We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location close to Ueno station”
Review of Ueno New Izu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ueno New Izu Hotel
Ranked #32 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We decided to stay at New Izu due to the location close to Ueno Station. There is a five minute walk to the station and from there you can get around all of Tokyo easily!

I stayed in a western style double room. Two beds, a couch, tv and a small desk. Not big, but large enough - I haven't travelled across the globe to spend all day at the hotel. A friend of mine stayed in a single room, and that was really small.

The hotel offer free wifi and you can get a network cable from the front desk if prefer connecting to the internet without using wifi.

They offer typical Japanese breakfast in a restaurant in the basement, I didn't try it out though. Being close to Ueno station gives you more than enough of other culinary experiences. Just outside the hotel there is a 24/7 open Lawson convenience store where you can by almost anything you need or feel a craving for.

I enjoyed the stay at New Izu and I will stay there again if I need a hotel in Tokyo!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book a double room - the size difference is worth it!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Falling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Ueno New Izu Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 215 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

this hotel is in a great location , not far from the JR Ueno station and Hibiya Metro line Ueno subway station. it may be difficult to find but for first timers, its easier if you follow the directions from their website. its along a small road.
it doesn't look great from the outside and the lobby looks a bit dated too. The rooms are small, but very clean and pretty comfortable. Don't judge a book by its cover, as they say. The service was good as the staff were helpful and courteous . And it was pretty quiet too, even though I was facing the road(which is a small and pretty quiet road) and I was just on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: first timers follow the directions to the hotel via their website. a bit difficult to find as its on...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cryspower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A very short walk from Ueno station, close to restaurants and Ueno Park. Good value for the money, provided all we needed for a short stay. Small rooms (typical anywhere in Japan) and I had a shared bathroom, but it was comfortable enough. The staff was very cheerful and helpful will handling our luggage and providing information and advice.

Room Tip: My friends had a double w/ private bathroom and I had a single w/shared bathroom. Both very very sma...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed there for five days during our trip to Japan in November 2012 after having a terrible time in another hotel in Tokyo (see my other review on this). Booked a japanese style room for two persons which met our expectations for the price we paid very well. The room included a TV, a small Refrigerator, a closet and a small table with a tea set. The bath room was suprisingly big with an extra corridor leading to a tiny toilet room. All in all very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even gave us a farewell a few wooden chopsticks as a thank you for our long stay. Nearby the hotel is a small Watson convenience store which is open 24h.
The location is an excellent base from which to explore Toyko. Nearby you will find beautiful Ueno park, Akihabara and Asakusa. All acessible by feet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Montana39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Having read the reviews about this hotel, I was not disappointed, It was well placed easy to find using the directions, stayed 5 days in this hotel, i stayed in the small bedroom with no window, that was the only bad part but I knew it had no window when I booked. Having no natural light at all I slept inn a couple of mornings. The staff were helpful the room was spotless very clean. You can use the computer in the lobby for free, you can hire bikes also. Great place highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesliePearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed here for about a week while in Tokyo. I thought the room was excellent for the price. It was very clean and although it was small, it had everything I needed. Additionally, the staff were very friendly and I really enjoyed the location. The hotel is very close to Ueno Park and Ameyoko market which offers an array of restaurants and local flavor. I would stay here again -- recommended!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a semi-double room with the typical Japanese business hotel setup. Room was somewhat smaller than other rooms we stayed in. It included TV, refrigerator, desk, clock, yukata, bath supplies and tea set. Room was very clean and all facilities worked well.

No WiFi in the room, but staff supplied LAN cable. Their Internet system blocked outgoing ports which might be a problem for some - it denied access to certain sites I tried to access.

Location is very good - a few blocks from the JR Ueno station.

Facility includes laundry room and is next door to a Lawson convenience store.
Staff was helpful and capable in English.

Room Tip: Be careful with choosing a room. Some are small, others are closet-like.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w1sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Tohoku
Hotel New Tohoku
#83 of 122 in Taito
91 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Ueno
Hotel New Ueno
#56 of 122 in Taito
77 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
#10 of 122 in Taito
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#26 of 122 in Taito
218 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Guest1 Uenoekimae
Hotel Guest1 Uenoekimae
#31 of 122 in Taito
88 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#16 of 122 in Taito
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ueno New Izu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ueno New Izu Hotel

Address: 3-13-1 Higashiueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Taito
Price Range: $54 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ueno New Izu Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ueno New Izu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ueno New Izu Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing