We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget accommodation conveniently”
Review of Ryokan Katsutaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ryokan Katsutaro
Ranked #61 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice budget accommodation conveniently”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed as a couple for three nights. Conveniently located a 15
walk from busy Ueno station.... With multiple subway lines, commuter lines and the Skyliner express to the airport, staying anywhere near Ueno is a great idea. A convenience store is located directly across the street.

The owner was very friendly, offering an explanation of area amenities on a nice big colour map. Our room was modest and cleanaand large. Water pressure was excellent. Walls are very thin so bring ear plugs in case you have loud neighbours

Wifi signal was strong in our room which we very much appreciated.

No breakfast but walking to Ueno station presents lots of options.

Would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Ryokan Katsutaro, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Katsutaro Ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest.
We hope that your stay was a memorable and a confortable one.

We appreciate your comment! This means so much to our futur improvement ,thank you so much.

We hope there is a chance to serve you in the future,maybe in another season or so.
You are always welcome at our homely ryokan.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
42
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
HCMC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

There's nothing particularly wrong with being average and this ryokan is average. Walking in, you are greeted by a friendly, pleasant and accomodating owner (who lives and has his office on a step-up from the ground floor). In the lobby area, there is a long table, chairs and two computers for internet access.

Access to the rooms upstairs is via a pretty steep set of stairs (if you have large luggage, you are in for a bit of a challenge).

I stayed in a single without bath on the 2nd floor so I can only comment on that experience. The room was adequate in terms of size and had a smallish LCD TV (which was pretty cool, even though it is strictly Japanese programming). There was also a booklet containing advice and a JR Rail timetable). There was a nice sized closet for hanging clothes. Outside, there was a large sink (seemed more suited to a restaurant kitchen) where one brushed their teeth and/or shaved.

There is a washer/dryer combo (washer is 300 yen, dryer free). There is no Japanese bath but a very roomy, western-style shower with shampoo and body wash pumps built into the wall. Just the opposite is true for the toilet though; it was a somewhat claustrophobic closet with a heated toilet seat that, given the bathroom's size, turned the room into a bit of a sauna (still can't figure out why one needs a heated seat in the summer, but whatever...).

As far as ambiance, the ryokan has none; it's strictly functional. Additionally, it is somewhat worn at the heel - renovation of all the common areas is clearly needed. Great room rates sometimes come at a cost...

I do have one issue regarding cleanliness. And it might have been me... but I'm not too sure of that but when I woke and had a chance to see the futon fully exposed, the sheeting seemed rather dirty (and not of the extended period of use kind, the not washed or not washed very well kind). I also observed that, when cleaning other rooms, the gentleman did not bring out sheeting from any of the rooms. Not changing the sheeting every day during an extended stay is one thing, offering anything other than a sparkling white bed set to newly arrived customers. is another.

If any others notice this, include it in the write-up as the owner needs to be called out on something like this if it is the case.

All in all, an adequate place (although I'm not sure I'd do an extended stay there personally speaking).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderlust7342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Ryokan Katsutaro, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Katsutaro Ryokan .

We hope your stay was a comfortable and a memorable one!

We appreciate your comment .This means so much to us for our future iimprovement ,thank you so much.
We are very sorry about the sheeting.We do not change sheeting everyday unless it is dirty or so
but we are very sorry about it.

We hope there will be an oppurtunity to serve you in the future maybe in another season or so.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My fiance and I stay here for 1 night in July 2012. We wanted something centrally located, clean, authentically Japanese and fairly priced. We definitely got everything we wanted! The hotel was about a 10 minutes walk to the Ueno subway station and very clean. The woman running the ryokan was very nice. It was a very peaceful stay and the room seemed extremely clean. We would definitely stay there again--great price for the area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Location might be a 15min from Ueno station, requiring you to walk through Ueno Park and along the zoo. We were lost initially but found the Ryokan after some effort.

First impression of the ryokan was that it was really small but the room was great! Spacious with ensuite that was clean and wasn't reeking of smells or any sign of leakages. Air con worked perfectly, staff was very friendly.

A convenience store located right opposite if you want to save some money by eating in.

Definitely choose Katsutaro if I intend to stay around Ueno in future.

Price is a little steep though.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Pros: location is central. Easy to reach from various subway stations. Rooms are big, clean and comfortable, same for bathroom. Cheaper than a hotel.

The only minor downfall is that it's not a real traditional ryokan (compared to what we experienced at ryokans in Kyoto and Nara), but more of a guesthouse. But still, it's a very convenient and cheap place to stay in Tokyo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed there 4 nights in early February. For my first visit to Japan I wanted to stay in a traditional Japanese inn, and I wasn't disappointed. The rooms were very nice, with tatami and futon beds, and quite a lot of space. Our room didn't have private bath (some do I think), but the shared facilities were nice and clean. The only drawback was the heating - thermal insulation of the room wasn't great (rice paper windows...) and the portable gas stove, although it warms up the room in a couple of minutes, felt a bit stuffy at times.
The best for the end: the location. It is at the entrance of the adorable neighborhood of Yanaka, with it village atmosphere, its small shops and tortuous streets, the small buddhist cemeteries tucked between houses, etc. It is also reasonably convenient to explore the rest of Tokyo as well (15 minutes by foot to Ueno JR station, or 10 minutes to Nezu metro, slightly less convenient).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kdo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I am normally a budget traveller so staying in this ryokan was a little expensive for me but it was truly worth it!

- The location
Ueno was the perfect place for me because it was quiet and had easy transport links.
You are a 15 min slow walk from the station.
Ueno station had a direct link from Narita airport. Keisei line is 1000 yen and 75 mins. Skyliner is 2400 yen and 40 mins. Both are comfortable rides.

The Room

It was a twin room. One double futon was in its own room and a single futon in the living area.
There was an air conditioner and heater both adjustable for your comfort.
Japanese style table and cushions to sit on.
Kettle, hair dryer and tv.
And we had a bathroom.
Best to take a shower at night to ensure full pressure and hot water.

Hosts
1 man and 1 woman who were both extremely welcoming!
The man spoke good English and explained the check in process and the room well. Curfew at 11pm but you can come in later with no problems, you just need to use a code to get in.

It was a great place to stay with the zoo, shrines and Tokyo national museum right on your door step!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harte87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Annex Katsutaro
Annex Katsutaro
#21 of 120 in Taito
329 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#9 of 120 in Taito
339 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Kamogawa
Ryokan Kamogawa
#28 of 120 in Taito
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Graphy Nezu
Hotel Graphy Nezu
#7 of 120 in Taito
454 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Shigetsu
Asakusa Shigetsu
#29 of 120 in Taito
242 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
#22 of 120 in Taito
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Katsutaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Katsutaro

Property: Ryokan Katsutaro
Address: 4-16-8 Ikenohata, Taito 110-0008, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ryokan Katsutaro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ryokan Katsutaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Katsutaro Hotel Taito
Ryokan Katsutaro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing