We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find”
Review of Annex Katsutaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Annex Katsutaro
Ranked #19 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at annex Katsutaro for 5 nights this autumn. Our room was small, but cosy, and very clean. We had our own bathroom and shower/tub, and laundry facilities are available. There was little noise, and we were able to sleep well. The staff were very helpful: we needed someone who spoke Japanese to make a phone reservation for us, and the staff called for us. The location is in a quieter area than downtown Tokyo, and there are many small shops and restaurants near by. It is also within a 5 min walk of the Chiyoda Subway line, and a 10 min walk form the JR Yamanote line, making it very easy get around Tokyo.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your stay at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan!
We hope your stay was a comfortable and a memorable one.

We appreciate your comment .This means so much to our future improvements.
We are always willing to keep up what is good and to improve what is'nt.

Please do come and visit us again, maybe in another season or so.
You are always welcome in our homely ryokan!!

Yours sincerley,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    91
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
64
127
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went in April and stayed for a total of 2,3 days. It's a very calm area and lots to see right around from the hotel as well as close to the park which we walked to. People are friendly and there is a great little shop right across that sells delicious chicken on a stick! And the hotel staff was very friendly!!! Id go again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest!

We hope your stay with us was a comfortable and a memorable one.

We appreciate your comment.This means so much to us for our future improvement.
Thank you so much.

Please do come and visit us again!You are always welcome in our homely ryokan.

Until then, please take care.

Yours sincerley,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We wanted a quiet neighborhood with some of the "old Japan" and Annex Katsutaro and the Yanaka neighborhood was perfect! The hotel is built well so you do NOT hear your neighbors and the ensuite ofuro is a wonderful luxury. The room was very clean and made up everyday. The owners and their part time staff (she spoke fluent English) were extremely helpful in helping us navigate the different areas in Tokyo.
I loved walking, eating, and shopping right in the neighborhood. There's a 7-11 up the "hill" that has a machine that grinds coffee beans then slow drips fresh coffee for $1.50. Just steps away from the ryokan is "family mart" that has wonderful warm oden that we had for a couple of our breakfast. Everyday we bought fresh fruits, grilled seafood, hot coquettes, and enjoyed 2 great restaurants - the Unagi and Tonkatsu ones- in the neighborhood. I loved that there were 2 generations running a wonderful senbei shop and konyaku was being made fresh daily. There's a sweet bakery nearby that opens at 6:30 am with sandwiches and baked goods.
Ueno park is nearby. The owners will help you catch the local bus that stops right across the street.
I would come back to Annex Katsutaro any time I'm in Tokyo. So easy to walk to JR train station and metro and of course the little local bus.
Get lost in the neighborhood - so much to explore - small shops, wonderful tea shop, a 100 yen shop (dollar store) to pick up a little knife for your fresh fruits,etc. Explore the litte alleys - that's how we found the wonderful tonkatsu place. This hotel and its neighborhood made Tokyo one of our favorite stops on our 19 day tour of Japan.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pakalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest!

We hope that your stay with us was a comfortable and a memorable one.

We appreciate your comment .This means so much to us for our future improvement!
Thank you so much!!

You have written in such great details about our freindly neighbour.
It's good to know that you enjoyed our area and had a good exploring.

Please do come and visit us again,maybe in another season or so.

You are always welcome in our homely ryokan.
Until then please take care.

Yours sincerley,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan for four nights and hd a wonderful stay. The room was clean and well kept, with no wear and tear that you might find in some hotels. Our hosts were very helpful, giving us directions and local restaurant recommendations. Free wifi in the rooms was handy to keep in touch with those back home, and there was a computer in the lobby to use also. Having laundry facilities on the premises was very handy. Breakfast was available on request, which we took up one morning and were very happy with the meal and price. Yakatas were provided to wear in the rooms, a nice touch. Our host also arranged to have our bags sent on to Kyoto, which was a service we appreciated.
The local area was beautiful, having the local market strip a short walk away was excellent. The ryokan is in walking distance of a subway and JR stations, making it very accessible to other parts of Tokyo.
A comfortable, clean and welcoming ryokan. We would stay here again if beck in Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest.

We hope your stay with us was a comfortable and a memorable one.

We appreciate your comment!This means so much to us for our future improvements.
Thank you so much!!

We hope there will be a chance to serve you in the future, maybe in another season or so.

Until then ,please take care .

Yours sincerley,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was my second time when I stay at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan (first was September 2011) and both times I was very happy with my stay. And if I will be in Tokyo again, I will choose Annex Katsutaro for sure.
I like the district and the neighborhood, maybe it is not in the "center" of Tokyo, but it have convenient connection with whole city. The area is quiet.
Rooms are very comfortable and clean (the rooms are cleaned every day and everyday there is clean towel). Futons are very comfortable.
The service is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgaKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your stay at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and for always choosing our place to stay.

We hope that your stay with us is always a comfortable one.
It is good to know that you like our surrounding neighbourhood.
There are always so much to explore here !!

Thank you for your comment .This means so much to us for our future improvements!!

We hope to see you again , maybe in another season or so.

You are always welcome in our homely ryokan!!

Yours sincerley,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Quiet nights sleep on a futon on a tatami floor. Bathrooms with shower or bath,toilet of course. Clean room and plenty of room for two. Modern exterior, but rooms have all the positives of a new japanese style room-solid construction and no room noise from neighbors! Another huge plus is the free WiFi in the room. Wonderful neighborhood filled with small shops and great inexpensive food. Located close to Nippori train station that you will use all the time to get anywhere in Tokyo-also directly to Narita airport. Office staff speak english and provide lots of maps and info. There is nothing bad I can say about Annex Katsutaro!!
If you're looking for neon, street noise, and crowds-Don't stay here...

Room Tip: Older, wood building with lot of character, also mean creaky floors, thin walls between rooms, and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atsushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest!

We appreciate you comment!This means so much to us for our future improvement.

We are glad to know that your stay with us was a comfortable and a memorable one.
Also, good to know that you liked our surrounding neighbourhood.

There are so much to explore in this old fashioned town.
Please do come and visit us again, maybe in another season or so.

You are always welcome in our homely ryokan!
Until then please take care, and thak you again.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a very good ryokan style hotel. You sleep on futons, that are actually very comfortable and you sit on tatami mats around the low table. It's nice and it's clean. We had three futons for 2 adults and a 4-year old and we had planty of space (we could have done with 2 futons). There was also space to squeeze in a baby cot in the corner of the room. There is a fridge, water kettle, ipod/iphone docking station and a tv (which we didn't try so it might just have Japanese channels).

Tokyo is expensive, so this is not a cheap hotel, if you compare what you can get in other countries ini Asia, but for Tokyo it's good value for money.

The location is very convenient just next to the metro and a JR train station (if you have the JR rail pass) and there is a bus stop just outside the door. The personnel is very sweet and extremely helpful. There are washing machines in the lobby of you should need it. And there are umbrellas that you can borrow if it starts raining.

The hotel is located in a more quiet residential part of Tokyo, next to a small street (Yanaka, which is actually mentioned in Lonely Planet) bustling with shops, souvenirs, food, etc during daytime. But don't try to go here for dinner, you'll be very disappointed. But there is no problem to get around in Tokyo.

It's also very close to a drugstore selling a good selection of baby food, diapers and baby items (if you happen to travel with a baby). They also sell some food. There are 2 convenience stores open 24h just around the corner and a bakery where you can buy very good bread baked in an oven made of stones from Mt Fuji (unfortunately they don't open very early).

Oh, and if you like their yukata style dressing gown you can buy one at the front desk. They are made of very good thick cotton and are of better quality than most reasonably priced yukatas you can buy. They are used though, but there is nothing wrong with some recycling.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsuaro Ryokan!

We hope your stay with us was a comfortable and a memorable one.

We appreciate your comment! This means so much to us for our future improvement and it will definately be a helpful hint for the coming guests.
Thank you so much!!

It will be our great pleasure to have you back with us again, maybe in another season or so.

Until then , please take care.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#2 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#7 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Katsutaro
Ryokan Katsutaro
#60 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Graphy Nezu
Hotel Graphy Nezu
#9 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Katsutaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Katsutaro

Property: Annex Katsutaro
Address: 3-8-4 Yanaka, Taito 110-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Annex Katsutaro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Rakuten, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Annex Katsutaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annex Katsutaro Hotel Taito
Annex Katsutaro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing