We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express
Ranked #78 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Toyoko Inns typically cater to Japanese businessmen but this one has its fair share of tourists for what it's worth. Like all Toyoko Inns, the rooms are small, beds are firm (hard), rooms are clean, breakfast is included, checkout is at 10AM and the staff is friendly, professional with varying proficiency in English. There is also a shuttle that takes you to Ueno JR station in the mornings and late afternoons. I don't know if they take you back though.
Oh, and this inn is located within walking distance of Asakusa station on the Tsukuba Express line, not the other Asakusa stations. A walk to the other Asakusa stations such as on the Asakusa line is more like a twenty minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephua88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 108 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have stayed here 4 nights. I wished though that the staff could speak more English, som of them can. My room no. 713 was very small but worked out very well. Here you can choose wether you want your room cleaned every day or not.
There is free WiFi and the breakfast is not the same every day. It is Japanese breakfast so no continental breaksfast here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan-Tuyet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have stayed with my wife at this hotel for a total of 3 nights (one stay of 1 night and another stay of 2 nights). This review is valid for both stays.

The room

One of the smallest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in, but is was just enough for us. We only needed bed, shower, toilet and breakfast so that's what we got. The offer is fair if you do not have great requirements from a hotel. There would be some problems with the window, it is not soundproof, therefore the sounds from outside (traffic, wind, etc.) can be heard inside the room. The internet connection was simply not working, the signal from the access point was powerful, but there was no forther connectivity. Maybe some larger bandwidth would help. Also, the hotel could really replace those uncomfortable keys with some access cards which would be much easier to handle.

The staff

They may look busy, but they look so because they really are busy. Nevertheless, whenever we had a matter to discuss with them, they have been at any time respectful and willing to help us.

The breakfast

Rice. Rice everywhere. Some more meat would be great (salami, sausages, ham or something similar) and those boiled eggs would have been really good if they weren't cold. Another inconvenient would be the breakfast area: that space is simply too small and it can happen that you do not find a free chair. There are 25 square meters for breakfast while there are about 120 rooms in the hotel.

The conclusion is that this hotel is suitable for the ones trying to save some money while visiting Tokyo.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Călin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at more than 5 Toyoko Inn hotels so far and even though the hotel chain is a no-frills business hotel, we always had acceptable and pleasant service from the front desk. But the front desk staff at this hotel are borderline rude and unhelpful.
This hotel has very limited parking slots, emphasis on "limited". We never had to reserve a parking space at the other Toyoko Inns we had stayed at in the past and we thought that we could just drive up to this one and get a parking space. When I gave them a call hours before we got there, the front desk staff told us that there's no more available parking space for us and that we had to find parking somewhere else nearby that would cost us about 15,000yen minimum for an 18-hour stay! When we told them that that was too expensive for us (and that it was more expensive than a one-night stay at this hotel), they said that there's nothing they could do and it seemed like they weren't willing to help us with the dilemma. When we arrived at the hotel, the staff gave us a map of the vicinity with notations on parking lots in the area. We circled around for almost an hour looking for a reasonably-priced parking space but all of the parking lots had a "special price" for the New Year's holiday week. We went back to the hotel frustrated and ready to cancel our booking and just head back home. The staff we were talking with earlier told us that if we cancel, we would be charged for a one-night stay. We also saw an empty parking space in the hotel premises and when we inquired, the staff said that it was reserved for the owner. We offered to pay extra to park there. We were practically begging by that time. The staff still said no. Suddenly and totally unexpected, the other on-duty staff who had been listening in to the whole thing piped in and said that we could use the handicap parking space in front of the hotel. And to add to our bewilderment at the sudden turn of events, he could speak English quite well! We were having difficulty communicating in Japanese with the other staff when they had this guy who could speak English just standing there and not jumping in to assist foreign guests! But we were so relieved to finally get a parking space that we decided to overlook this "delayed assistance" and readily accepted the parking space offered. Also, the staff didn't greet us when we got back to the hotel later that night and there weren't any other guests in the lobby that time.
Really disappointed with the customer service at this hotel. Too bad, because this hotel has a very good location close to Sensoji temple.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Achie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Location not too far away by feet from Asakusa attractions (temple area, shopping centers, Sky tree). Lots of restaurants both cheap and enjoyable nearby. Hotel itself basic, clean and flauntless. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcpointcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

hotel is quite a distance from iriya station or tawaramachi station. although the tsukuba express' asakusa station exit 2 is nearer, there is still quite walk underground to reach the station. ladies are offered a free gift on check-in. we stayed in a twin room and it is smallest compared to the other hotels we stayed in japan, not to mention the bathroom. fortunately there is space underneath the beds that can accomodate big suitcases and backpacks. the water boiler is a metal mug. there is a balcony that can be open. hotel breakfast is simple but nice, there were japanese rice rolls, pickles, vegetables, miso soup, bread, tea/coffee. hotel is clean and has internet pc + printer at lobby. there is also coin-operated wachine machine and dryer. 24 hours convenience stores are around the hotel. kappabashi and sensoji temple are within walking distance. we left for haneda after our stay, and there is no airport bus in that area. we took tsukuba express (asakusa) to change at akibahara (jr yamanote line) and hamamatsu (monorail) to haneda. you can buy single ticket to haneda at akibahara (ticket including jr and monorail).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

I have stayed at a few Toyoko Inns and while none of them could be considered great most could be said to have very good service and the staff perform their duties well. At this hotel, during this stay, I can say that they do not seem as on the ball as their counterparts. We booked 8 consecutive nights with this hotel and they made us change rooms during this stay. The cleaning staff also left behind dirty rags that they obviously used to clean our room. The cleanliness was also not on par with the other chains and the hotel is older. One of the cooks the one morning was coughing up a storm as she prepared the breakfast. I am not talking about a cough or two - I am talking about constant hacking. Yuck.

The hotel also did not play the English movies consistently from night to night (some times they would play on an endless loop, sometimes not at all). One night, after being frustrated that the movie did not play the night before (my wife and I are not party people so we do not stay out too late and like to get up early to go sightseeing) we asked first what time it would be on. They said 10pm. Ten minutes past ten we call down because it had not started and they said they would. They only played (half of) the special features. We called again. They started it. For some reason, this was the only one that has ever been this way, but this one was only in Japanese (though it was a western movie), We called down again. Oh yes, they tell us, it is only in Japanese. Why the heck did they not bother telling us this the three times previously when we asked about the movie? (And it was at least 2 different front desk clerks that we talked to.) Now really, I do not care that much about the movie being in Japanese - we are in Japan. But when all the other ones were in English, from all our other stays (17 nights, 5 different Toyoko Inns) and when they wasted our time by making us ask about the movie when it was clear that we would not be able to understand it, and when we could have made other entertainment plans for a couple of hours (since there really is NOTHING at all else to do in this hotel or even in the immediate area), yeah, that bothers me.

Overall the hotel was adequate but left a lot to be desired and we would have been better off spending an extra 3000 yen a night.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khhguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Toyoko Inn Uenotawaramachi Station
Ueno, Asakusa
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#20 of 122 in Taito
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sunroute Asakusa
Hotel Sunroute Asakusa
#50 of 122 in Taito
135 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Central Hotel
Asakusa Central Hotel
#34 of 122 in Taito
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express

Address: 1-15-1 Senzoku, Taito 111-0031, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range: $65 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express Hotel Taito
Toyoko Inn Taito
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing