We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Edo Sakura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Edo Sakura
Ranked #2 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about The Edo Sakura...I loved my experience, my room (traditional Japanese style), the inn was immaculately clean and extremely quiet.
This should not however be classified as a 'Bed & Breakfast' because breakfast was NOT included, it was an additional charge.
Better directions or perhaps even a shuttle service to and from the local subway and/or train station would have been great. Most locals only speak Japanese, therefore communication to locate the inn was challenging to say t he least...
The entire staff were grand, Yoko and Koyo were excellent, went over and beyond the call of duty and spoke very good English-which was a definite advantage. I loved Yoko's energy, enthusiasm assistance and explanation of local customs and traditions.
Would I go back to Japan; possibly ? I would most certainly stay again at The Edo Sakura.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyhillory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    76
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
84
131
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A lovely new Japanese style boutique hotel situated in Shitaya. Easy to locate when coming from Iriya station.

Location: A short 3-4 min walk to Iriya station on the Hibiya line. To get to JR Uguisudani station takes about 11 min once you've figured out the best route. Getting to most tourist locations requires a change of train. A few restaurants nearby. However, for more choice, make your way to Ueno. Several small supermarkets nearby.

Hotel: Built in traditional style which is maintained throughout the establishment and not just the exterior and rooms. I love the design. See the official website: what you see there is what you get. It's also new and spanking clean.

Staff: Friendly and polite. The younger staff managing the counter all speak English.

Rooms: We stayed in a 6 mat type A (18 sq m) Japanese style room. The room was typical Japanese style: simply yet nicely decorated. Safe, fridge, TV, kettle and tea are provided. Nice size toilet by Japanese standards. Toiletries and hairdryer provided. Very, very quiet at all times of the day.
Bedding was fine but the pillow was a bit too firm for my liking. Free wifi worked well throughout our 6 day stay and for multiple devices.

Meals: Breakfast is between 500-800 yen. The Japanese breakfast at 800 yen is reasonable value, tasty and quite substantial.

Laundry: Washer and dryer are available for 500 yen per use.

Misc: Didn't try to public bath as we stayed during a hot spell. During our stay, the majority of the guests were Caucasians although we did see a few Asians guests.

Recommend: I highly recommend this for anyone who would like to stay in a Japanese style accommodation rather than a generic hotel. Also for a quiet place, free from the smell of cigarette smoke.

Don't recommend: If you want to stay near a major subway station and restaurants.

I will definitely stay there again when I travel for leisure / pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mum912846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our first visit to Tokyo. We had a wonderful stay at the Edo Sakura Ryokan. The place is very clean and very quiet. We stayed in a Japanese style room which was a great experience, we slept really well on our futons on the floor! The staff were very helpful. We had the full Japanese breakfast which was delicious. It may seem a little out of town, but realistically wherever you stay in Tokyo you have to go on the subway so it wasn't an issue. The Irya station is a 5 minute walk and this line is very convenient and takes you amongst other things directly to the fish market. Ueno is nearby with many places to eat, street stalls and vibrant at night with the Ameyoko markets. Definitely recommend this Ryokan

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElizabethR4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a really lovely place, its nice on the outside and inside. Stayed in a traditional Japanese room and was really interesting, first time sleeping in futon. Really think everyone should try the Japanese style bedroom! It's so beautiful inside! And had a good sleep! We got to wear Yukata and walk about the hotel in it as well. There's a subway close by or a train a wee bit further. Transport is really good. The people that work here are all very nice and helpful. Will definitely want to stay here again! But I thought it was a bit expensive but I did go during summer and booked it quite last minute.

There was a public bath sort of place there. I was expecting it to be really big. It was fun for the experience for me, because I think I got an allergic reaction afterwards.

The breakfast was not as good as I expected, but still was nice. Think they should do more variety of the breakfast available especially the Japanese set.

Think the downfall is the location. It was quite hard to find, our taxi didn't even notice it and went past it. And cause of the neighborhood it's quite dark and was hard to find the way the first night.

Room Tip: Should try the Japanese Style Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FYH713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our first ever visit to Japan for our young family of 4, booked at short notice, had me dealing with the first difficulty - finding good accommodation in Tokyo at short notice! Luckily a search of trip advisor turned up the Edo Sakura, which had been operating less than a month (Google earth shows the location as a building site!). As first time visitors, it had everything we wanted: Japanese style rooms with tatami mats and futons, comfortable despite being quite compact, and well appointed. Each room had own shower and toilet, small tv, and free (fast) wifi. Quiet and friendly neighbourhood, an elementary school across the road, was nice watching parents dropping off their youngsters to school (no noise from the school at all). A short walk to the Iriya subway station south exit, a convenience store just around the corner. Three options available for breakfast ranging from budget to satisfying, all Japanese style, and served in the common dining area by very enthusiastic and engaging staff. No major language issues, English well understood by all the staff we dealt with. Very happy to find the Edo Sakura and will seek it out if we return to Tokyo.

Room Tip: We liked the Japanese style rooms we had (303 and 304), it was part of the experience for us. Wester...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TropoBone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBILE
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I spent the night of July 2,2013 at the Edo. Extremely impressed. One stop (Iriya) from Ueno Station, and a short walk...8-10 minutes. Nobu checked me in and showed me my room, I think 305. Very clean room, western bath. Two chairs without legs and a table. Included a folder with easy instructions for the bed/futon and robe. I slept like a king on that futon! Provided a breakfast ($) ; computer in the attractive lobby; special door for after-hours entry. Quiet neighborhood w/a 24hr mini mart very close. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldwideTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week on a holiday with friends. The hotel is located close to the Iriya metro station, which makes transport to some of the major districts such as Taito and Ginza extremely easy.

The hotel offers the complete service in terms of attitude, communication (very good English), hygiene, room size, and price (cheap in Tokyo). I particularly liked the Japanese suites so if you don't mind sleeping on Tatami (thin mattress will be provided) then it's highly recommended.

Simply put, this is a fantastic place to stay.

One slight drawback is the limited selection of restaurants in the surrounding area. There're lots of small family restaurants that don't speak much/any English but luckily one of my friends is proficient in Japanese so we could get by easily. Alternatively, good selection of restaurants are just 5 min metro ride away.

Room Tip: Take a Japanese Suite for the complete experience, there are also western style rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NOD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edo Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edo Sakura

Property: The Edo Sakura
Address: 3-2-13 Shitaya, Taito 110-0004, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edo Sakura 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Edo Sakura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edo Sakura Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing