We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great hotel”
Review of Asakusa View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Asakusa View Hotel
Ranked #15 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This Hotel is ideally situated for visiting Japan. The restaurant is near the top of the hotel and the view from here is fantastic and the food even better. the bedrooms in Japan are as a rule on the small size but my room was above average and very comfortable. This will definitely be my first choice of Hotel in Asakusa if and when I return to Japan.

Room Tip: try to get one facing the sky tower but its not the end of the world if you don't as you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldwisei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 684 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

Asakusa View Hotel is a very good hotel! Located in the centre of Asakusa (old part of Tokyo) is comfortable and nice. The personnel is nice, the breakfast is not cheap but gorgeous! Like a brunch!
It is close to lots of restaurants and small Japanese food kiosk where you can eat for cheap but quite good; and close to lots of small shops for souvenirs.

L’Asakusa View Hotel è un buon hotel, grande e cnfortevole. Molto ben posizionato, nel centro di Asakusa, la parte vecchia della città. Vicino a molti ristornati e piccoli chioschetti dove si puo’ mangiare bene anche con poco, e vicino al Senso-Ji temple, pieno di piccoli negozietti per souvenirs.

Room Tip: if you can get a room above floor 26 you will see the Tokyo Sky Tree, but it might not be worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giovanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Asakusa View Hotel, was the venue chosen for a conference I had to attend in Tokyo in July 2013. My booking had been arranged through a group, so I didn't directly deal with reservations. However I was put in a room on a smoking floor which I wasn't all that impressed by, and certainly didn't request.
The included breakfast at the restaurant on Level 26, with a panoramic view over Tokyo was the highlight of the stay.
A colleague's experience was considerably more problematic than mine. Her young daughter had used the pool twice, in the company of the babysitter. the charge on check out for the 2 pool visits was close to 8000yen... which translated to about $100AUD.
This wasn't expected or as you can imagine welcomed.
Why the pool facilities aren't part of the reservation package I don't know.
Also the wifi situation at the hotel was non-existent and this is a little distressing given that the wifi in most of tokyo is dismal. There is a computer that can be used in the lobby of the hotel for email checking etc, which is about 100 yen for 15 minutes, but there was no wifi even in the lobby.
The best place around Asakusa for a stable wifi connection is at the Visitors Information Centre. Volunteers/staff are very helpful. This was the only place I could connect with secure enough wifi on either LINE or Skype to make contact with home. (I wasn't using international roaming.)

Room Tip: if a non smoker definitely request a non smoking floor. The rooms on smoking floors still smell of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chickamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Asakusa View Hotel stands at one of the most historical parts of Tokyo.
At first,we didnt like the hotel,as they gave us a old smoking room.As we objected
to stay in this room they offered us a small not smoking room,located in a new refurnished
floor,with separately beds.Was not what we had booked(De luxe room with a king-bed).
As the hotel was fully booked,we accept to stay in this new room.The room was at the
22* floor with great views of the Sky Tree as well the Senso-Ji Temple.
The breakfast is absolutely amazing.Any kind of food with a very good quality.
Its a huge buffet stile breakfast as a real brunch.A truly breakfast and lunch together.
The hotel is very close to many good restaurants and metro station.A nice short walk
to river station for the Sumida River Cruise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Luciano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great but aging hotel. Rooms looking a little tired, beds were great, view amazing and excellent location close to the tourist spots and not shortage of really good restaurants very close by. Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice and service was brilliant. We also had supper on the first night and yes huge buffet, quality of food great only point was the usual pricey hotel dinner. The porter spoke great English and went the extra mile even got my brothers cellphone to work from Japanese to English. The key for us was the service, felt at home friendly and help full, not what i expected in a large city like Tokyo. Revamp the rooms and its a 5 rating.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top levels facing the Tokyo Sky tree
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mwant999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Beds were not too comfortable. But other than that good hotel for a tourist that plans to be out exploring all day. Come home at night dead tired that you won't really mind the bed! Lol

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antonino20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This hotel was in a nice part of Tokyo and the view from our room was amazing - we saw the sun come up over Tokyo! The hotel was a little dated and our room smelled like it had once been a smoking room (just a faint whiff!) but it was spacious and comfortable. It was a good location, near lots of shops and restaurants. It was our final night in Japan so we didn't stay long but would have liked to go over to the sky tower and visit the temple in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorrainebaldock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
#4 of 124 in Taito
822 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
#24 of 124 in Taito
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#23 of 124 in Taito
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asakusa View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asakusa View Hotel

Address: 3-17-1 Nishiasakusa, Taito 111-8765, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taito
#7 Family Hotel in Taito
#7 Business Hotel in Taito
Price Range: $101 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Asakusa View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Rakuten, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asakusa View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Asakusa View
Asakusa View Taito
Asakusa View Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing