We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a great experience..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo
Ranked #32 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a great experience..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I am glad that I did book for this ryokan for 3 nights stay. It was such a great experience.
We had got the smallest room but is still so roomy compare to other business hotels. You get your own toilet and bathroom with nicey nice amenities. You also get complimentary internet on every floor. As from other previews, the staff handed us two little tags that had our names on it as souvenir. The hotel is not far away from the Sensoji temple and you can have a great view of Tokyo skytree from the temple too. Besides, walk further towards the river, you can see the Asahi beer hall's "golden cloud" thingy.
The price is slightly more expensive than other business hotel but is definitely worth it to experience the japanese style of accomodation.

Room Tip: Choose room on the upper floor which is quiter. As we are on 2nd floor that we can hear people talki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mushimushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    36
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
44
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, ill
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

great location and very friendly and helpful staff. Found it a bit noisy in the morning and around the shared bath area. Ask for an extra mattress to double up with. Only one is pretty thin on the floor. Italian restaurant just up the street is very good. 5 minute walk to temple area.

Room Tip: not on streetside or near shared bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
347 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Japanese people are generally very hospitable but this ryokan is special. The recreated antique atmosphere is perfect.
My room had its own bath and toilet (you get special slippers to wear in there). The bath was beautiful, very deep, with a black and gold chrysanthemum pattern. The communal baths (same gender) were also great, one cypress, the other granite, open at different times for men and women.
Delicious green tea was served on arrival by the owner, who chatted with me about Europe, that she'd visited on her honeymoon. I changed into a soft and comfortable yukata and tongs. These clothes can be worn in public areas as well and people come down to dinner in them (but the footwear is left at the door of each room).
I was the only Westerner at dinner; an origami in the shape of a crane (symbol of longevity and luck) with my name on it marked out my table, I kept it as a souvenir. Dinner was a veritable feast, with many delicate and flavoursome dishes, hot and cold.
There are many restaurants and bars and betting places around the area, but I didn't hear much raucous street noise from my room after 11 pm, and it's quite safe to walk around (as it most of Japan).
The staff were very helpful and eager to help, and several of the employees spoke decent English. When I left they presented me with a luggage tag with my name on it both in Latin characters and in Japanese, and a large handful of Japanese candy.
I highly recommend this place to anyone who wishes to experience the atmosphere of a traditional inn and taste real Japanese food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brancusirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We lashed out for two expensive nights in this lovely ryokan in the centre of Asakusa's restaurant area. It was quiet at night. We had a very big room (for Tokyo) on the fourth floor and I counted ten tatami mats in the main room. There was also a smaller ante room where we put our luggage and it had benches and a small table. The bathroom had a square bath, but we used the public baths on the second floor - a stone bath and a wooden bath - they are segregated and swapped around so that men and women can try both.
The staff are lovely - so animated, cheerful and ready to help with anything (except hold one of our suitcases when we went to Hakone for two nights).
We paid a lot extra for a Tsubaki feast on our second night. Some of it was very good, but overall it was disappointing compared to one we had on Miyajima four years ago. The lobster was stale. Our sitting was 7.00pm and we felt like the food had been standing for a while.
The ryokan has paintings and objets d'art along the halls and staircases and piped music plays. We really enjoyed our stay, but it was not great value for money. Cheaper ryokans have tatami mats and futons, too, and are always immaculately clean. Our ryokan in Hakone the following two nights was half the price and very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rarisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

My Husband had stayed here before, but this was my and our teenage son and daughter's first time to Japan and it was very special. It was just fantastic. The staff were amazing, so helpful and so so friendly. Their English was way better than our Japanese, though we still kept trying. We loved the very authentic traditional Japanese feel of the Ryokan and we felt like family. Asakusa is a safe and central place to stay and will defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiepals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This a fantastic place to stay in Tokyo. Asakusa is a great traditional area and a really good place to head to at the end of the day. Tokyo's quite a big city but it's just about walkable if you're keen! We were right in the middle of a festival as well which was really amazing. The hotel and room were really beautiful and all the staff were really, really friendly. It was worth trying the breakfast - a bit expensive but quite an experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceR006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were very impressed when we walked into our room with its fancy duvet’s on futons and all the appearance of a traditional Japanese room. 10 Tatami mats, we discovered, made it a big room. A low table with tea making facilities and an alcove with ornaments completed the setting. In the small living area there was a slightly higher table and 4 stools. The bathroom was interesting for a Westerner with a small square bath and a low level and high level shower/ wash facility. The public baths were great. Not so public being only for hotel guests and of the two times I used them I only met one person who was leaving. Quite different washing and rinsing yourself on a low stool before getting in for a hot soak.
Hire the bicycles and head down to the Sumida River and Asukasa before continuing on to the Edo museum and other places along the river, as far as you like.
We had read reports of the lack of English spoken by the staff. We had no problem communicating with the wonderfully helpful people who run the hotel. They really made our stay feel authentic in the heart of Tokyo. If we visit Tokyo we will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Kamogawa
Ryokan Kamogawa
#28 of 121 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Shigetsu
Asakusa Shigetsu
#33 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#2 of 121 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#7 of 121 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Hotel Hatago
Asakusa Hotel Hatago
#14 of 121 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo

Property: Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo
Address: 2-20-1 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032 , Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo Hotel Taito
Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing