We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tokyo Convenience”
Review of Via Inn Asakusa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Via Inn Asakusa
Ranked #24 of 119 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Tokyo Convenience”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This low key hotel was perfect for our first explorations of Tokyo. Easy walking to underground trains and close to the Senso-ji Temple and the shops of Nakamise-dori. Plenty of restaurants to choose from too. The hotel is unpretentious but efficient with friendly staff. The room was a reasonable size for Japan and clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_MtEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    215
    59
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
76
91
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our first trip to japan and we had no idea where we were going! thankfully the hotel was easy to find and it turns out asakusa is near to everywhere! the hotel staff were friendly and always helpful. the restaurant staff used a translator to tell us what we were eating when we asked (i thought this was a really good idea!) the cleaning staff were always bang on time and if we didnt want our room made up always left more than enough towels, kimono's, slippers, toothbrushes, shavers, green tea and tooth paste for us. they was vending machines on every other floor and near by were plenty of convenience stores near by. we loved it! were planning on coming back already and we'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: we had a twin deluxe room, if your not from japan thats the biggest size room your gonna get in japa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondepaterson91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our first trip to Japan and we were very pleased with the Blue Wave Asakusa and the surrounding area. The temple and market area were very close by and the subway stations to other parts of Tokyo were a 5 minute walk. The room seemed a reasonable size for Tokyo and was very modern and well kept. We were happy with our stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our first night in Japan, we spent one night in Tokyo before moving on to Kyoto. We took the Keisei Skyliner to Ueno station. The hotel is a short subway ride away, but we were tired and decided to take a short taxi ride instead. This hotel was the best priced of anywhere we stayed in Japan, so we weren't expecting too much. We were pleasantly surprised by every aspect of this hotel. It was clean, convenient to restaurants and shopping, and a very short walk to Senso-ji Temple. We had a view of part of the temple complex from our room. The bed was comfortable, the room a decent size for Japan, and the shower was good. The free Wi-Fi only worked in the lobby, but that was fine for our short stay. As far as the hotel staff, we only spoke to them while checking in and out, but everyone was pleasant and helpful with directions, etc. At the end of our trip to Japan, we stayed for a couple nights in Shinjuku, but we far preferred the Asakusa area, it had a lot more character. We plan on returning to Japan, and when we are in Tokyo, we will definitely stay in Asakusa and seek out this hotel in particular. It was a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Love the hotel definitely!

Stayed at the hotel for 4d3n. Took the twin room so it had ample space for me my hubby n daughter. Located near to Asakusa Temple. . Like 5mins walk. Near to train stations and near to Tokyo Skytree.

If you wish to come to asakusa/ nippori/ ueno.. stay here. It's really convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyrora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I enjoyed my 7 nights at the Blue Wave Inn. Neigbhourhood is absolutely great and very close to the subway station. (I loved Asakusa and Ueno best of all parts of Tokyo),
Rooms are a decent size, bed was comfortable, hot water pressure great.
Internet (lan, a connector is available in the room) is included and never failed me.
The hotel has a restaurant, I never used it, but the menu looked tasty.
Not a lot of channels on tv, but you can buy a tv card if you want.
My floor had a vending machine for soft drinks as well as beer.
I would stay again on a next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have had more than 15- 12 day stays at Blue Wave Inn and found the staff extremly helpful and friendly..I usually arrive at about 9am book in time is 3 pm but they look after your baggage until
you return and book in..Room was always clean and comfortable..The Hotel is in an ideal location
less than 5 min. walk from Sensoji, Nakamise dori also hany to Ginza Line subway station..
Rates are very reasonable..I have never haqd any problems at all..Thank you Blue Wave Inn..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monty3134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#21 of 119 in Taito
312 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
#20 of 119 in Taito
269 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Hokke Club Asakusa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Central Hotel
Asakusa Central Hotel
#37 of 119 in Taito
146 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Super Hotel Asakusa
Super Hotel Asakusa
#34 of 119 in Taito
127 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
#5 of 119 in Taito
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Via Inn Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Via Inn Asakusa

Property: Via Inn Asakusa
Address: 2-33-7 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 119 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Via Inn Asakusa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Via Inn Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Wave Inn Asakusa Hotel Taito
Blue Wave Hotel Asakusa
Via Inn Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing