We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Prettiest Park in Tokyo” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ueno Park

Ueno Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.13*
and up
Private Muslim Tokyo Tour
Ranked #3 of 281 things to do in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This large park is a favorite destination of Tokyo residents, and within can be found many of the city's main attractions including the Tokyo National Museum, Ueno zoo and the National Museum of Western Art.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not the Prettiest Park in Tokyo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This park is huge, but when we were here there were a lot of homeless men. The park also had a foul smell to it, maybe due to the former? Maybe a good place to walk and get some exercise. It is right across from Ueno Station and a great, local farmers market called Ameyoko Shopping Street. I wouldn't necessarily go out of my way to come here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thedaywetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,413
    1,565
    326
    29
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
450 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“So much to see but best get there early on the weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a very large park which includes several museums, Tokyo zoo, a temple and a shrine. You could easily spend an entire day here.

The added bonus is the people watching. Not as crazy as Harajuku but still quite interesting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to chill out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Uneo park is a great place to go and relax if you're getting sick and tired of the hussle and bussle of Tokyo. There's planty to see there with the zoo, museum and art gallery so its also an essential place to go for sight seeing needs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonyH36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ueno Park and Zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I went here before I went to the zoo and we were just walking around enjoying how big the park was and how it was not full of hustle and bustle like it seemed everywhere else in the city was. There are all sorts of things to see here apart from the park; there is a zoo and an art gallery.

I would recommend a visit to here before you enter the zoo.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dimpl3z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“For a quiet moment in Tokyo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Ueno Park is a breather from the bustle of rest of Tokyo. Was passing by the station and had an impulsive moment to visit. Time well spent ;)

Recommended for the autumn view, but will not have visited if was not along my route, believe there are even grander parks.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank wonderwonder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ueno Park also viewed

 

Been to Ueno Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing