We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in the city”
Review of Andon Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andon Ryokan
Ranked #9 of 119 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Little gem in the city”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

When I came across this hotel while planning my trip to Tokyo I just had to stay here, even if it was just for a few days. It appealed to wanting to experience a more traditional side of Tokyo as well as the architect in me as this is a modern interpretation of a traditional ryokan. On arrival I was welcomed by a freshly made iced green tea with traditional Japanese sweets and an iced towel before taking care of the formalities. With your room you receive traditional slippers and, if you like, traditional robes to use in the hotel. The rooms are tiny and equipped with tatami mats and futons and you share the showers and bathrooms with other guests, but everything is perfectly sized and very clean. The use of modern materials and every available space is both inspiring and intriguing.
It is a bit further from the heart of Tokyo, but easily reached from the airport and on the edge of Asakusa, an older part of Tokyo. So if you are interested in that, this is a good place to stay. Even if you are not, it is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voelser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments!

We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We always try to provide both attractions of Japanese traditional experience and comfortable stay. Hope our guests enjoy seeing Japanese antique things displayed in the building and experience to stay tatami rooms. Also hope you can stay at home with clean and useful facilities. Japanese sweets and an iced towel are our new service for summer. We are happy that you liked it!

Thank you very much once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    90
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
29
177
36
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Delightful couple of days stay in Andon Ryokan at the end of our week in Japan. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms and facilities spotless and convenient, and the place itself beautiful, filled with fascinating antiques and delightfully designed.

Also the roof terrace was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninjacodemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and we are happy that we have got this kind message.

We are glad that you liked our hotel, and enjoyed your stay here.

Thank you very much again for taking the time to write this very kind review.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

this was a wonderful place to start our holiday in japan.
andon ryokan is spotlessly clean with lots of cute touches throughout.
the futon bed on traditional tatami mat was really comfy.
the private jacuzzi bath was a just what we needed after busy days of sightseeing & shopping.
the staff are so friendly & helpful - the owner works hard to make the business a success.
breakfast costs extra with various good quality options available.
minowa is a quiet area; andon is 5 mins walk from the station, and the sky tree & asakusa are within walking distance of the ryokan.
we had a really fantastic stay - thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noodleberryfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you very much, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Andon, we are always delighted to hear from our guests.

And also we are really glad that you liked our facilities them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Andon in the near future. Sincere thanks for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed for 4 nights at Andon Ryokan and we could not have been happier with our stay. We arrived early and were able to check in at 9am for 1000 yen. The staff/owner were always very friendly and helpful mailing postcards, giving good dinner recommendations. I am a big fan of modern architecture and I loved the design of Andon. Very modern and clean but still charming and inviting.
Andon is located on a quiet street on the northeast side of Tokyo. Whereas some guests may not have liked this, I considered it a plus. The neighborhood is clean, safe and there are plenty of convenience stores and a grocery store nearby. Additionally, it is a short walk from the massive Tokyo subway system which can easily get you just about anywhere.
I could go on and on about how great this place is but I will conclude by saying thay I would highly recommend Andon Ryokan to anyone. If you are consdering staying here but are on the fence-give it a shot for a night or two. You will likely want to extend your stay.
Oh, and be sure to take advantage of the jacuzzi tub. If you're not interested in the tub, simply reserve the room to use the luxurious shower!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livinghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and we are happy that we have got this kind review.
We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We try to help and give some advice if our guests have any questions to have a good trip and also for their confortable stay here.
The rooms are small but we try to provide the Japanese experiences to everyone so we are glad that you liked it.

We really hope to see you again in the future! Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed at the Andon whilst passing through Tokyo on holiday. It's very conveniently located for Minowa metro station and easily accessible for other train lines like the JR. The facilities are incredibly clean and well presented and the manager is friendly and helpful, without being at all obtrusive. We took the B&B option and the breakfast was great. Cooked fresh to order and filling. The rooms are basic, with a futon bed, but that's why you stay in a Ryokan, for the traditional experience! The rooms were air conditioned, which made a big difference during the hot rainy season, and there was free tea and coffee. The shower packed a good punch too. Fantastic value for what we paid to be so close to central Tokyo. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and we are happy that we have got this kind message.

Andon is located in a residential area so you can see local people’s life, also there are no beds (western style) in our rooms, our guests have only Japanese futon on tatami floor.
The rooms are small but we try to provide the Japanese experiences to everyone. So we are glad that you liked it.

And yes, you need to take metro (&JR) to get central city but it’s not too far from the nearest Minowa station but we understand that transportations are complicated especially for travelers so we always delighted to help if you have any questions.

Thank you very much again for your time for the review.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Andon is a really cute hotel with a lot of homey details. There's free coffee, tea or drinks any time of the day. The rooms are tiny and you'll be sleeping on futons but its really clean. There's a beautiful spa room you can rent for free by the hour with a jacuzzi and shower. It's in a quiet neighborhood a bit far from a lot of sights but still close to the subway. Wifi throughout the hotel, and rentable portable wifi for 1000 JPY.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Yes, our rooms are small but we offer some comfortable services such as free coffee, tea and Jacuzzi (reservation needed). We hope that each guest feel a home from home.
We are very happy to hear you liked our services.

As you mentioned you need to take Metro to get the nearest station Minowa but you can have an experience living in a residential area. It’s different from a big city.

And yes, we also do portable wifi rental (1,000yen and 10,000yen deposit- we have just 1ruter).
It's very useful if you need internet access when you out, it's very good.

Thank you very much again for this kind review.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely Ryokan with immaculate rooms and impeccable service. Everything has been thought of and if you manage to find something you actually need the staff go out of their way to help you find it. Amazing jacuzzi on the top floor is a great bonus! Delicious breakfasts that you can have up on the rooftop terrace. Location is a little further out but well worth the extra few train stations. Thanks for a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ng7181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and we are happy that we have got this kind message.

We are glad that you enjoyed the Jacuzzi, it’s very good to be relaxed.

And also we are happy that you liked having breakfast on the roof top. When it’s nice weather the roof top is good in the morning. In summer, it will be very hot but you enjoyed it when it’s perfect season.

We placed not in the central but we hope that our guest have an experience to living in a local and old town.

Thank you very much for taking your time for the review.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#21 of 119 in Taito
312 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Hokke Club Asakusa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
#14 of 74 in Chiyoda
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andon Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andon Ryokan

Property: Andon Ryokan
Address: 2-34-10 Nihonzutsumi, Taito 111-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andon Ryokan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Rakuten, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Andon Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andon Ryokan Hotel Taito
Andon Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing