We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice kitchen stuffs”

Kitchen Town (Kappabashi)
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.06*
and up
Asakusa and Ryogoku Walking Tour with Sumo Wrestler
Ranked #10 of 291 things to do in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The stores in this neighborhood sell kitchen equipment and paper supplies to the city's restaurants. Of note are the specialty plastic food items, which are placed in restaurant windows to show passersby what goodies are being served inside.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice kitchen stuffs”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice shops to buy kitchen wear. Nice shops, tens of tehm, cafes, and high energy, as you would fine anwhere in Tokyo. The staff usually does not speak much english though

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pierre6123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    433
    149
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pottery for everybody”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

if you have time..check out Kappabashi. I can spend an afternoon here shopping for pottery. you will even see the "fake plastic" food that the restaurants display. something for everyone! crowded on weekends..best to go on weekday if possible. Metro information.. Ginza Line. Tawaramachi Station...exit 3

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Robin509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Tokyo”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

There is just so much to see here, and the restaurant industry here has more stars than Paris and New York combined. So you can imagine they use some pretty cool stuff in their cooking. I LOVE looking through this area, and it is accessible to common people as the cookie cutter selection is outrageous, as is reasonably priced ceramics and mugs. Don't worry, they will painstakingly wrap everything for the plane (by plane in Japanese=hikoki de, also presento works for saying it will be a gift).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
505 reviews
376 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Fun for someone decorating a kitchen”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lots of kitchenware and actually a very fun street. There is nothing to eat which is ironic. Lots of interesting people. You have not llived till you have seen a lady in high heels and a fork costume.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misousri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“One of the most FUN places I visited in Tokyo”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I visited Kappabashi one of the days my husband was busy and I was on my own. After being disappointed with the Tsukiji fish market [dark and dirty] I wondered about this destination. Not to Worry – it was a BLAST!

First – how to get there. Take the Ginza line to Tawaramachi station and go out Exit #3. Immediately turn right and right again at the corner. You are on Asakusa Ave. Walk 3 blocks and turn right onto Kappabashi dori . You will see the big chef’s head.

The shops line both sides of the street for several blocks. There were shops that catered just to bakers, cooking, plastic food, knives [gorgeous and expensive] ,chop sticks, and lots of great pottery places. I bought a specific kind of dumpling sieve I could not get in the states. This was also the best place I found for gift packs of chop sticks. I paid 300 yen for a 5 pack of very nice unadorned wooden ones. I think this is a great place to buy gifts. If I could have carried back platters and bowls I would have – they were lovely and not expensive. The shop owners were helpful and more than willing to give me their business cards so I could keep track of where I had seen items I wanted to go back for. This was important as there were so many places, sensory overload set in.

As a fanatic cook, I just loved Kappabashi!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank stltraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen Town (Kappabashi) also viewed

 

Been to Kitchen Town (Kappabashi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing