We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting and cheap”

Ameyoko Shopping Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.58*
and up
Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #13 of 318 things to do in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting and cheap”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Ameyokocho consists of many shops selling all kinds of stuff such as fruits, seafood, snacks, bags, shoes as well as eateries. Many shops selling bags/shoes have people standing on chairs shouting sale details. It is an extremely lively and crowded street. There are also many shops selling kaisen don which are surprisingly cheap, many dons with uni and ikura are selling for less than 1,000 yen. I also got some snacks from one of the many snacks shop. A really nice place to go to for some cheap snacks and food shopping. The entrance is right outside the Shinobazu exit of the JR Ueno station.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kumamonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    843
    392
    49
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Low prices”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have visited Ameyoko for the second time. I like this shopping street as we can buy Japanese seaweed sheets, handbags, clothes, various and tasty Furikake (condiments) with lower prices. If you can speak mandarin, you can bargain with some Chinese vendors there, so you could bargain.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Glimpse of Local Japanese Life”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Ameyoko Shopping Street is a long street with many side-streets filled with fresh seafood, produce, cheap eateries, clothes, souvenirs, and just about anything else you can think of. It's almost like Seattle's Pike Place but on a much smaller scale, a highly sensory experience! This is the place to go to sample local treats, buy fresh food, and eat rice bowls and other quick eats for as low as 500 YEN (about $5 USD) or less. A definite must-see that you will not find on typical travel brochures!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thedaywetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“cheap, cheap, cheap.”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Im from Malaysia and the price for branded sport shoes such as Nike, Timberland, Reebok etc are soo expensive, here however, it is HALF and sometimes 70% cheaper. almost as cheap as US outlet price. And they are ORiginal!! not fake like in Thailand shpping area. I was amazed with the crazy variety of boots, shoes, food selection and sport branded items.

I will definitely come back to Tokyo with more money for a lot more shopping experience. Yes indeed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rabiatul Adawiy... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good market but beware”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Lots of interesting stalls with mainly food, clothing and accessories. Typical asian market atmosphere. Prices are not a bargain but affordable enough. It was very easy to get to as it is right next to 2 stations. Definitely worth a visit as it is unique with lots of different things to look at.

However, exercise caution. While my 18 year old sister was taking photos of the market, a random man jumped at her and forcefully grabbed the camera strap around her neck and would not let go even with 3 of us yanking at his hands and trying to shove him away. Only a bite to his hand made him let go. A stall owner came to our aid while the man stalked around the stall shouting and glaring and trying to approach us for 20 minutes. The language barrier was a problem but I don't think he was quite right in the head. Be careful
when taking photos; he may be a regular local shopper there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aytakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ameyoko Shopping Street also viewed

 

Been to Ameyoko Shopping Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing