Andon was very welcoming and friendly. They gave us wonderful suggestions for things to see, places to eat and allowed us to experience a part of "their" Tokyo. As we would be traveling across the country and returning a few weeks later we were allowed to store a large part of our luggage (for a very reasonable fee).

Long review cut short:
Wonderful people, gorgeous modern location mixed with traditional in the heart of a Tokyo residential area and best value for money you will find in the greater Tokyo metro area.

Room Tip: All rooms are traditional japanese tatami rooms of identical size with shared facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed comments! We are impressed and appreciate it. Also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

We are located in the old Tokyo area where is not very center of Tokyo, but there is great atmosphere of local residential neighbourhood as you saw.
Thank you also for letting us know your feeling of your stay in Andon such as facilities, rooms, breakfast and so forth. We always try to provide both attractions of traditional experience and comfortable stay to our guests.

We will try to improve more and more referring to your feelings! Hope to see you again in the future!
Thank you very much once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oss, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very nice ryokan. The people are very friendly, the rooms are nice, the facilities are great. I recommend everybody to use the jacuzzi, the roof terrace and enjoy the delicious cinnamon set breakfast. Also notice the nice workshops at the reception. I personally enjoyed the origami workshop a lot, I understood the sushi workshop is really nice too.

Room Tip: Had a room on the first floor, which was pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM_NL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Jacuzzi is one of the attractions in this ryokan and we started to have some culture experience events from this year.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Origami workshop! Please join other events such as sushi making, Japanese tea ceremony, Travel Japanese lesson and so on, next time!

Thank you very much once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

What to say? It was a perfect place to stay in Tokyo and we would recommend it to anyone. It was especially nice for a couple. The facilities were amazing, the jacuzzi was particularly great! While some other reviewers say the rooms were small, it's Tokyo, everything is small. I'd say it was cozy.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aureliecotesergent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate your time in writing this very kind review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here even if it was a small room and we are also happy that you felt that it was cozy. We will try to offer a comfortable stay for our guests.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#23 of 120 in Taito
311 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Hokke Club Asakusa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
#14 of 74 in Chiyoda
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andon Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andon Ryokan

Property: Andon Ryokan
Address: 2-34-10 Nihonzutsumi, Taito 111-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andon Ryokan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Rakuten, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Andon Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andon Ryokan Hotel Taito
Andon Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing