We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$68
Hotels.com$68
Priceline$68
CheapTickets$68
eDreams$59
ZenHotels.com$144
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,643)
Filter reviews
1,643 results
Traveler rating
1,088
454
73
16
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,088
454
73
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar great location asakusa station top floor ginza line haneda airport great room highly recommend this hotel direct train corner room boutique hotel restaurants and shops few minutes walk skytree lobby temple kaminarimon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 1,643 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

We were disappointed by this hotel which we did not feel measured up to the positive reviews of other travellers

The first experience of the hotel is the reception area and restaurant which you may find yourself spending more time in than expected as our room was not available at the time they said it would be. The decor in the restaurant is third with paint chipped off the dining tables, service is very slow. The seating area in the lobby is a sun trap and becomes uncomfortable especially when lots of people are waiting to access their rooms or queueing for breakfast

The suit itself was also third there was no natural light in the bedroom, not much room to shower in an area next to the bath, lights so unfathomable that we had to resort to unplugging some of them to turn them off, and a black sticky substance on the coffee table and sofa (in several places) which was most unpleasant

The beds were very comfortable

The attitude of the reception staff was pore. When challenged about not honouring their commitments to room availability they just ignored us.

The location while good for one shrine is a bit out of the way for most things although there is a metro station relatively close

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank onemoreholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of our Japanese adventure. Found the hotel to be modern and clean with a good sized room (loved the giant egg light!). The rooms are simply and tastefully decorated and beds comfortable. We had an amazing view of the Sky Tower. I did find the room very hot and stuffy, but perhaps I just couldn’t work out how to use the air conditioner though!
The open air bar on the 14th floor also gives great views of the tower and is a nice place for a drink.
Breakfast slightly disappointing- a small buffet with limited options and a choice of a few hot options (all with meat so be sure to ask for it to be removed if you’re veggie). They were however happy to make plain old scrambled eggs so not all bad.
Hotel is well situated for the metro just down the road, and Shinzo-Ji temple with all its bustle and life is virtually opposite.
All in all a great stay In Asakusa.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Xanadustar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019

Stayed at the Gate Hotel for one night. The Hotel is in a great location 2 mins from the train station (Asakusa) and almost across the road from Kaminarimon Gate Senso-ji which leads to the Sensō-ji temple. The view from the reception lounge area was amazing-looked directly at the Skytree and the private guest area on the level above gave the best panaroma views of Tokyo and the skytree. The rooms were clean and quite spacy. Overall nice hotel in a good spot.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav34268
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019 via mobile

Views of the Tokyo sky tree and asahi building with the “golden poo” sculpture. Amazing sights can’t beat the location to the asakusa line which allows access to haneda airport. Easily accessible and .1 miles from senjo ji and the marketplace for shopping. Extremely safe as people will avoid eye contact and there’s tons of restaurants and entertainment in the area. Perfect hotel for access to all of asakusa. The rooms are a touch small, but adequate. And the room smells a little musty due to the traditional Japanese style shower with seat. Has automatic toilets and the staff as in all of japan are the most hospitable people that you can imagine. Great base if you would like to stay near this more cultural and less modern district.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Chase V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

I try to stay in different parts of Tokyo every time I visit, and though my sojourn at The Gate was cut short by a change in flights, I'm already looking forward to spending more time there to further explore the Asakusa area. Though my three days were shortened to a brief overnight, I was pleased to at least be able to walk around the Sensoji Temple which, though closed, was lovely to see at night without the crowds. Tip: If you situate yourself right, you can see the Kaminarimon Gate while having breakfast. I highly recommend the Eggs Benedict over rice with dashi, a perfect way to transition to being in Japan.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ledues0relle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews