We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mix of modern and traditional Japan”
Review of Andon Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andon Ryokan
Ranked #9 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Lent, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect mix of modern and traditional Japan”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Andon Ryokan was our first experience with a "ryokan" a traditional Japanse Inn.

Location:
Andon is located in a lovely residential neighbourhood in the north-east of Tokyo.
An easy 5 minute walk from the closest metro station Minowa (passing a convenience store, a McDonalds and several traditional eateries) will get you to Andon's doorstep.
The location allows you to sample normal day to day life in one of the world's largest cities while still being minutes away from the centres attractions by public transport.

Property:
Andon is a traditional japanse style inn, but with modern styling. The building is modelled after a lantern, all frosted glass and metal on the outside. On the inside, glass and metal structures are in perfect harmony with antiques and traditional objects displayed throughout the property.
A delightful room for breakfast with small outdoor terrace and a rooftop terrace complete the picture.

Rooms:
All of Andon's guest rooms are traditional. Rooms are small but comfortable and even my almost 2m long boyfriend slept very comfortably. Tatami mats line the floor and comfortable futon matrasses and bedding fill up most of the room. A closet unit that will easily store your suitcase/backpacks and clothes with integrated TV makes up the wall next to the door. A large window lets in ample daylight. Rooms come with complementary slippers and (on request) traditional japanese robes.

Facilities:
All rooms at Andon share showers and toilets located in the hallway on each floor. Showers are generously sized, toiletries are supplied, water pressure is plenty and facilities are immaculately clean. During our stay the ryokan was fully booked but there was never a wait for the showers.
There is a jacuzzi available for private rental (free) on the top floor that is absolutely divine!
Coin operated laundry facilities are also available.

Breakfast:
We opted for a breakfast included stay at Andon and were very happy with our choice.
Breakfast was very reasonably prized, delicious and cooked to order each morning.
Weather allowed us to enjoy it in the outside terrace on one occasion.

Personel:
Last, and certainly not least, are the lovely people working at Andon Ryokan. The owner put so much love into decorating the building with pieces she loved and that shows. Everyone at Andon was very welcoming and friendly. They gave us wonderful suggestions for things to see, places to eat and allowed us to experience a part of "their" Tokyo. As we would be traveling across the country and returning a few weeks later we were allowed to store a large part of our luggage (for a very reasonable fee).

Long review cut short:
Wonderful people, gorgeous modern location mixed with traditional in the heart of a Tokyo residential area and best value for money you will find in the greater Tokyo metro area.

Room Tip: All rooms are traditional japanese tatami rooms of identical size with shared facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed comments! We are impressed and appreciate it. Also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

We are located in the old Tokyo area where is not very center of Tokyo, but there is great atmosphere of local residential neighbourhood as you saw.
Thank you also for letting us know your feeling of your stay in Andon such as facilities, rooms, breakfast and so forth. We always try to provide both attractions of traditional experience and comfortable stay to our guests.

We will try to improve more and more referring to your feelings! Hope to see you again in the future!
Thank you very much once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    90
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
29
177
36
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oss, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very nice ryokan. The people are very friendly, the rooms are nice, the facilities are great. I recommend everybody to use the jacuzzi, the roof terrace and enjoy the delicious cinnamon set breakfast. Also notice the nice workshops at the reception. I personally enjoyed the origami workshop a lot, I understood the sushi workshop is really nice too.

Room Tip: Had a room on the first floor, which was pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM_NL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Jacuzzi is one of the attractions in this ryokan and we started to have some culture experience events from this year.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Origami workshop! Please join other events such as sushi making, Japanese tea ceremony, Travel Japanese lesson and so on, next time!

Thank you very much once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

What to say? It was a perfect place to stay in Tokyo and we would recommend it to anyone. It was especially nice for a couple. The facilities were amazing, the jacuzzi was particularly great! While some other reviewers say the rooms were small, it's Tokyo, everything is small. I'd say it was cozy.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aureliecotesergent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate your time in writing this very kind review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here even if it was a small room and we are also happy that you felt that it was cozy. We will try to offer a comfortable stay for our guests.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

And on Ryokan does few things, but does them very well. It is not a hotel, but ryokan – so don't expect western beds or in-suite toilets. The place is very basic and small, but clean, modern, stylish and friendly. The only thing that might be a bit of a problem if you happen to travel with heavy luggage is the location: it is about 7-10 minute walk from the closest JR station, a bit less from the metro. That being said, the place is relatively straightforward to find and in terms of value, it is certainly hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarmojuristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate your time in writing this review.

The nearest Metro station to Andon is about 5 minutes walking but as you said it takes about 10minutes by walking to get to JR station to get our place so we recommend to take Metro station.
And we understand that it’s a problem if you have JR pass. We are very sorry about the inconvenience, if someone has the pass and comimng from the JR station, you should take the map from the JR(Minami-senjyu) station to Andon because the way is conpilcated.

We glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the near future.
Thank you very much again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

When I came across this hotel while planning my trip to Tokyo I just had to stay here, even if it was just for a few days. It appealed to wanting to experience a more traditional side of Tokyo as well as the architect in me as this is a modern interpretation of a traditional ryokan. On arrival I was welcomed by a freshly made iced green tea with traditional Japanese sweets and an iced towel before taking care of the formalities. With your room you receive traditional slippers and, if you like, traditional robes to use in the hotel. The rooms are tiny and equipped with tatami mats and futons and you share the showers and bathrooms with other guests, but everything is perfectly sized and very clean. The use of modern materials and every available space is both inspiring and intriguing.
It is a bit further from the heart of Tokyo, but easily reached from the airport and on the edge of Asakusa, an older part of Tokyo. So if you are interested in that, this is a good place to stay. Even if you are not, it is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voelser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments!

We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We always try to provide both attractions of Japanese traditional experience and comfortable stay. Hope our guests enjoy seeing Japanese antique things displayed in the building and experience to stay tatami rooms. Also hope you can stay at home with clean and useful facilities. Japanese sweets and an iced towel are our new service for summer. We are happy that you liked it!

Thank you very much once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Delightful couple of days stay in Andon Ryokan at the end of our week in Japan. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms and facilities spotless and convenient, and the place itself beautiful, filled with fascinating antiques and delightfully designed.

Also the roof terrace was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninjacodemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and we are happy that we have got this kind message.

We are glad that you liked our hotel, and enjoyed your stay here.

Thank you very much again for taking the time to write this very kind review.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

this was a wonderful place to start our holiday in japan.
andon ryokan is spotlessly clean with lots of cute touches throughout.
the futon bed on traditional tatami mat was really comfy.
the private jacuzzi bath was a just what we needed after busy days of sightseeing & shopping.
the staff are so friendly & helpful - the owner works hard to make the business a success.
breakfast costs extra with various good quality options available.
minowa is a quiet area; andon is 5 mins walk from the station, and the sky tree & asakusa are within walking distance of the ryokan.
we had a really fantastic stay - thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noodleberryfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you very much, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Andon, we are always delighted to hear from our guests.

And also we are really glad that you liked our facilities them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Andon in the near future. Sincere thanks for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
#14 of 74 in Chiyoda
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
#10 of 120 in Taito
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andon Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andon Ryokan

Property: Andon Ryokan
Address: 2-34-10 Nihonzutsumi, Taito 111-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andon Ryokan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Rakuten and Priceline so you can book your Andon Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andon Ryokan Hotel Taito
Andon Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing