We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay.”
Review of Annex Katsutaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Annex Katsutaro
Ranked #21 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect stay.”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

If this hotel invested in some blackout blinds it would be unbeatable. It was very bright. We would go back, but we would take some fabric to cover the window.
The service is friendly. The laundry is easy. Convenient location, one block from the subway and 10mins walk to the express Narita train. We explored all the major sights of Tokyo from this base.
The beds are good, but the extra mattresses in the cupboard make them even better.
The whole place is clean, fresh, and modern. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bundles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    92
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
127
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is great for a more simple stay in Tokyo, or on a budget. It is located in a genuinely nice residential/market area, with lots of interesting craft shops and restaurants/food stalls nearby. It is also excellent for the airport (take the Skytrain direct from Narita to Nippori station, from where it is less than a 10 minute walk), and there is a subway station just at the end of the street (2 mins). You can be in the city center in about 15/20 mins.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solarize_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you for staying at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest!

We appreciate your comment on the trip adviser.
Your comments means alot to us and for our future service as well.
Thank you very much.

We hope there is a chance to serve you in the future in another season or so!

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Annex Katsutaro has absolutely everything I was looking for:
- modest but clean room with private bath
- lovely, welcoming hosts
- clear explanation on how to reach the hotel from Nippori Station (stop on LimitedExpress line from airport!)
- proximity to subway, restaurants, grocery store
- Free Internet
- vibrant and charming neighborhood
- airco/ fridge/ hairdryer
- affordable price (6300 Y single)

Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groengras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We loved our three night stay here. We stayed in a Japanese style room with private Western bath. The neighborhood that this guesthouse is in is so lovely! There are lots of restaurants, convenience stores, at least one grocery store, a few bakeries, and several artisan shops all nearby. And the Sendago stop on the Chiyoda line of the Tokyo Metro is literally a 3 minute walk away. Super fast and easy to get to central Tokyo.

Just two things to keep in mind. They have the word Ryokan in their name but this is really just a guesthouse. And they charge 1,000 yen per night for infants.

Overall, a great stay and we highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desconocido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Ryokan Annex Katsutaro is surely one of the best places to stay in Tokyo, it offers so much, its location in the Shitamachi (old Tokyo) area of Yanaka wonderful in itself and we found it close to so much around it.

Our eight tatami mat sized Japanese style room was clean and modern as was the bathroom. As an introduction to Japanese style living Annex Katsutaro is an excellent choice.

Wifi is available in the lobby where two washing machines and dryers are also located. The English speaking manager Arakawa San was very helpful with information when we asked and provided detailed maps of the area (and soap for the washing machines). He was the perfect host.

The attractions of Ueno Park are just two stations or an interesting walk away through local streets and shrines to the south east. The main Ueno station connects to the rest of Tokyo and beyond. The nearest JR station (walkable), Nippori connects directly to Narita airport.

Also close by are the fascinating Kappabashi Dori "cooking street", Nippori Chuo Dori "fabric Town" and the Asakusa Jinya Shrine. The Taito city loop bus stops outside the front door and runs various routes around Yanaka, Asakusa and Ueno for 100 Yen per trip.

The main street of Yanaka is that of a real Japanese neighbourhood, narrow and traffic free it buzzes with local life. Small restaurants and takeaways are all around. More than just great place to stay in Tokyo, Annex Katsutaro is a real introduction to life in Japan.
This was my 4th trip to Tokyo and I will never stay anywhere else but here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don-and-helen-barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for staying at our ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest!!

And,thank you for your comment on the Trip Adviser.
We are very glad to know that your stay with us was a confortable and a memorabl one.
We can see that you really enjoyed our neighbour! Your comment means alot to us for more improvement towards our guest.

Please do come visit our place again maybe in another season or so.
Until then, take care!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed here 3 years ago and loved it, so when we visited Tokyo again, we booked again without hesitation. This is a ryokan in a hotel building (sleeping on thin mattresses on the floor, tatami mats, no shoes etc). It's a nice way to experience a light version of a ryokan in Tokyo. Annex Katsutaro is amazing value for the location, especially now that there is free wifi in every room. It is just off the delightful main pedestrian street of Yanaka and a short stroll from the subway, JR line and Keisei skyliner train to Narita. The only slight negative on this occasion was that the room was very bright from early morning, because the sunlight tends to stream in through the traditional rice paper blinds (but then that is part of the novelty).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4leaf1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for your comment.
This means alot to us!! Thank you again for always being such a wonderful guest .
We are very glad to know that you are enjoying your stay with us!
We hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

First time in Japan and had a wonderful stay in the Annex. Here is the feedback.

1. Very comfortable futons (Westerners will be pleased)
2. Very affordable (10,500 yen per night) a bargain in Japan
3. Very clean (Japanese pride themselves on cleanliness)
4. Bathroom is small but the shower head in incredible and the pressure is perfect.
5. Area in town is incredible. From Narita Airport buy a ticket or a pass on the JR line and take it to Nippori. From there its a short 7 minute walk through a gorgeous part of Japan. It's this quaint neighborhood where the real Japanese people leave and it has cute shops and restaurants and people bicycling. It is a quiet neighborhood and great for families and couples.
6. Its also a hop, skip, jump away from Ueno and Tokyo center on the JR line. We paid for JR and subway day pass. You don't need subway pass. Jr Line goes everywhere.
7. We will be back here and will refer everyone we know.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kedmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for your comment and for reccomending our ryokan.
This means alot to us and we are very glad to know that your stay with us was a comfortable one.
We hope there is a chance to serve you in the future again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#2 of 120 in Taito
297 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Katsutaro
Ryokan Katsutaro
#61 of 120 in Taito
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Graphy Nezu
Hotel Graphy Nezu
#7 of 120 in Taito
454 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#9 of 120 in Taito
339 reviews
Family Inn Saiko
#1 of 55 in Toshima
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Katsutaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Katsutaro

Property: Annex Katsutaro
Address: 3-8-4 Yanaka, Taito 110-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Annex Katsutaro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Annex Katsutaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annex Katsutaro Hotel Taito
Annex Katsutaro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing