We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Ryokan Katsutaro!”
Review of Annex Katsutaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Annex Katsutaro
Ranked #20 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Wolkenstein, Veneto, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We loved Ryokan Katsutaro!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My friends and me stayed at the Annex Katsutaro in Taito for 2 nights in May and enjoyed it a lot! The owners were very helpful and the traditional japanese room were a cool experience. The are where it is located is a quiet traditional zone in Tokyo, where you can breathe all the japanese culture. The Position is also good due to the Close subway Station of Sendaji and Nippori.

I can only recommend this Ryokan and would return for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing your stay at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan.
We hope your stay with us was a comfortable and a memorable one.

We appreciate your comment .This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you very much.

It is good to know that you liked our surrounding neighbour.
There is still so much to explore in this old fashioned neighbourhood.
So, please come visit us again!!

You are always welcome!!

Yours sincerley,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    93
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
127
61
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Great hotel, with good and spacious (Japanese standards!) rooms, nice staff, convenient on location coin laundry (although using hours are limited and can get crowded in the evening).

Location is excellent, with direct access to the skyline for Narita, JR and Metro lines, and at the heart of the yanaka district, surrounded by small temples and shrines as well as great street eateries.

Will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CromoX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan through booking.com.

We appreciate you comments.This means so much to our future improvement,thank you so much!!

It is good to know that your stay with us was a comfortable and a memorable one.
There are stil so much to explore in our old fashioned neighbour!

Please come and visit us again, maybe in anothere season or so.

Until then, please take care.

Yours sincerley,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Lots of great restaurants, walkable to airport train. Just spent an overnight due to flight connections. Front Desk speaks english. Price is right for the neighborhood and quality of stay. Above a backpacker place for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalBound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest.

We are glad to know that your stay with us was a comfortable and a memorable one.
We appreciate your comment ! This means so much to us for our future improvement.
Thank you very much!!

We hope you could come and visit us again,maybe in another season or so....

Until then ,please take care.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Took my husband and 2 children ages 7, 11 for their first time in Japan. Stayed there end of March for Sakura Tree Viewing. We stayed in the larger 4 person room and it was wonderful!

The location cannot be beat if you want a quiet place that is surrounded by many food shops, a 100 yen (dollar store), food vendors, etc. It's right near the Yanaka Night market where we lived off the great bentos made each evenings and you're 1 block away from the post office and Lawson's local food mart. There are several mini like 7-Eleven places around for quick grab of inexpensive food.

The Ryokan room was really roomy and to my surprise the tatami bed were really comfortable. I stayed in a more expensive Ryokan in Kyoto and I didn't survive the Tatami beds after 2 nights. We stayed there for 4 nights and did not have a problem. Surprisingly comfortable.

Will pretty much be my primary place to stay in Tokyo from now on. I look her first to book before anywhere else.

Really a 9 minute walk from Nippori Station. Now if you're coming from Narita Airport you can get a direct line to the Nippori station using either the Skyliner or Keisei train line from Narita Airport. The NEX will not take you directly there from Narita. If you take the JR NEX then you'll have to stop at Tokyo Station and take the JR Yamanote Line towards Ueno. Once you hit the Nippori Station, take the West Exit. To find the West exit, follow the signs to North Exit and look to the left you'll see a sign for West Exit of the Nippori Station. Take a left when you exit the station and walk up a slight hill on the main road. The road hits a fork and take the right side of the street past the 7-Eleven and you'll walk to the Yanaka open market. It's pretty much blocked from cars getting down this street, mainly for pedestrians. You'll hit a T in the road. Turn left and walk about 2-3 blocks and look to your left the Ryokan is there. VERY easy to find and a wonderful place to stay.

The owners understood and spook english very well. I can't talk enough about how incredible this place is and easy access to JR lines which takes you pretty much all over Tokyo. Took advantage of the coin operated laundry facilities and was able to see the sakura trees in Ueno.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank limew_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunei
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

The ryokan or traditional Japanese sleeping on the futon was an experience and surprisingly very comfortable. Design was traditional, tasteful and functional. We had a great time dressing up in traditional pajamas.

Location was unbeatable. Not a far walk from nearest station. And all around are quaint shops. Quite a number selling traditional goods like pottery, Japanese paper etc. Price on the high side but good for windowshopping.

The owners were so friendly. This place is great and when I'm back in Japan, would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing your stay at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan!
It was our great pleasure to have you with us.
We hope your stay with us was a comfortable and a memorable one.

We appreciate your comment .This means so much to us for our future improvement.
Thank you so much!!

Please come and visit us again, maybe in anothere season or so.
There is still so much to explore in this old fashioned neighbourhood!

Until then ,please take care.

Yours sincerley,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights. The locale was lovely with lots of character small shops and market streets with a variety of small shops and lots of places to dine. Our hosts were lovely, extremely helpful and very good English speakers.

We really like the hotels location. It is a pleasant 5 - 10 minute walk (without luggage) to the JR station and Subway, Nippori and Sendagi. These stations which had lines that could take you quickly to most areas of Tokyo. The direct trains of various classes to Narita Airport also left from Nippori station. Its also in a relatively quiet area not to many cars, which was pleasantly surprising. Ueno Park is a 30min interesting walk. There are a multitude of dining options very close by and you can go very local Japanese or chose places or cuisines that may be a more familiar.

The rooms are Japanese tatami style and smallish which is pretty standard for Japan and Tokyo in particular. Overall nice clean, basic, comfortable and very good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WazandKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest.
It was our greart pleasure to have you with us .
We hope your stay with us was a comfortable and a memorable one.

We appreciate your comment !This means so much to us for our future improvement.
Thank you very much.

Please come and visit us again!
You are always welcome in our homely ryokan.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

From the Narita airport, you can take the JR into the city and get off at the Nippori station and just walk to the Ryokan. Takes maybe 10-15 minutes and is a very nice scenic walk. The place looks new and feels great. The front desk people are very nice and speak pretty decent English.

Overall, this place was a treat to stay in. The location was fantastic for my wife and I since we didn't want to stay in a crowded Hostel(like we normally do when we travel). It's near plenty of eateries and Bento shops if you don't feel like traveling far. The Nippori station is one of the stops on the Yamamote line which is a big circle around the major attractions of the city.

The room was a nice size with plenty of room for the two of us with the two futons, a sitting table and plenty of closet space for our clothes. One problem with the rooms is that the futons and covers aren't for tall people(I'm 6'2 and my feet got cold).

Another nice thing was when we left, they gave us a little charm for my wife as well as a coin purse. At first, we thought, "A coin purse....hahaha we won't need that." We ended up using it for the rest of our two weeks there!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest!

We hope your stay was a comfortable and a memorable one.

We appreciate your comment.This means so much to us for our future improvement.
Thank you very much!!

Please do come and visit us again,maybe in another season or so.
You are always welcome in our homely ryokan!

Yours sincerley,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Livemax Nippori
Hotel Livemax Nippori
#78 of 122 in Taito
28 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Katsutaro
Ryokan Katsutaro
#60 of 122 in Taito
102 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Graphy Nezu
Hotel Graphy Nezu
#8 of 122 in Taito
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#9 of 122 in Taito
342 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#4 of 122 in Taito
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Katsutaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Katsutaro

Property: Annex Katsutaro
Address: 3-8-4 Yanaka, Taito 110-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Annex Katsutaro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Annex Katsutaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annex Katsutaro Hotel Taito
Annex Katsutaro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing