We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonder of modern Tokyo”
Review of Andon Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andon Ryokan
Ranked #7 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonder of modern Tokyo”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We (2 adults and 2 children) booked 2 rooms for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The aesthetics of the Ryokan are amazing (considering the prices). The owner explained how she had meticulously supervised all aspects of the build - and it shows. A modern masterpiece of design. The Ryokan is small but not cramped and all staff are friendly and welcoming. Free coffee (Saeco machine) is a plus as are the evening 1 hour Welcome to Japan "lessons" which include language and food. Breakfasts are also cheap and satisfying. Well worth staying an extra couple of stops out of town to enjoy the experience of the Ryokan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SexyTaffyBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Drink is free (coffee and tea) for our guests and we hope all guests relaxed here, just like their home. Rooms are really small and most guests will surprised when they saw a room but we are happy when they feel it cozy or something like that way.

We have an event everyday except on Sunday, to know Japanese culture it's good way to try something if you are interested. Some events are free so we hope many guests join us if they have free time.

Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    86
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
28
175
33
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Andon Ryokan, we were welcomed and the ryokan was clean, comfotrable and friendly. Highly reccomended. The jaccuzi was a great perk in a budget accomodation. Location-wise it was a little out of the city centre, but good metro links to Ueno (which is linked to Narita Airport by train), and the rest of Tokyo so not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahchn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, オーナー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for writing your comment in Trip adviser.I am very happy to reading it.
I love my home town so much. Tokyo has 23 words and my home town of Minowa is in Taito word where has same as Asakusa and Ueno,too. Minowa is local area in Tokyo and it is still keeping old atmosphere fromEdo period. Taito word has 32 public baths. Among them, Andon ryokan area has over 10 public baths.
I think it is really special in Tokyo.

Thank you very much once again for staying with us. We really hope to see you again in the future!

Toshiko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed here with my brother and his friends for 5 days (during my trip in Tokyo) in August 2011.
The building is quite near from Minowa station, about 15 minutes to reach the place.
The building is not big but its comfort.
The room was clean and the share bathroom was clean. The owners was very friendly and extremely helpfull.You can use the internet for free, they provided laptops that you can use it.
You can borrow yukata for free, just ask the staff and they will give you (even help you to wear it)then you can wear it at the event. You can borrow Tokyo guide book from the staff.
We very enjoyed stay here.
I hope someday can back to Japan :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

Although our rooms are rather small, we always hope our guests enjoy the experience to stay in small cozy Japanese rooms with comfortable tatami mat and futon. That's great you enjoyed wearing yukata during your stay!
We also try to give our guests many useful information to make their stay in Japan wonderful all the time.

Thank you very much once again for staying with us. We really hope to see you again in the future!

Ryoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here for 2 days while in Tokyo and wish it had been longer. The room was clean and comfortable and staff were very welcoming and helpful. The jacuzzi was lovely and the breakfast was excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helena_sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we try to give some informations we know to help our guest's trip because we understand that it's difficult to travel in Japan, especially if it's their first visit.
We are very happy if their travel will be one of great memory in Japan.

Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.
We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in the Andon Ryokan during our trip last month to Japan. Really enjoyed the stay with my wife and daughter. Agreed the room is a bit small, but its quite cozy and really enjoyed it. Rooms are clean and the service is extremely good. Enjoyed the jacuzzi after a long and tiring day. The staff were extremely helpful and they gave us tips as to how to go to various places. Enjoyed the stay and we came back with very happy memories of a wonderful stay in Japan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Although our rooms are rather small, we always hope our guests enjoy the experience to stay in small cozy Japanese rooms with comfortable tatami mat and futon.
We also try to give our guests many useful information to make their stay in Japan wonderful all the time. Jacuzzi is one of the attractions in this ryokan and it's suitable for family stay too.

We all miss your lovely daughter! Hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you very much once again for staying with us.

Ryoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boskoop, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I found a lot of reasons to stay there: this great Japanese taste in design, with attention to detail resulted in neat,t little, tatami clad rooms with rows of red slippers in front of the black doors. It's clean and practical. There is a jakuzzi on the top floor: a feast and a bow towards the Japanese tradition of onsen bath. Even though you are asked to use the stairs to go up and down, your luggage will be delivered to your floor in an ingenious luggage lift. There is art all around. To appreciate this place you need to put it in the context: Tokyo with its very limited space and here you have an example how it can be wisely used, the traditional Japanese architecture with thin walls and tatamis all around, the clear division of space by its function: you don't enter your bedroom in the slippers you used in the bathroom, the attention to body hygiene and water and the aesthetic touch to every-day objects. It was a good experience.
I met the lady who runs it: she was an impressive example of an emancipated Japanese woman, still not so common. I was there just a few weeks after the tsunami and trouble with the Fukushima plant so there were very few tourists in Tokyo at that time, which guaranteed quietness.
Location: safe, quiet neighbourhood, best to reach by metro, probably about 10 min walk from the station, with a few convenience stores on the way. When I got there the door was closed and I had to call a number to get the attendant to open: best to agree your arrival time upfront in those less busy times. Finding it: not hard once you've been there once, but my first time I mobilized a few neighbours to assist in the search: which just adds charm to the experience as the Japanese are very kind and really try to help.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not directly facing the bathroom area to avoid the conversations and water splas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, オーナー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us about one years ago and I am happy getting your kind message.

This spring is quite busy for cheryy blossom season and I felt foreigner toulists is coming back
Tokyo much more than last year.

We spent very hard time after Tsunami that time we were heartened by the many warm get-well-wishes received from our guests like you.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Toshiko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed in Andon twice.
I think it is really nice for a couple of days. The rooms are VERY, VERY, VERY small but still very cozy. Once you lay the "futon" on the "tatami mat", you wont have more place to walk. :)
But that did not bother me at all.
I would recommend this place for backpackers or a young group, but definitely not for a family with young kids.
I will go again!

I did appreciated the awesome designs .... Pay attention to all details when you visit them... Pretty cool!

Room Tip: Book the hot tub privately.... its nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabela_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andonryokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us again and we are very happy to got this kind message.

We are so pleased that you liked futon, designs in this building and the hot tub.
As you say our rooms are small however we gald that you felt it very cozy.

And yes, it’s not good idea to choose our room if someone who need a big space for children or luggages etc. All rooms at Andon are the same size that are designed for 2 people, this is because to keep low price in Tokyo and it’s for design as well.

Sometimes our guests surprise about the size when they saw a room but we hope all guests feel home and have an experience that they usually don’t have. And if they thought it interesting or nice, we are very happy.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and sincere thanks for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
#13 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andon Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andon Ryokan

Property: Andon Ryokan
Address: 2-34-10 Nihonzutsumi, Taito 111-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andon Ryokan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Andon Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andon Ryokan Hotel Taito
Andon Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing