We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
$154
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$92
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$160
$114
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$165
$108
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
$142
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Via Inn Asakusa(Taito)(Great Value!)
$74
$40
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$150
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Agora Place Asakusa(Taito)(Great Value!)
$94
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
$234
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$210
$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
22
75
35
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
75
35
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel parksidenon smoking roomgood sized bathroomueno parkkeisei skylinerpleasant place to staytwin roomnarita airportsmell of cigarette smokeconvenient locationminute walkan updateper nighttokyo standardsbeds were comfortablebuffet breakfastclean hotel
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 143 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Hotel was easy to find upon exiting Ueno Station.We only stayed one night on our way to Hakuba, but found plenty to see on our first night and morning.Rooms are pretty compact, but not as small as I had stayed in previosly. We booked a wide twin with park view. Nioce view of park, really clean rooms and comfortable beds.Internet in room, though I am not sure of the cost.This spot is central for trains into Tokyo as well as bullet trains elsewhere. I am heading back with my family in April and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysonHolidayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Service was great. Rooms are a good size with heating. Lovely view of Ueno Park and Shinobazu pond. We asked specifically for a park view. Lots of shopping - both department stores and markets. Ueno is on the shinkansen line for northern Honshuu, and only a couple of stops to Tokyo station on the Yamanote Line. Very convenient. There is also a direct train line from Narita Airport on the Keisei Skyliner. It takes about 1 hour and is cheaper than the Narita Express.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

My spouse, myself, and my two college age kids stayed at this hotel in early June '09. This was the last place we stayed in our 2 weeks of sightseeing in Japan. We paid about $160/room for two double rooms as we could not find any 2 double bed rooms in Tokyo. This hotel is nothing fancy but very adequate. The rooms are sort of small like other rooms in Japan but very clean. They could not accomadate us with a non-smoking room but our smoking room was not bad at all. If you have your own laptop your internet is free with their LAN cable but you have to pay to use the internet if you do not have a laptop. We did not try any of the restaurants but ate breakfast at a great bakery in Ueno station and lunch and dinner around Tokyo.
The best two things about this hotel are the location and the view of the pond and city. Ueno train/subway station is only about a 5-minute walk. You can catch the loop line which loops around Tokyo, catch the Shinkansan, or take the Keisei Skyliner to the airport. I would recommend taking the Keisei to Narita even though you cannot use your JR pass. It is well worth the time and $15 cost. I would also recommend paying a few dollars extra for the park view. It is especially beautiful at night.
I would definately recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phoenix1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

A few tips about the Parkside,

1. ACCESS: Ok for access in from Narita. Take the Keisei Skyliner or if you want to save a few quid, the Keisei Limited express which takes a bit longer. Hotel 10 mins walk from Station. For travel around Tokyo, Yushima station on Chiyoda Metro Line only around the corner.

2. NOISE: Do get a room overlooking Shinobazu pond, not so much for the view but if you are on the lower floors at the rear of Hotel you do get a bit of noise late at night from the street behind the hotel which is full of 'Hostess Bars' and the like.

3. RESERVATIONS: I notice the very cheapest rooms are not available for booking on the english online reservation system but via the Japanese language site. You could probably understand this form by using the free 'Babelfish' software to translate. It won't be a 100% translation but you will get the meaning enough to answer the questions. Alternatively, just fax them your request which is what I used to do before the Parkside had online reservations.

4.BREAKFAST: When it comes to breakfast. I used to have it here and it was fine. But if you suffer badly from Jet lag it means you have to get up to eat at a time that may not suit you. Also, you tend to eat a lot at breakfast buffets which exacerbates jet lag and makes you sluggish. Consider eating a cheaper breakfast in your own time at a local cafe or in a train station where they do 'morning settos' (coffee, egg, toast) for about 500 yen.

5. UENO PARK: Ueno park opposite the hotel contains a zoo and various museums and is used by walkers/joggers. A flea market sets up there too. Set back into the trees of the park you willl see the trademark blue tarpaulin used by the unfortunate Tokyo homeless to make shelter at night which sounds offputting but I have taken early morning walks here and you often see their shoes outside their shelters and some sweeping up around their 'residence'. It's difficult to explain to a westerner the relatively ordered and safe environment it is for visitors compared to the picture it conjures up in the western mind.

AND FINALLY: sometimes on Japanese menus you will see some very literal translations into English of the dish or English terminology we would tend not to use. It would be a bit of a waste to go to Japan to eat in an Italian style restaurant (which tend to be popular with Japanese girls) but being too tired to leave the hotel I ate in Parkside's Fontana restaurant. I ordered a Pasta dish that was served with 'a Jew's ear' purely because I had no idea what a 'Jews ear' was and I was dying to see. It's a mushroom that looks like an ear and used in asian cooking (grows on the type of tree that Judas hung himself from apparently, hence the name).

Anyway, it was a new one on me and I thought it was hilariously direct but I imagine western restaurants use a 'softer' version of the name.

(By the way, the top floor bar is a nice relaxed place)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oscail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

This hotel was a perfect base for our two week honeymoon in Tokyo. We stayed in the Japanese style room with open air bath for one night - well worth it, it was amazing! The other rooms are compact and clean, the service is excellent and the location is perfect for exploring Tokyo. The only thing we didn't realise is that when they give you a breakfast coupon the night before to save you money on the hotel breakfast, you are automatically charged whether you hand over the coupon in the morning or not. So if you want a lazy morning don't get the coupon :)
If we ever go back to Tokyo we will stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rillaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews