We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy ryokan in a peaceful area located near Ueno Park”
Review of Ryokan Katsutaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ryokan Katsutaro
Ranked #57 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Location might be a 15min from Ueno station, requiring you to walk through Ueno Park and along the zoo. We were lost initially but found the Ryokan after some effort.

First impression of the ryokan was that it was really small but the room was great! Spacious with ensuite that was clean and wasn't reeking of smells or any sign of leakages. Air con worked perfectly, staff was very friendly.

A convenience store located right opposite if you want to save some money by eating in.

Definitely choose Katsutaro if I intend to stay around Ueno in future.

Price is a little steep though.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WJS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Ryokan Katsutaro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 102 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Pros: location is central. Easy to reach from various subway stations. Rooms are big, clean and comfortable, same for bathroom. Cheaper than a hotel.

The only minor downfall is that it's not a real traditional ryokan (compared to what we experienced at ryokans in Kyoto and Nara), but more of a guesthouse. But still, it's a very convenient and cheap place to stay in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed there 4 nights in early February. For my first visit to Japan I wanted to stay in a traditional Japanese inn, and I wasn't disappointed. The rooms were very nice, with tatami and futon beds, and quite a lot of space. Our room didn't have private bath (some do I think), but the shared facilities were nice and clean. The only drawback was the heating - thermal insulation of the room wasn't great (rice paper windows...) and the portable gas stove, although it warms up the room in a couple of minutes, felt a bit stuffy at times.
The best for the end: the location. It is at the entrance of the adorable neighborhood of Yanaka, with it village atmosphere, its small shops and tortuous streets, the small buddhist cemeteries tucked between houses, etc. It is also reasonably convenient to explore the rest of Tokyo as well (15 minutes by foot to Ueno JR station, or 10 minutes to Nezu metro, slightly less convenient).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kdo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I am normally a budget traveller so staying in this ryokan was a little expensive for me but it was truly worth it!

- The location
Ueno was the perfect place for me because it was quiet and had easy transport links.
You are a 15 min slow walk from the station.
Ueno station had a direct link from Narita airport. Keisei line is 1000 yen and 75 mins. Skyliner is 2400 yen and 40 mins. Both are comfortable rides.

The Room

It was a twin room. One double futon was in its own room and a single futon in the living area.
There was an air conditioner and heater both adjustable for your comfort.
Japanese style table and cushions to sit on.
Kettle, hair dryer and tv.
And we had a bathroom.
Best to take a shower at night to ensure full pressure and hot water.

Hosts
1 man and 1 woman who were both extremely welcoming!
The man spoke good English and explained the check in process and the room well. Curfew at 11pm but you can come in later with no problems, you just need to use a code to get in.

It was a great place to stay with the zoo, shrines and Tokyo national museum right on your door step!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harte87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My family of 3 stayed in Tokyo during the week of Christmas, 4 nights.The place is clean and comfortable, reasonably priced. The room that we are staying is spacious (I travel to Tokyo often on business trip and have stayed in numerous business hotels in Tokyo) and I must say I was pleasantly surprised.

Slight set back is the distance. It is actually a min 15 minutes walk (maybe more depending what pace you are used to) for our family. Other than that, this is an excellent choice for travelling within Tokyo.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We had promised my son we would take him to Japan for a couple of years but time has been difficult to arrange . We had just one week to give him a look at Tokyo and its environs. He had expressed a preference for staying at a Ryokan and my wife did the research.
Ryokan Katsutaro ticked all the boxes in the planning stage and didn't let us down.

15 Mins walk from Ueno train station that has a direct link to Narita Airport (41 mins and 2400 yen). Ueno JR station is on the City Circle line so all the major points of interest were withing 30 mins of Uneo.

Reasonably priced - for Tokyo

Traditional type experience ie sleeping on the floor but with a TV and free WI-FI.(plus PCS in the lobby for free use)

A multitude of restaurants of all types , budget and cuisines within 30 mins walk.

Uneo Park and Zoo as virtual neighbours'

A general store across the road selling everything from croissants to Sake and Cup Noodles in between.

The hosts are a perfect example of what we want when we travel - out of the way when we dont want/ need them and always available when we did need them. The little gift we received as we checked out was the cherry on the cake.

The place was clean and tidy and a joy to return too each evening after a day of walking and exploring

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We decided on this place after much thought, and figured that the location and the hope of something less bland than a business hotel would make a decent choice.

THE ROOM:
Our perceptions of Japanese rooms was that they are all very small and cramped. We were pleasantly surprised at Katsutaro. I think it was a 6 tatami room. There was a corner tall shelf, a small table, a clothes rack and a small wall mirror with a small ledge attached. All of this was very handy for a 5 night stay, as we could organise all our stuff quite easily. There was a window that looked out to the street (we were on the ground level) which gave us some daylight and a sense of space. All in all, we were not in the 'box; we thought we might be in!
We slept on the floor mattresses which could take some getting used to but these mattresses were the most comfortable on our trip.

FACILITIES:
They supply slippers, yakuta (robes), towels, hair dryer and kettle in the roomn itself. And even a small dock for your ipod! The shared toilet was always very clean, it was the multi button Japanese variety with a warm seat :) The shared shower was also very clean. They also provided toothpaste, toothbrushes, shampoo, shower gel, and even shaving foam. Very convenient indeed.

There is a washing machine/dryer facility we never used, free access to wifi, free access to the PC in the common area, a fridge if you need to put stuff, glasses, coffee/tea, spoons etc and ice.

The LOCATION is lovely, its a peaceful, green neighbourhood with a very residential feel. There is a convenience store right outside. (open 7am-11pm).

ACCESS- Its a 15minute walk to Ueno station, couple of minutes less to the Keisei station. The closest station is the Nezu subway station- about 5-7min walking, and very handy to get to many places directly or with one stop. Of course, Ueno station connects you even more. There is a bus stop outside which takes you to Ueno station in 5 minutes for ¥100, it runs about every 15 minutes and also goes onwards to Asakusa.

Rooms were cleaned every morning by the bustling ladies. The owner is not much of a talker but is happy to help with maps, suggestions and printouts.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theshakester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Annex Katsutaro
Annex Katsutaro
#21 of 122 in Taito
332 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Graphy Nezu
Hotel Graphy Nezu
#7 of 122 in Taito
466 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#8 of 122 in Taito
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Shigetsu
Asakusa Shigetsu
#37 of 122 in Taito
244 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
#23 of 122 in Taito
223 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Katsutaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Katsutaro

Address: 4-16-8 Ikenohata, Taito 110-0008, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range: $63 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ryokan Katsutaro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ryokan Katsutaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Katsutaro Hotel Taito
Ryokan Katsutaro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing