We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Agora Place Asakusa
Ranked #23 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
229 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable hotel”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My regular accommodation in Asakusa (the Ryokan Kamagawa) was full, so I went with this instead. The room was small, but clean and tidy. The best was very soft and comfortable (I was upgrade to a double, which was great). Staff were friendly and helpful.

I didn’t like the “no frills” attitude of the hotel, which even meant paying extra for hand soap….seemed a bit too cheapo. Plenty of stuff is available in reception to buy or rent. Internet, a kettle, air con and towels are included thou! I wasn’t about to check in until 3pm, and check out is at 11am. You can pay Y1000 more an hour to extent the room, which I thought was pretty expensive. My view was of the neighbouring building’s fire escape.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    162
    54
    6
    6
See reviews for
42
107
62
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We were so pleased with Agora Place; the location was perfect (30 seconds from metro stop, in a lovely quiet area. 10 minutes walk to Sensoji Temple. We went here at night which was magical!)
The room was small, but so clean and modern that it was perfect. There were great thoughtful touches such as flexible reading lights and power point at the head of the bed, fabric / air freshner, cute little fridge and a safe.
The staff were friendly and welcoming and we would definitely recommend as a base for exploring Tokyo!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Satying at this hotel was a joyful experience. Locating it at first was difficult, but after that it was so easy to navigate all over tokyo! The subway is approximately 200 metres away from the hotel and took maybe 10 minutes by subway to reach the heart of Tokyo, Shibuya. The staff was very helpful with maps, subway and bus information. The rooms are small but you can not expect much more in Tokyo!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Three nights in a small double. Yes it is a small room but the bed is just about OK for two small sized Brit adults. Makes keeping eveythng tidy a must. Bathroom not as small as feared. If you are used to American or Australian rooms you will find it cramped. But service was excellent - they changed feather pillows for foam without any fuss. We didn't use any rental items - you may went a cushion or two and the rates are OK once you overcome the shock of Tokyo prices. The location s excellent. We walked there from ASAKUSA station, which you can get to from Narita by fast train direct on Keisei line. The nearest subway station is just at the corner - about 40 metres away. If you are prepared to be in close proximity with each other then totally recommend for a couple. Air con was great, plenty of room in fridge although very limited clothes hanging space. The great Kanon shrine is ten mins walk away - and a fab walk at that. Plenty of convenience stores all around for teabags, milk etc. Try the Doutors coffee shop about two mins away - exit, turn left, cross main road and it's 50 metres up on the left. They have English menu.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkDada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

OK, I will start out by agreeing/affirming that the rooms are small. The website pretty much gives you fair warning of that. And Tokyo is generally very expensive, so judging by economies of scale (Y18,500/AU $205) for 3 nights for a single room was a bit of a bargain.

The bed was really comfortable, and the bathroom, despite being so small I couldn't reach the sink without leaning at an angle, had a great shower with a choice of normal or rainforest shower. Not bad for a mini set up - like a bathroom on a cruise liner (a hook to hang towels on would be an improvement though). As someone pointed out, you can't fill a kettle in the bathroom sink. I have had that happen in 5 star hotels - you just use a glass or a cup and fill it up that way...! Some people, sheesh!! ;-)

The staff were really friendly, although the one thing I wouldn't rate is the cafe attached to it. I turned up to breakfast at 9.25, thinking it was on until 11 (as per their sign) and they were packing up all the food - even after making me walk to the reception to buy a voucher. I got a dodgy coffee and they made me a burger (yes, a burger in a bun with lots of mustard as breakfast - I wasn't asked what I would like) for my Y800. I then grabbed a coffee the next morning and couldn't drink it. Just walk on up towards Senso-ji and grab some ramen or katsu. Easily fixed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjisaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I booked my stay after abandoning plans to continuously travel across Japan. For the price, I don't see how anyone can complain. The room had free WiFi,a kettle, a fridge and a safe. It is in a superb location right on the ginza subway line and ten minute walk from the temple. Staff were extremely friendly and spoke good English which really put me at ease. The rooms are small but if you are travelling alone or as a couple you will be too busy sightseeing to care! The hotel will rent you all kinds of things such as ipads, iron etc at a decent price if you want them, and there are convenience stores on the same street which sell everything you need. The air-con is loud but I don't think it would really keep anyone awake at night. I was super impressed and would recommend the hotel to anyone :)

Room Tip: If you can afford a double room as a single traveller go for it as you will love the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koriyama, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Some comments of the hotel:
- The hotel location is right near the asakusa line subway and 24-hours convenience store.
- The housekeeping is full-responsible but never accept tips :))
- The staff is friendly

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CHUN250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Hokke Club Asakusa
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
#20 of 120 in Taito
269 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#26 of 120 in Taito
209 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#41 of 120 in Taito
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Place Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Place Asakusa

Property: Agora Place Asakusa
Address: 2-2-9 Kotobuki, Taito 111-0042, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agora Place Asakusa 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in July 2012, AGORA PLACE ASAKUSA is a stylishly designed limited service hotel in Tokyo.Just 2-minute walk from Tawaramachi Station, 10-minute walk from the Senso-ji Temple. The hotel has modern air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, refrigerator,safe, bathroom with a hairdryer, slippers, nightwear and amenities are available for an extra cost.The friendly staff can provide local information. Computers are available for use in the lobby and iPads can be rented at the front desk.Guests can use the coin laundry, or request dry cleaning. The hotel also has a vending machine for soft drinks and alcohols. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Agora Place Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Place Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing