We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“once in japan, do like japaneses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo
Ranked #38 of 155 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This Ryokan is very cozy and comfortable. Here you can experience how to sleep, eat and bath like japaneses do.
The staff is very kind and helpfull. The public bath ("onsen") is an experience to remember, as equal to sleep in tatame.
I recommend this Ryokan for an unique stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PESVIAJANTES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 140 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent one night in this cosy modern ryokan hotel. Our aim was to get a 'taste' of traditional Edo period Japan. Our experience was fabulous...everything we had hoped for!
We were taken to our room by a woman who informed us on hotel etiquette and function. She sat us down in our room and made us tea. I struggled to sit on the floor so she immediately found me a traditional stool.
For dinner that evening we asked the front desk attendant for a suggestion and he showed us the menu to an intimate (there are probably 6 tables in total) restaurant located across the street. Unfortunately I don't remember the name but we had a lovely time there. The waitress (possibly owner?) spoke very little English but was super friendly and we all made it work :)
When we returned our room had been made ready for bedtime. They use traditional bedding....right down to the natural seed-filled pillow.
Our reservation included a traditional breakfast. We proceeded to the small common room at our chosen time and were treated to an amazing spread of traditional Japanese food. An origami bird was at our table with our name on it.
Also at the table was a stool for me to sit on. I was very impressed by their thoughtfulness.
As we exited the breakfast room I noticed that they had taken our traditional sandals (that they provide) and turned them in the direction to leave. They truly think of everything!
Upon checkout (which is a very polite process...lots of bowing and thank-yous lol) we were each given a small wooden tag that had our names burned into it. An unexpected surprise!
In summary, if you want a traditional experience in a great location I would heartily recommend this family owned hotel.
(It is an easy walk from a subway station and also to the Temple of Sensoji)

Room Tip: I requested our room via Internet directly with the hotel and firmed up details thru emails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for just one night near the end of our Japan trip. We chose this ryokan for the location as we wanted to visit the Asukusa area, including kitchen town.

This ryokan was fine, but a huge negative point for us was the overwhelming smell of cigarette smoke in our room. We kept the air conditioning running for air circulation even though it wasn't necessary for temperature control. Fortunately meals were served in a separate room and were quite enjoyable, including an origami figure at the table, with our name inscribed on it. The futons were a little "flat", but we managed to sleep ok with little outside noise etc.

The wooden onsen was enjoyable and clean and we didn't even use the private shower in our room - it's not necessary to book a room with a shower here. Our other ryokan experiences in Japan were in Kyoto and further afield and this one was comparable, but for the smoke smell negative. So if you are looking for a ryokan experience right in Tokyo, this might be it, but try harder for a non-smoking room perhaps if that's important to you. I honestly don't recall having that discussion on this one at the booking stage, although we usually always request it...perhaps it's not available?

Staff was friendly and helpful and the lobby area was very interesting. They provided little gifts at checkout which we appreciated. There was also a little gift shop in the lobby with reasonably priced souvenir items.

There is an Italian pizzeria on the main street nearby (green awning, don't remember the name though, sorry) which was great for salads and pizza (vegetarian selections available).

Room Tip: Request non-smoking if that's important to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Asakusa is a little out of the way (although it has a vibrant nightlife and during the day you can purchase any cooking implement you might dream of) but well served by public transport, and the Tokyo underground is much easier to navigate than some people say, with plenty of diagrammes and signposting in English. Otherwise a taxi from Ueno station costs under JPY2,000.
A modern ryokan, it is decorated with antiques and reproductions and has quite an atmosphere. Rooms with private toilet and bath are available, and there are two lovely shared baths (not onsen as this designates mineral hot spring baths) allocated by gender: onyx for the ladies until 9.45 pm, then cedarwood until 10 am. The baths are closed for cleaning between 10 am and 4 pm.
Dinner and breakfast are served in a spacious dining room, and your table is marked with a paper origami place holder in the shape of a crane (symbol of longevity and good luck) bearing your name in Japanese script. The food is excellent.
There is a TV in the room, temperature control, free wireless, a fridge with water, beer and sake and hot water and the makings of green tea.
The staff are delightful and my whole stay was once again enchanting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brancusirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for our 2 last nights of our trip and we loved it! We wanted to experience something a bit more traditional and was lucky to get a reservation for this Ryokan.
The staff were very helpful and friendly on arrival, we were taken upstairs to our rooms which were quite small and the beds already made up on the floor. We expected the rooms to be small but they werent tiny so it wasnt too bad. We had our own bathroom and toilet which was great, I found it hard to find a Ryokan that didnt have shared bathroom facilites so it was definitely a bonus. It was quite noisy in the room, and especially in the morning you could hear people outside. The futon on the floor wasn't too bad.
There were baths on the 2nd floor that you could go to, they were lovely. It was a really chilled experience to have a really warm bath, and going through the ritual of washing yourself before you went in.
It was a great location with the subway close by and Asakusa station. There were lots of temples around and the main Sensoji temple is beautiful and is a 5min walk with lots of shops to buy little souvenirs from.
The staff gave us our little name tags which was a sweet gesture.

I would definitely recommend this Ryokan for a traditional Japanese experience. Its quite basic but perfect for a couple nights stay and has everything you need.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lilpinkmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the Sadachiyo Ryokan. I had tried to reserve the room but was informed none was available. I was patient and kept following up to see if there would be a sudden vacancy. Fortunately, there was a guest that backed out; opening the opportunity to enjoy Tokyo in a ryokan on our anniversary!

We were very pleased with Sadachiyo. It is located centrally with easy access to the subway/trains in Tokyo. The area was walking distance to a number of attractions in Asakusa. There were also many local restaurants around.

The room was a bit smaller than ryokans we have stayed in previously but nonetheless, the bed was clean with crisply ironed bed sheets and blanket cover. They were all perfectly prepared for the evening.

They also had an onsen and for the most part, we had the onsen to ourselves as we generally went after 9 pm. Soaking in the hot spring after a long day of walking and eating was a great way to get ready for a restful night.

All in all, I highly recommend this ryokan experience. Hard to get in a big city like Tokyo.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chinaren_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I am glad that I did book for this ryokan for 3 nights stay. It was such a great experience.
We had got the smallest room but is still so roomy compare to other business hotels. You get your own toilet and bathroom with nicey nice amenities. You also get complimentary internet on every floor. As from other previews, the staff handed us two little tags that had our names on it as souvenir. The hotel is not far away from the Sensoji temple and you can have a great view of Tokyo skytree from the temple too. Besides, walk further towards the river, you can see the Asahi beer hall's "golden cloud" thingy.
The price is slightly more expensive than other business hotel but is definitely worth it to experience the japanese style of accomodation.

Room Tip: Choose room on the upper floor which is quiter. As we are on 2nd floor that we can hear people talki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mushimushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Centurion Hotel Ueno
Centurion Hotel Ueno
#68 of 155 in Taito
125 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Kamogawa
Ryokan Kamogawa
#22 of 155 in Taito
183 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#9 of 155 in Taito
316 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Shigetsu
Asakusa Shigetsu
#55 of 155 in Taito
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo

Address: 2-20-1 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range: $117 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo Hotel Taito
Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing