We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Agora Place Asakusa
Ranked #23 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Being a deal for $60 a night the motel was reasonable. The staff were helpful and let us keep our bags there after checkout. It was close to the subway and great restaurants. To keep the price down, items that are usually complimentary, like soap, tea and coffee and robes were extras. However, free wifi was a pleasing surprise, even if the connection wasn't the best. The room wasn't well cleaned and a stain on the mattress protector was off putting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stretch2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    157
    54
    6
    6
See reviews for
40
105
62
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was traveling as a backpacker for months and I stayed at this hotel with a friend of mine.
The value was great for my budget.
The room was very small, but it is Tokyo´s rules, right? It was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
And the location is also nice, once the hotel is close to the subway station.
I would recommend for everyone who wants to visit Tokyo with comfort sleep, on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toyama, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We arrived in this hotel at 10:30 pm coming from a tiring flight via Narita from Osaka. We opted for this room as I have surfed thru the net that the hotel location is just perfect for our trip to Skytree. We took three rooms for a 4night 5days stay and as we approached the reception, a receptionist by the name of [--] did not even bother to greet us nor glance at our face while (being so busy w/ his laptop and doesn't want to be bothered!) uttering "Passport, pls!" I handed all our japanese passports and as just as he found out that we are all natives, uttered again in japanese "oh, i thought you're foreigners, we ask passports if foreigners!" Duhh!! we don't need to hear any discriminating remarks!.. Almost all amenities are displayed in the reception hall, they are for sale or for rent as what the tags say and it's all explained in their website, got that! the reason why room rates are not that expensive.. nor was it cheap by japanese standard neither. I chose and picked 5 sleeping gowns for rent, He uttered in japanese again "Hey that's not free.. That's for rent!" in which I shouted back in japanese "I know!" That was so disgusting, of an ill-mannered receptionist who has attitude problem and is ignorant of the employee manuals on treating his hotel guests w proper decorum! Rooms are very small, no cabinets, just a hook on the wall, only towels are in the bathroom, no other amenities as what was stated in the website.. I can live with that but staying in a dirty room/bathroom floor inspite of the daily housekeeping cleaning everyday, I give no justice to our stay in here. Location is on a quiet surrounding of Taito, near Kaminarimon and some interesting must-see places of interest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mikojosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

A new, stylish and clean hotel and the staff is really helpful. The location is ok for a night (calm area) with nice sightseeing spots, but if you go out and meet friends a bit faraway.
The only negativ point: no soap in the bath? I don't care to pay extra for shampoo, but soap...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I really enjoyed our stayed at Agora Place Asakusa. Rooms are small but very clean & comfortable. The only thing I'd recommend is to add some extra hooks to hang the towels in the bathrooms. It was close to the subway, in a quiet area. It's a bit far from the city centre, but would stay there again!

Room Tip: Top floor, we had room 916 with a nice view of Tokyo Sky Tree Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ofelia_Zen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a very nice stay at agora, the rooms were small but very well designed to accommodate the space without losing the facilities. It was close to the subway and good restaurants yet so quiet in the rooms. They also stored our bags when we left on a late flight. We would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RARHJB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Was enticed by the price ($44 for a single person room) and free wifi. Unfortunately the washing machines were not free but only cost 500 yen so not that expensive and that included a dry cycle. Taito is a little far from the city, about 30 mins by train but this hotel is only 150m from a train station and only 2 stops from Ueno, a major Tokyo train hub. This allowed be easy access back to the airport and tourist attractions. The Small double room was tiny. Not even big enough for my bag to go anywhere. But it had a comfortable bed, clean sheets, ensuite(no products) and wifi. What more do you need. Staff were friendly and place was modern and clean. I would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davetothez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Hokke Club Asakusa
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
#20 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Via Inn Asakusa
Via Inn Asakusa
#27 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Red Planet Asakusa, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Place Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Place Asakusa

Property: Agora Place Asakusa
Address: 2-2-9 Kotobuki, Taito 111-0042, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agora Place Asakusa 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in July 2012, AGORA PLACE ASAKUSA is a stylishly designed limited service hotel in Tokyo.Just 2-minute walk from Tawaramachi Station, 10-minute walk from the Senso-ji Temple. The hotel has modern air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, refrigerator,safe, bathroom with a hairdryer, slippers, nightwear and amenities are available for an extra cost.The friendly staff can provide local information. Computers are available for use in the lobby and iPads can be rented at the front desk.Guests can use the coin laundry, or request dry cleaning. The hotel also has a vending machine for soft drinks and alcohols. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Rakuten, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Agora Place Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Place Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing