We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Retrometro Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
$148
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$241
$165
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$133
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$179
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$93
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$305
$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Via Inn Asakusa(Taito)(Great Value!)
$127
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Agora Place Asakusa(Taito)(Great Value!)
$155
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
My Stays Asakusabashi(Taito)(Great Value!)
$95
$90
MYSTAYS Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
28
17
10
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
17
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscozy placestayed longersmall streetother guestsasakusa areahostelbedsfacilitiestokyotrainsupermarketbudgetueno
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 57 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I really liked this hostel, it's really small and cosy with lovely welcoming hosts and a nice area downstairs to drink tea and chat with other travellers. The breakfast is very tasty and filling and good value at 300 yen

I was in the female only dorm and really liked the individual privacy curtains round each bed - I don't know why more hostels don't have them, it makes such a difference.

The only negative was there's no door on the dorms so you can hear noise from outside but it's not too much of an issue as it's a small hostel.

Make sure you print out a map so you can find the hostel too as it's on one of the backstreets

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Wonderful little hostel, very cosy, well maintained, and very friendly staff.

HOWEVER - it is definitely worth mentioning the difficulty we had in finding it - we had only just arrived in Japan, were exhausted, and spent over an hour wandering around the streets.... Make sure you print out a good map and start walking in the right direction when leaving Tawaramachi station - especially as no-one in the area has heard of the hostel!

Once there, however, it's a lovely little place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank endalemie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few nights in October 2013.

It was clean and a great place to meet fellow minded travellers/backpackers.

Price was very competitive given the location.

Staff friendly and extremely willing to help whenever we had any question.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NomadicBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Location is a bit hard to find but its OK. Retrometro is a very small hostel and in good design. however, there is no door in the dorm room and the toilet is just nearby, you will expect the noise in midnight. There is also no curtain on the window side which make you wake you very early morning. Apart from those, it is a nice and clean hostel, by considering the price, I shouldn;t complain that much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bari_ttc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing hostel, it's very small and has 16 (ISh) beds. The whole hostel is cleaned every single day and this shows in the fact that it looks brand new. Decent price, excellent host. Nae- the owner, is very helpful and speaks good English. I was only supposed to stay for one night but it was so nice I stayed for three

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annamaflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews