We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tempura!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tempura Fukuoka

Tempura Fukuoka
Ranked #872 of 4,184 Restaurants in Taito
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Ueno, Asakusa
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great tempura!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

The tempura was great. The batter is nice and light, especially compared to what I normally get back home in the states. The ingredients are very fresh. The place is small and only seats a handful of people at a time. The building is a nice traditional Japanese building, not one of those big modern places. It's expensive so be ready for the cost. Lunch might be a better option as it's much cheaper.

Helpful?
1 Thank blsnwbrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“good tempura”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Taste different than the usual tempura rice I have tried ... The special thing about this is the sauce that they use. The tempura rice tempura is not very crispy but really it's the sauce that makes it special.

This restaurant is opened for more than 100 yrs.. And u need to line up for lunch time ( arrive before 1130 to skip the line up)

A must try in the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious, couldn't stop eating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I had such a lovely evening at Tempura Fukuoka. They were really friendly and welcoming and cooked the best tempura I've ever had, really light and tasty. All the sides of rice, miso soup etc. were all beautifully presented and delicious.
I ended up ordering twice as much as I originally ordered... bit greedy but it was just too good!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A must go to for tempura lovers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Had the most extraordinary dinner here last night!

I'm not a lover of fish so they basically made an entire menu for me! Shrimp and veggie tempura came bit by bit, prepared in front of you.

I also had tempura mozzarella in a mushroom broth was by far the best Japanese cooking I have ever eaten!

Was fantastic. Sat at a bar table and watched the cooking right before my eyes!

The chef and his wife speak English and most importantly they have cold draught beer on tap!

The chef was previously a tempura chef to Japanese VIP in New York.

I had about 6 courses of tempura, the broth and 3 beers came to 4000 yen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Archipeligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, food, and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a sweet find, in a tiny little spot near the Tokyo Ryokan, look for 'From New York' in English on their sign. Chef spent 30 years in NYC running a restaurant in a jazz club, and has brought his love of jazz and personally prepared local food back home to retire. Had an interesting conversation with he and his wife in their broken English and our very bad Japanese, while they fed us a leisurely tapas-style meal of light, melt in your mouth tempura-fried fish and veggies.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikslush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tempura Fukuoka also viewed

 

Been to Tempura Fukuoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing